We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BLAST FROM THE PAST”

Red Tracton's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Tracton's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 76 Restaurants in Solana Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Jimmy Durante
Washington, Utah
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“BLAST FROM THE PAST”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

With portions of lobster so large they look like they have a thyroid condition and huge steaks this is the place to go if you are really hungry. My mother lives in the area and is a real fan of the green goddess salad and homemade bread. She thinks they are pure heaven on earth. The overall ambience is reminiscent of the late sixties so if you're into a retro setting, this is the place to go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael Jon N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    42
    16
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A blast from the past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This restaurant is located right across the street from the Del Mar Race Track - eating here is like dining with the Rat Pack! Old World charm - great steak and lobster and an definite ambiance.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
131 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Huge luncheon salads and terrific lobster bisque”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We just had lunch at Red Tracton's and aren't sure how we have missed going there over the past few years, since we drive by there frequently each winter. A Saturday lunch time would have been very busy and noisy elsewhere, but on this January day it was beautifully quiet within this venue. And we needed that in order to visit and catch up with each other.
Our server was great - upbeat and friendly. The salad portions were extremely generous, and I brought home half of my spinach salad. Our bread was served hot, and drink refills came often. (None of us had an alcoholic drink today.)
We heard that it is very busy during race season, but we will definitely be back before then!
Note: The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is because our experience was somewhat limited.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Our favorite place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Site across from the Del Mar tack have eaten there forever and neither the quality of food or service has changed. Great steaks and sea food, massive portions, piano bar, large drinks, comfy seats and that old east coast feel. Tracey has taken over from her dad a long time ago and never missed a beat. The people know you and you are assured of a great dinner. Not inexpensive but worth every penny. If you go during racing season make sure to have reservations as the place is a favorite of the race crowd.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hoofmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The go to event place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I've been going to this gem for many years with my family to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries and congratulatory dinners. The portions are plenty and the steak and seafood is fresh and fantastic! You have to order the lobster bisque - it's the best ANYWHERE! If you're getting mashed potatoes ask for the peppercorn cognac gravy - there's absolutely nothing like it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MeyersMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Tracton's Restaurant also viewed

 
Solana Beach, CA
 

Been to Red Tracton's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing