We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly redecorated-perfectly appointed-great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Winners Circle Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Winner's Circle Resort is conveniently located across the street from the Del Mar Race Track and a short walk to the beach. All rooms have been recently redecorated and are beautifully furnished. The rooms are spacious (2 baths) with fully equipped kitchens. The resort is beautifully landscaped and family friendly with parking close to the rooms. Beats a hotel room by a mile!

Room Tip: Quiet rooms in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review of Winners Circle Resort! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your newly renovated one-bedroom suite. We hope to see you again the next time you're visiting Southern California.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 230 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

The people that work there are ALL very nice and funny. They go out of their way to accommodate you and make sure you are happy. The biggest thing that you should remember is to tell them to give you a pool view. It makes the BIGGEST difference in the world. At a price of 145 per night my room was huge with a huge balcony, 2 full bathrooms, a bed room, living room, kitchen, and two sliding glass doors to the patio.The one bad thing was when I asked for a razor to shave the one they gave me was by far the worst one I've ever tried to shave with. I ended up going to CVS half shaved, and bloody to get a razor.

Room Tip: get a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noshortz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Having fun and ensuring all our guests have a wonderful time is our #1 goal. We'll look into upgrading our complimentary razors, though. Come back and see us again the next time you visit SoCal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This is a casual family beach resort. Our room was very clean with a beautiful patio that over-looked a wonderful floral landscaped pool area. The resort is across the street from the Del Mar race track and a half mile walk to the beach. Try the fish market next door for dinner or take a stroll through Del Mar in the evening. My only complaint is that the room was like taking a step back in time to the early 80's but I would go back again for a family beach week.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about our resort. We're happy that you enjoyed the Fish Market and the cleanliness of our property. We are entering the last phase of renovations in January 2015. Please visit us again next year, when our entire resort will be remodeled. As of today, 3/4 of our rooms are remodeled. Please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Overall this is a clean resort within a beautiful setting.The grounds are lovely and the pool area is very nice, although the pool was busy with kids and families during the times we wanted to use it. The clubhouse featured a big comfortable room with large television, sink, couches and billiard table.They only have one computer which was very slow, and there always people needing to use it. They definitely need about 3 computers for guests to use.One is just not enough, and a slow one at that. The laundry machines were a bonus, and we found then to be very handy.

The room itself was clean and the bed comfortable, however they still had the old tube style flatscreen television. The balcony was small and the table and chairs were far too large for it as we could not get in and out without a tight squeeze.This is something that definitely needs to be changed in the studios.

The maintenance staff do a great job in keeping everything clean. I noticed them cleaning the gas barbecues everyday, which is something I have not seen in alot of other resorts.They were always busy painting a staircase or taking care of the gardens, and it shows beautifully in the overall presentation.

The free Starbucks coffee was great every morning and we had coffee in the room as well. I found the front end staff to be very good, and checking in and out went very well. If I was in the area, I would definitely consider staying at this resort again.Thankyou to everyone, for making my vacation a relaxing one!

Winner's Circle is also in a very good location in Solana Beach. We walked under the I-5 highway to Whole Foods grocery store as well as Albertson's, etc. The #101 bus to La Jolla is up the street if you don't feel like driving into San Diego.Solana Beach also has an Amtrak station and a Coaster station (same place) for easy access in and out of the area.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor away from the pool if you want a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swcgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for all of your comments about our resort. We're thrilled you enjoyed our location and grounds. It's great to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful. Please visit us again the next time you come to San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a place to relax and enjoy the surrounding area. They have a very nice pool that is great to use in the evening when there are not many children around. The best time to use it is in the morning when families go elsewhere to tour other places and one can enjoy the peacefulness. There many restaurants close by that one can enjoy. If one is looking to shop for groceries there is a Whole Foods store about a 15 minute walk away that has some of the best prices one can find and there is an Albertson opposite the street that one can get great savings.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newone_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for reviewing Winners Circle! We're glad you enjoyed the serenity of our pool and courtyard during the morning and evening hours. Please visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Winners Circle Resort is ideally located by Interstate 5, halfway between San Diego and Oceanside. Do you play tennis? You have on site court privileges when you're a WCR guest. Like to swim? The on site pool is excellent, followed by a dip in the Jacuzzi or some time around the fire ring. Like to BBQ? They have two large outdoor gas grills that are wonderfully maintained and cleaned EVERY MORNING by the housekeeping staff. Like the Pacific Ocean? Its 5 to 10 minutes away. You have all timeshare amenities, including a full sized refrigerator, stove, pots, pans dishes glassware and silverware. I've been coming here for 30 years and it's never been better!!

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KhunJoe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for your review! It sounds like you really took advantage of all the on-site amenities we offer. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time at the Winners Circle Resort this year. We'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We really enjoyed staying here. Very clean, nicely remodeled rooms. I would have given them all 5's except on the Thursday and Friday of our stay the restaurant below our room was blasting loud noise until super late. I had noise machine and ear plugs but still kept me up. We went and complained to front desk and were told no managers work there at night but they would send the restaurant an email. An email? That obviously didn't stop the loud music that night or the next night. Definitely get a room away from restaurant or just be ready to be up all night and w a hotel staff that won't do anything to remedy the problem.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mack9r6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your staff. I apologize that there was not an overnight manager to assist with your problem. Sometimes we are able to switch guests' rooms due to the noise. Unfortunately, the restaurant is a separate business that does have mostly late evening customers. If you plan to visit, please feel free to call ahead and request a room far from the restaurant. Thank you again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solana Beach
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
138 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
258 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winners Circle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winners Circle Resort

Address: 550 Via de La Valle, Solana Beach, CA 92075-2459
Location: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range: $131 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Winners Circle Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners Circle Resort is a boutique style resort hotel located in the heart of Solana Beach, ideally located next to the Del Mar Race Track. Winners Circle Resort is just minutes away from the beautiful beaches of Del Mar, CA and offers spacious studio, one and two-bedroom suites complete with private patio or balcony. Ideally located near the Del Mar racetrack, 20 minutes north of the San Diego Zoo, Sea World and other attractions, the Winners Circle resort is perfectly situated to make the most out of your trip to San Diego. Winners Circle Resort offers free parking, free Wifi, and turnover Service. Additionally, this Del Mar Hotel features on site laundry, on site restaurants, a tennis club, a pool, a hot tub, a clubhouse complete with a pool table, a ping pong table, outdoor gas grills, and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Winners Circle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winner`s Circle Hotel Solana Beach
Winners Circle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing