We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Dissapoints !”

Red Tracton's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Tracton's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 76 Restaurants in Solana Beach
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Jimmy Durante
Van Nuys
Level Contributor
124 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Never Dissapoints !”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is not a gourmet place, but Red Traction's food is straight ahead good and pleanty of it. The service is perfect, wine selection great and a really fun atmosphere, even if you just go to the bar for a drink. After the horse races at Del Mar, this is THE place to be ! Tracy Traction is a wonderful hostess and really cares.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    43
    17
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“bad food don't go”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

went there with 6 of us food was terrible and way over priced, the manger mason is a big jerk and his mother the owner should spank him, i would tell you not too eat there you will be sorry.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brandong988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best lobster bisque ever!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stopped in for lunch last weekend and had never been here before. Looking for something light, we ordered the lobster bisque and the combo sandwich. Both were delicious, but we thought the lobster bisque was the best we have ever had. Smooth, creamy bisque with succulent bits of lobster meat, and a small pitcher of sherry to add to it as well. The combo sandwich came with three varieties of thin-sliced meats and cheese, with thousand island dressing and cole slaw. By splitting both, we had plenty to eat and were very impressed with the rest of the menu. We'll be back to try some of the other dishes recommended by Tripadvisor reviewers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KateinCarlsbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great lunch before a day at Del Mar”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

When we walked in the hostess was a little irritated that we didn't have reservations (the place was empty) but she quickly warmed up and seated us promptly. About half of our table of 6 had a special lobster roll and the others had a French dip sandwich. Everyone raved about their meal. Best French dip I have had anywhere. Are headed back to Del Mar soon and this will be our lunch place prior to the races. Interior reminds you of the "old days" a little dark and clubbish stylem you expect to see Bing and Betty walk in which is fun before the ambience of the track.
Our server was excellent too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Level Contributor
385 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great meals, lots of food, service a little slow”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Had a business dinner with 7 people and loved the food but service was a little slow although server was extremely nice. Group really enjoyed the king crab ravioli and the back rib appetizers. The soup of the day - red clam chowder was okay. Steaks were great and best meal by far was a pork chop special they had. Lots of food and most of the group could not finish their meals.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TX13SR13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Tracton's Restaurant also viewed

 
Solana Beach, CA
 

Been to Red Tracton's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing