We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mexican in Del Mar, CA”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tony's Jacal

Tony's Jacal
Ranked #6 of 76 Restaurants in Solana Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ashford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Mexican in Del Mar, CA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

WOW - the food here is amazing. I loved the Sopes with chorizo and also the carnitas. We started with shrimp ceviche and everything was served in an adorable outdoor patio area. Delicious spot for lunch.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Livy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    45
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

It's place was recommended by a friend, it was excellent, certainly wor a visit. The enchiladas were yummy and margaritas strong and delicious. Tacos a little disappointing but all in all a great restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Consistency....hasn't changed in over 30 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Been coming here since 1975. Used to come every Monday evening.....did that till 1982 when we moved to LA and now live in Santa Barbara. Still make the trip a few times a year. The family is true to Tony's commitment to quality....and the flavors are the same as when he and his wife started the place.

Advise anyone coming here First time have the Nachos with everything. Then....treat yourself if you are a meat eater to the Chili Colorado. That's my wife and daughter's absolute favorite. For me, the Machaca Burrito with gravy is just the best I have ever had,.

Look, if I drive 4 hours for this stuff....it's gotta be great. There are pleany of good and very good Mex Rest in Santa Barbara......but nothis as special as this place.

Enjoy

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stewiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty, lively, homely.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The minute I walked into Tony's, I was instantly engulfed by the theatre of the place. The mariachi band, Miss Teresa, the adorable decor. I enjoy those touches. Yes, the restaurant was busy, but that added to the atmosphere!I I must admit, I have not experienced authentic Mexican food, so I dare not compare it, however I thoroughly enjoyed my dish: hot, fresh, timely, plentiful.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rach D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best carnitas, turkey tacos, and enchilda verde”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

This wonderful old-school restaurant, founded in 1947, is a locals favorite. They have good service, great margaritas and exceptional Mexican food, always served fresh and piping hot. The best part is being greeted by the lovely Miss Teresa, the daughter of the founders. It is still "all in the family" at the Jacal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sherry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Jacal also viewed

 
Solana Beach, CA
 

Been to Tony's Jacal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing