We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Simply the BEST there is!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mirabelle Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mirabelle Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Solvang B&B and Inns
1 review
“Simply the BEST there is!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I are planning a trip back to Solvang soon and I happened upon this site as I was checking for reservations at the Mirabelle Inn. I was shocked at the negative reviews.

Brigitte and her staff are always very kind and beyond accommodating and we would never consider staying anywhere else in Solvang.

The rooms are well appointed and the restaurant is fabulous.


  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseMartin1346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    46
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
18
178
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Uncle!
At $350 (including the recent Solvang tax), the price exceeds the value. I would have been pleased to pay $175 for our room. Decor is hodge podge, bathrooms are small, outdated, tub grout thickened to cover black bath mold. Location, great. Service, great. Food at restaurant in evening, great. Breakfast was super simple, nothing exciting. Exterior is best part with ivy and draping wisteria welcoming their visitors. Inside, lots of items for sale with price tags on artwork, and a corner cabinet of costume jewelry.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balljunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirabelleinn, Owner at Mirabelle Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We appreciate the time this guest spent to review our property and are grateful for the positive comments. Our rooms are individually and tastefully decorated and most guests much enjoy some of the antiques that were brought in from Europe by the original owner, when the inn was built in 1994. We have many modern amenities, but we are not a large chain hotel where every looks the same and has the same color scheme.We have an extensive cleaning and maintenance program and are proud of our property. Guests often go online to www.mirabelleinn.com to view our rooms and pick the one they like best. Our rates vary from $165 to $295, depending on the room and the day of the week. These rates are in line with Solvang hotel prices for this type of property and pay our staff and the mortgage.
Thank you, Brigitte/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The room was nice and well appointed. The bathroom was adequate but very small. We stayed 2 nights and I was surprised when they didn't replenish the bath items including shampoo. When I asked the front desk person said she's leave shampoo on the desk which of course I forgot. The wine and cheese at 4:30 was well received. The owner asked about our stay on her way in at night and I mentioned that morning's breakfast which underwhelmed us. The muffins seemed like a box mix and not a good one at that. The egg dish was eh. The following morning's breakfast was much better and all was forgiven. The desserts were also excellent. It's a good location if you're wine tasting and visiting the cute town of Solvang.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cctravelerCctx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirabelleinn, Owner at Mirabelle Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Many thanks to this guests for the positive comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay! The staff and I often try out new recipes for baked goods and cookies and although most of the time they are delicious, I agree, those muffins were not one of our baking highlights!! I apologize and hope you enjoyed the rest of the breakfast and tried our delicious homemade granola.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This inn is run just like a hotel. It lacks that personal touch I expect from a B&B. The receptionist is young and she tries to please, but the demands are too much for one person. She works the front desk, takes reservations, responds to complaints, supervises housekeeping, and even serves the food for breakfast. She is so harried, she cannot remember the orders for breakfast and even spilled my orange juice this morning as she was serving. My heart really goes out to her so I just overlooked the fact that she couldn't remember my order and never informed us that there is a little wine happy-hour in the evening. I did start to feel a bit more neglected when our room received no housekeeping services on the second day. But the final straw for me was when we requested a late checkout because we were catching a red eye flight out of LAX and the owner refused to accommodate us because it would cause a challenge for housekeeping. How ironic! I shared my disappointment about the lack of customer support and was told it was the owner's direct decision not to honor our request so it was clear it was not the receptionist's call.
Despite its rank as the #1 B&B in Solvang, I would not recommend this inn to my friends and I would not stay here again. The message we clearly received was they are too big/busy for that personal touch and not so much because of customer load as the owner's unwillingness to provide support to both her staff and in our case, her guests.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Majorabina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirabelleinn, Owner at Mirabelle Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We strive to accommodate our guests every need. This guest unfortunately informed us, after a 3 night stay, at 10 am on check out day, that she would like to extend her check out until 5 p.m. We are a 10 room inn, our housekeepers work in the morning, so that our rooms are clean by 2 pm for stay over guests to have a relaxing afternoon and for new arrivals. We did extend the guests check out until 1 pm, at this time she let us know that she reviews places and “we better fix this, an unfavorable review would follow”.
We apologized for the housekeeping oversight on the first day and the innkeeper assisted with what was needed when it was brought to her attention. Mr. F. enjoyed wine hour with other guests and we presented a nice bottle of local Pinot Noir to Mr. & Mrs. F. for having missed the complimentary wine hour one day.
Our innkeepers work hard, but they are more than well equipped to handle our guests and the work that comes with it and they enjoy it. I am very proud of my staff. They are all friendly and kind, and go out of their way to please our guests, as one can read in other reviews.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank our many loyal guests for their many kind words and hope to welcome them back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Mirabelle Inn on February 9-10, 2013. We stayed in Room 10 which is a suite with a king size bed located on the hotel's top floor. The room was spacious & the bed comfortable. There is a small elevator (enough for 1 person + luggage) that goes to the floor below where Rooms 10 & 11 are located and guests can reach these rooms by using 4-5 steps. We saw other travelers' comments on TA before we booked Room 10 and we were pleased to find that the stairs posed no problems. May not be for everyone though. We were greeted upon arrival by Becca who was exceedingly pleasant & helpful during our stay. Breakfast is served in the hotel restaurant and consists of fruit & breads followed by an egg dish or abelskivers ... all very good and plenty to carry you over to lunch. The hotel's location on the east side of "downtown" Solvang made it convenient to walk to dozens of shops, restaurants and bakeries. There's a small parking area behind the hotel that is reserved for hotel guests and ample street parking in front of the hotel if the lot is full. The only minor drawbacks were that the bathroom was somewhat small for a "suite level" room, the bath towels are nearing the end of their useful life and there was a little street noise (not enough to interrupt our sleep) as our room faced 1st Street. We had dinner in the hotel's restaurant on our first night. The food was top notch (i.e. comparable to The Ballard Inn) with a very good (if not huge) wine list. We travel to the Santa Ynez Valley about once a year and we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Watchful26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I had a number of stressful experiences in the last two months with work, house, kids, etc. So, to detox I booked room nine at the Mirabelle. I know that we both will live longer. The reservations were handled personally as if we were the President of the U.S. When we arrived Becca treated us like we were visiting royalty. (Not to mention we parked for free right out front of the main door for the entire weekend.) We were demanding guests continuing to change our dinner reservations right to hours before the reservation time. All of our changes were treated as if we had tipped every one a hundred dollars each time. The room (you have to get room nine) with its balcony, hot tub for two, and working fireplace was perfect. The king bed was great. We couldn't have asked for better.

Room Tip: The Mirabelle Cafe is wonderful. Another great place is ROOT 246 just a block away. We walked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wafi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Charming little house in the center of Solvang, walking distance from the main street, far enough to avoid the crowd.
Excellent restaurant, with some creative dishes.
Very pleasant and smiling staff, everything contributes to make your stay memorable.
On New Year's eve there was a little festive buffet end of the afternoon, and we found a bottle of sparkling wine waiting for us in our room; very nice attention.
Perfect for a romantic week end...

Room Tip: We had room 9. Large and beautiful, with a jet tub... perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurentBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.1 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
3.7 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Solvang Gardens
Solvang Gardens
#5 of 8 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirabelle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirabelle Inn

Property: Mirabelle Inn
Address: 409 1st St, Solvang, CA 93463-2713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mirabelle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European elegance, exquisite wine country cuisine, award winning wines, and legendary service. Mirabelle Inn offers 12 newly renovated guest rooms, fireplaces, luxurious amenities, and concierge services. Allow our concierge and resident sommelier to book your wine tasting tours, and assist you with your travel plans. Hotel rates include full breakfast, complimentary bottle of wine in room, and premium DirecTV channels. First & Oak, the restaurant at the Mirabelle Inn, is open for dinner to the public Monday through Sunday 5:30-9:00p.m. Chef Steven Snook offers an array of beautifully plated small dishes allowing you the opportunity to create your own tasting menu. Chef Steven has played major roles in Gordon Ramsay's 3 & 2 Michelin Star restaurants. Small plates range from $9-20. First & Oak is a must try for foodies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mirabelle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirabelle Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing