We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific”
Review of Naked Cafe

Naked Cafe
Ranked #12 of 76 Restaurants in Solana Beach
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
corona del mar, CA
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Terrific”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

awesome food, great staff..seems healthier but so good I am not sure!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank embeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    44
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Healthy and Tasy - a rare combination!”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Came here for brunch and was genuinely impressed by the variety and innovative stuff in the menu. Rarely does one find a restaurant that serves healthy fare that is actually tasty. Faux-meat is usually pretty awful and a poor substitute for the real meat in terms of taste but not here - the soy sausage here was so yummy! 80% of the menu is vegan/vegetarian but there are meat add-ons too so nobody feels left out. Brunch places usually make you feel so full and bloated with their fried stuff so it was a pleasant change to leave the place not feeling stuffed at all!
Giving only a 4 since I wasn't too impressed with the Cafe Au Lait that I had - maybe I will try another of their specialty coffees next time and that will make me change the rating to a 5! :)

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Come hungry, leave happy”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is a hole-in-the-wall, outdoor patio basically covered over, but what a place! It's crowded inside, but the food is awesome! It has the most interesting breakfast menu I've seen in a long time, with healthy choices, interesting choices. The portions are huge! A variety of coffee drinks are offered, as well as juices. There is parking next door in a lot. It's across from a park that leads to the beach, so get ready to walk that breakfast off. Yum, yum, yum!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UpNOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Food great/service less then meh”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have been eating at the Naked Cafe for the past 8 years. The service has gotten progressively worse. Because the food is good, I rated this restaurant in the mid-range. If I were going to rate it solely on service, I would make the rating lower. Things used to move along more smoothly when the owner was present. As he has opened more restaurants, his touch is absent and the wait staff is very inattentive. On more than one occasion, I've waited at the doorway for a table before the waitstaff, lost in conversation in the backroom, noticed and seated me. I've waited so long for coffee refills that I've helped myself. And this is during the weekday when the restaurant is not busy. Food takes a long time to arrive.
The food is quite good and healthy. Whole wheat tortillas, egg white options, fresh ingredients. But all that is negated by inattention and poor customer service.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My favorite brunch in the San Deigo area!!”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Another place I have to go to when I'm back in San Diego! Naked Cafe is right up the ramp from the beach in Solana beach! With a great view, wonderful atmosphere, and healthy delicious food... it is SO worth it, and LOVE it!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mitch9er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naked Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Naked Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing