We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Foods good, Restuarnat needs upkeep,” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Grass Cafe

Beach Grass Cafe
Ranked #5 of 76 Restaurants in Solana Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rancho Santa fe
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Foods good, Restuarnat needs upkeep,”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

A pleasant brunch spot. Given the beach ambiance, service and food are about average. No complaints. Staff are friendly, food is okay. Menu is pretty ordinary. There is a substantial amount of deferred maintance such as cracks in the booths seats. Given the price a definitely pleasant brunch spot. Also very popular with the beach/ HWY 101 bike tourers.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daphne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    48
    14
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
187 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Takes Reservations, Great Service and Awesome Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had lunch at Beach Grass Cafe before heading to Del Mar for the races on a shuttle. The food was unique and delicious. We had a large group so they split us up and took great care of us. I had the calamari wrap and house salad (split it), my husband had the sausage polenta wrapped in banana leaf and our daughter had banana pancakes with chocolate chips. I can't remember what everyone else had but it all looked great. There were people waiting to be seated so call ahead if you can. Oh yeah, the drinks are good. Try the bloody mary.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sets you up for the day.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in Solana for a few days and went here for breakfast each day. The food was great, freshly cooked and substantial. It really sets you up. It's only open from 7am to 3pm, so don't expect diner. The main entrance is at the side, use it otherwise people will think your trying to jump the line.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Breeze999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stopped in on our way to la jolla for the day. The breakfast was amazing, menu is dynamic, service was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cstewart111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Loved the creative food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We visited my granddaughter, who lives in Carlsbad and she picked this place for breakfast. It was so worth the 20 minute drive from her condo. The creative menu made it hard to choose. I ended up ordering the baked eggs with parmesan cheese and baguette. The homemade jam was so delicious. I also loved the pineapple pancakes. The coffee came in a big mug and was fresh and piping hot. I am sure we would go back often if we wouldn't live in Phoenix.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Concierge67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Grass Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Beach Grass Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing