We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
achildre
Roseville

Not a great stay

Review of The Landsby
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 23, 2019
Not a great stay , since it appears the room was not ready to receive guests. The fireplace was not working, although we reported it to the front desk the problem was not resolved. Also the toiletries had not been replenished and the room was not ready to receive guests.
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry_Prescott, General Manager at The Landsby, responded to this review
Responded Aug 30, 2019
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I appreciate your feedback as it allows us to improve. I'd like to apologize for missing the mark in offering you the accommodations we pride ourselves with. I'm glad our staff was able to accommodate you with several fireplace inspections but rest assured I've noted these concerns for future reservations in this room. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me with further questions, I'd be happy to discuss with you. I hope you'll consider staying with us the next time you're in town so we can make it up to you.

Kindly,
Barry P
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$339
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $339
  • Expedia.com
    $339
  • Priceline
    $339
0.1 miles from The Landsby
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$315
  • Expedia.com
    $293
  • Hotels.com
    $293
  • Priceline
    $315
0.2 miles from The Landsby
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
$370
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
0.1 miles from The Landsby
Free Wifi
Pool
The King & Queen Room with Loveseat at the Hamlet Inn
Booking.com
$289
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $289
  • Skyscanner.com
    $250
  • Hotels.com
    $289
0.1 miles from The Landsby
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$529
  • Hotels.com
    $448
  • Vio.com
    $361
  • Expedia.com
    $448
0.2 miles from The Landsby
Free Wifi
Booking.com
$435
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $397
  • Agoda.com
    $319
  • Hotels.com
    $397
0.3 miles from The Landsby
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$269
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $269
  • Priceline
    $269
  • Hotels.com
    $269
0.1 miles from The Landsby
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$326
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $304
  • Skyscanner.com
    $277
  • Expedia.com
    $304
0.2 miles from The Landsby
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front of property
Expedia.com
$304
$257
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $257
  • Vio.com
    $304
  • Agoda.com
    $304
0.1 miles from The Landsby
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$304
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $304
0.1 miles from The Landsby
View more hotels in Solvang
Reviews (995)
Filter reviews
995 results
Traveler rating
665
189
78
35
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
665
189
78
35
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tower suite beautiful hotel happy hour we loved our stay boutique hotel central location spacious room great place to stay wine tasting walking distance in town los olivos santa ynez wine country the main street downtown solvang vin
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
586 - 591 of 995 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2019

We passed through Solvang once some years ago and I never really appreciated the place. We had a one night stopover at The Landsby on the way to Monterey car week and took advantage of a 'special' room rate. The hotel is lovely, fresh and contemporary, yet warm and cozy with lovely decor and furnishings, comfortable beds, good amenities and ample space for everything. The bathrooms are beautifully presented with very nice products and toiletries. The hotel has it's own car park, at a cost, but for one night and the convenience it was fine. The hotel has delightful courtyards but best of all there's the restaurant Mad & Vin. We had a truly exceptional dinner and we can't wait to go back. Our server helped us choose excellent wines and make the perfect selections for dinner - one of the best meals we've had in a very long time and we will certainly be going back. Our visit to The Landsby did not disappoint.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank harryLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry_Prescott, General Manager at The Landsby, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2019

Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. I'm thrilled your stay was a success and that our accommodations hit the mark for you. I'm especially happy to hear you enjoyed dining at our signature restaurant Mad & Vin. I look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in town.

Kindly,
Barry P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2019

The rooms and restaurant are excellent. The service from check in to check out was courteous and responsive. Wonderful place to stay while visiting Solvang. Be sure to catch a play while there and visit the motorcycle museum.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 828BobB828
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry_Prescott, General Manager at The Landsby, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2019

Thanks for your kind review of your recent stay with us. I'm thrilled it was a success and that our staff was able to accommodate you. I hope to welcome you back next time you find yourself in Solvang!

Kindly,
Barry P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2019

The Landsby is a delightful mid size hotel blending traditional Danish exterior with contemporary spacious rooms. The location is right on Mission in center of the nicest part of Solvang. There is a lively small bar if you want a cocktail before heading out for dinner. The front desk are happy and friendly and add to the overall impression of a hotel that enjoys taking care of their guests.
We liked our stay so much that on the morning of our departure, we called and asked if we could stay an additional night. The front desk and manager juggled and made it happen without having to change rooms.. We were a late booking and so we didnt get a room overlooking the courtyard...but one overlooking the parking lot....and if this was their least good room, then all I can say is that there cannot be a bad room in the hotel because it was a lovely , light filled, spacious room with high quality, well kept finishes. We are choosy and tend to stay upmarket and the Landsby was as nice as many hotels for twice the price. Our only hope is that it doesnt get "over-discovered" and get expensive. Well done to the management team and staff.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry_Prescott, General Manager at The Landsby, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2019

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay with us. I am truly delighted to hear how it was a success. It is wonderful that our accommodations, staff, and central location hit the mark for you. I hope to welcome you both back next time you're in Solvang.

Kindly,
Barry P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2019

Solvang is a very nice place and offers a lot for wine experience The hairdryer exploded with sparks and fire shine and had to be stopped manually as the safety fuse did not respond. It took 2 attempts to get a replacement. My wife is still paralyzed about the event

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank GobalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry_Prescott, General Manager at The Landsby, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2019

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed Solvang overall. I appreciate your feedback as it allows us to improve upon our facility and guest experience. I'd like to apologize for your unfortunate experience. Rest assured I've addressed this with staff for future reservations. However, please don't hesitate to reach out if you have further questions or concerns. I hope you consider staying with us again next time you visit Solvang.

Kindly,
Barry P
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2019

We stayed at The Landsby for our anniversary and they upgraded our room! When we got to the room, there was a card wishing us a happy anniversary... so sweet! The hotel is beautiful and the restaurant and bar are welcoming, delicious, and fun. Staff at the hotel is fantastic! The hotel is located in a perfect spot for walking around town. 10/10

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RachelMcKagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry_Prescott, General Manager at The Landsby, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2019

Thank you for your lovely review and I'm thrilled we were able to help make your anniversary special. I hope to welcome you back again next time you're in Solvang!

Kindly,
Barry P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews