We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a getaway place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I recently wanted to get out of the heat and close to the beach area where the climate was cooler.!
We were very happy with the quality of the room,(comfortable and clean), and the location of good restaurants and shops that were within walking distance(15 MINUTES AWAY). The rates were reasonable (use AAA OR AARP) for a reasonable week-day rate. Parking is $12 per night(the only drawback).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryA32248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 461 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed at this Marriott Courtyard for five days for business and two days waiting for an airline strike to end. This is a terrifically convenient hotel. The staff is polite and helpful. There are easy laundry facilities, internet in the room, and a gym. The hotel has a small bistro, but is close to many restaurants located in Solona Beach and North County San Diego. It is quite a bargain and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_Lieberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh L, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, we are happy to hear you enjoyed our excellent staff, facilities and other amenities. Our location offers great access to the beautiful beaches, restaurants and fun activities in North County. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. If I may help with any future reservations, please feel free to contact me.

Josh Lujan, General Manager 858-792-8200

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a king room on the ground floor.. ask for ground floor and go the king room. Entrance through to pool and.. great little bistro for breakfast and quick and easy dining for dinner. Easy walk to shops for groceries or anything you want. We were attending a car show at the Del Mar fairgrounds and were able to walk there one day. It was so easy to get to the I-5 to travel into San Diego. Highly recommend for value for money and great location.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor and go the King room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emeldez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh L, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Solana Beach. More importantly, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience! The Del Mar Fairgrounds hosts a variety of events year round, and the GoodGuys Car Show is one of the larger events of the year. I have shared your comments with our hotel team. I agree with you, the first floor rooms are fantastic and provide easy access to all hotel amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. If I may help with any future reservations, please feel free to contact me at 858-792-8200. Thank you for choosing Marriott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Really enjoyed staying here. The room size and layout was really nice and I especially liked the breakfast servings! Didn't realize until I got home that I left some items in the room, and the hotel was great about getting them to me ASAP.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saraphx2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you enjoy visiting the attractions in San Diego, this hotel is confidently located for the on city ones. The staff is very friendly and accommodated all of our inquires and requests. The rooms are fine, clean and typical courtyard size. With free underground parking, and a pool in the center, the facility is nice.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank vrrooom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh L, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us, we’re thrilled you chose the Courtyard by Marriott Solana Beach! San Diego has so many amenities and attractions to offer, we’re most thankful that you spent time just enjoying the hotel facility including the pool area, lobby, and guest room. Our team works so hard year round to provide a great overall experience for our guests, thank you for your positive and candid feedback. Please contact me if I may be of service for future reservations, or to just answer any general questions about the hotel and the Solana Beach area. Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was going to a wedding at Rancho Santa Fe and the hotel is only a short distance from my destination. The reception desk was very helpful and friendly throughout my stay. The hotel is clean and spacious; it was a very nice and relaxing stay. The place is quiet even though it is next to a street. It is also a short distance from the Solana Beach. I watched the sunset on the cliff next to the beach. The rate is good. So all in all, a very good hotel.

I booked taking the bed and breakfast rate and I would not do it again. The breakfast at the hotel cafe is so so, and the attitude of the two servers at the counter was not the best. This is not a good combination.

Next time, for sure like to stay at the hotel again but no breakfast there.

Room Tip: Do not go for the bed and breakfast rate, the service and breakfast at the hotel cafe is not very go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 688t_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh L, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Greetings,
Thank you for staying with us! We’re so happy that you chose to stay with us while attending a wedding in the neighboring community of Rancho Santa Fe. I have passed both constructive and positive comments along to the appropriate team members to ensure we improve on the Food and Beverage experience. We also want to make sure that we continue to serve our guests with the same high quality standards you have come to expect from a Marriott hotel. Our hope is to ensure that you think of us first when traveling to the Solana Beach area. Feel free to reach out to me if you need help with reservations, or have additional suggestions or comments. Thank you for choosing Marriott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a quick one night away. We used our Marriott points, super easy. When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly and efficient receptionist. We asked her for a room overlooking the pool and she gave us the option of 1st or 2nd floor. We chose the 2nd floor based on the reviews on tripadvisor, good choice. Upstairs has high vaulted ceilings, down stairs has patio access. The room was surprisingly large (2 queens) and very clean. The bathrooms are on the small side with the shower and toilet separate from the sink area but the shower had nice tile and the shower curtain expanded to make more room. The pool area was very inviting and we enjoyed the warm sunshine in comfortable chairs. I love that they have free parking, mini fridge & mircowaves. In the morning we went for a long run, there were many places along the way with ocean views but the trail does not stay right along the coast. The hotel is not ocean front but it is very close. When we got back we were pretty tired and asked if we could get a late check out, they were very accommodating. My only negative to this hotel is that you can hear other guests in their rooms. Overall we had an amazing experience. The staff is to be commended!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriKearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh L, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Courtyard by Marriott Solana Beach. Thank you for being such loyal Marriott Rewards Members! I am so happy to hear that you were able to take time for a quick getaway and take advantage of the benefits of the Marriott Rewards points program. Our pool is one of the highlights of the hotel and I’m so happy that you were able to relax and enjoy the calm atmosphere. I have shared your comments with our team in order to better react to noise volume coming from neighboring guests. There are times when it can be challenging, however we are committed to ensuring your comfort. We welcome you back anytime in the future for a relaxing getaway, feel free to reach out to me directly with any questions or comments. Thank you for choosing Marriott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solana Beach
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
1.0 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
2.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
2.7 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
129 reviews
8.4 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach

Address: 717 S Highway 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range: $143 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Courtyard by Marriott offers FREE Wi-Fi access, garage level parking at a nominal fee, and we PROUDLY brew Starbucks coffee and specialty drinks in our freshly renovated Bistro! Courtyard by Marriott surrounds travelers with the conveniences that make both business and pleasure travel easy. Relax and get ready for the day ahead in one of our guest rooms, featuring a comfortable and well-lit work desk with ergonomic chair, two phones, complimentary weekday newspaper, and in-room coffee. Start your morning with a breakfast item from our diverse Bistro menu and a specialty Starbucks drink made to your exact liking! When you are ready to unwind at the end of the day, indulge in our new outdoor experience which includes a swimming pool, whirlpool, and fireplace. Come and experience the new Courtyard Solana Beach. It's a new stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar Hotel Solana Beach
Courtyard Solana Beach
Solana Beach Marriott
Solana Beach Courtyard
Courtyard Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing