We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but pricey!!”

Pamplemousse Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Pamplemousse Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 76 Restaurants in Solana Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Jimmy Durante Blvd.
Utah
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, but pricey!!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The food here is very good. High quality and you should definitely listen to the specials for the evening. The smoked seafood appetizer was great.

While the food is very good, I can't consider this a must visit restaurant because of the price. I've eaten at many equivalent or slightly nicer places at a more reasonable price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brettn_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    41
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous Menu and Wine List”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have made it to Pamplemousse on nearly every trip to San Diego for the past 10 -15 years. It has always been a great experience. The menu is one of the best anywhere with a great selection of standards and unique items. This is one restaurant where it pays to listen to the server run through the list of specials. This visit, I loved the roasted beet salad but found the John Dory a bit overcooked and dry.
There is a good selection of wines by the "stem" and an incredible selection of famous bottles. I don't think I have ever sen such a selection of Ports and desert wines. Two cautions: this restaurant is very expensive and it can be noisy and feel a bit crowed / closed in when full.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Great Place for A Special Occasion”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Excellent gourmet food and service. Highest qualify food and drink. Service is amazing. One of our favorite places for that "special occasion".

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 91942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy Hour”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have only had a happy hour experience here. The food was good and the bartender was great. We sampled wine and he was generous with the tasting. The dinner menu looked very fancy and the prices were up there. Based on other reviews I am certain it would be a great place for a special event birthday or anniversary. Good astmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rave007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The Pamplemousse Grille is tops in Solana Beach”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This charming little spot serves fancy food that is very good to excellent. Their "5 corner" veggie platter is a real treat for the vegetarians of a group; indeed many meat eaters may also enjoy this fresh, superbly spiced and sauced melange of fresh vegetables. Another special feature is their list of 60 wines under $60. We had a wonderful Malbec for only $45.
We ordered some appetizer specials that were delicious but we were remiss in not enquiring about price, so were a wee but surprised to find they were $40 a piece! One had Maine lobster as an ingredient and th other black truffle so we should have guessed they were extra pricey. Desserts are fun and beautiful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dougananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pamplemousse Grille also viewed

 

Been to Pamplemousse Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing