We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good...some bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winners Circle Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Some good...some bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

PROS:

1. Nice pool/courtyard with gorgeous flowers and greenery.
2. Three large gas grills were always clean and ready for use.
3. Outdoor bathrooms near pool were convenient.
4. Fire pit was great on those cool evenings, but parents, please keep kids in wet bathing suits off the seats.
5. Hot tub was nice and very hot (as a hot tub should be), but again, parents allowed children to use it as a kiddie pool. Not cool.
6. One updated room that I saw was nice. No smell, flat screen tv, updated kitchen and thermostat.
7. Parking is free.

#4 & 5 were more the fault of clueless parents than Winner’s Circle but perhaps signs (combined with attentive parents) would help. Also, I recommend adding these things to the long list of rules you are required to initial at check-in.

CONS:

1. The hallways are dark and smell stale/old.
2. Our room also had an old, stale, mildew smell.
3. It is always a red flag to me when a hotel room has old, tube televisions and polyester bedspreads. Maybe expected for Motel 6 but not a facility that claims resort status.
4. Do not, under ANY circumstances, book Winners Circle during the annual fair. It is directly across the street and traffic is nightmarish. Depending on the time of day, it will take 1-2 hours to get off the exit. That is not an exaggeration. After doing that once, we figured out to drive (out of our way) to the next exit then backtrack.
5. No business center/computer (that I saw or read about in the hotel book).
6. Coffee only in the a.m. Booooo!
7. Could not communicate with housekeeping as they speak zero English...at least the one we tried to talk to. I always take my own pillowcase to cover hotel cases and day #2 it was gone after housekeeping came through. I travel quite a bit and this NEVER happened before. Grrrr.

CONCLUSION:

I would not recommend staying here unless you can be guaranteed an update room (which apparently they won’t do). You may be fine with it if your expectations are low or you are used to outdated Motel 6 level of room. I would, however, definitely return, but only if all rooms were updated. Even better...raze the buildings and start from scratch.

Room Tip: If you can't get an updated room...go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scrapbooker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank for your reviewing Winners Circle Resort. We're really glad to hear you enjoyed the pool, hot tub, and the gas grilles in our courtyard area. Winners Circle functions as both a hotel and timeshare resort. Since our timeshare owners own specific units in specific locations, we cannot guarantee certain room types to guests coming in on exchange or daily hotel rates. We do our best to accommodate requests, but it can be difficult during this busy time of year.

Please feel free to call the front desk with any questions regarding amenities on property. We do have a computer located in our clubhouse. We also print anything under 20 pages for our guests at the front desk free of charge. And, our entire resort will be fully renovated over the next few years. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    72
    22
    3
    9
See reviews for
89
67
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I really enjoyed this place. It wasn't overcrowded and loud. It's close to the beach, but not walking distance. It's right across from Del Mar racetrack. I liked that our room had two bathrooms. The rooms are updated, but you can tell by the smell that it's old (probably and old smoking room) . I would prefer a room facing the inside next time so I could see the pool and pretty landscape. Patios were spacious. There isn't a beach view from this place. The two restaurants on the property were great! Having a stove, microwave and mini fridge was nice so we didn't have to eat out at every meal.

Room Tip: A room facing the inside were you can see the pool and pretty landscape would be more relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RazzleSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Winners Circle Resort. We're glad you enjoyed our quiet, courtyard setting and the luxury of having two bathrooms in your suite. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I recently took my family for a week's vacation to the Winner's Circle Resort. I had tried to ask for an updated room but was unable to get one for this trip. Fortunately our rooms were already available when we arrived a little early so we immediately checked in. To my surprise, the units were really spacious, clean, and nicely equipped. I admit the decor was slightly dated in the older units, but not so badly that I would have even noticed had other members not gone on and on about it. We were very comfortable. The grounds were gorgeous, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the location to the I-5 made it a breeze to get around. Nice and close to Moonlight Beach which we loved. It was a perfect location for my family of ages ranging from 65 to 4. We were all very pleased.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnMarie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Winners Circle! We're glad you enjoyed your clean, spacious unit and easy access to the freeway and close proximity to some of San Diego's best beaches. Moonlight beach is definitely a local favorite! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We checked out 2 suites during our stay. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay... Both suites were cute and clean with a vintage flair and very affordable for the size of the suites. However, my mother and father-in-law experienced something very strange in their room (room 141). They are not believers in ghosts, but had no other explanation for what they expertienced. Cold pressure being pressed on their legs in their sleep and my mother in law said she heard someone say her name. They didn't get much sleep and were really shaken up with their hair standing on edge all morning while getting ready for the day. When we called to ask the front desk if anyone had ever experienced anything or if anything strange ever happened in that room, the woman was defensive and set on getting an exterminator to check out the room right away, assuming it must have been a mouse that touched their legs.
Spooky!!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for your review of Winners Circle! We're glad you enjoyed the vintage flair of our suites. Other guests have stayed in the same room and nothing out of the ordinary has been reported. Nothing strange or unwelcome has been found. We hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Have stayed here on and off over the past several years. Units are old but very well maintained. Looks like buildings are being renovated now. Stayed in an updated studio and loved the new room. Cannot beat the convenient location, close to the fairgrounds/racetrack and probably the FINEST beaches in California. The Del Mar beaches are truly a joy to visit.

Price is right for the value you get. Hope that the whole resort is updated soon.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HapptravAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed staying at Winners Circle! We are in the middle of a complete renovation and some units have been fully remodeled already. We're glad you enjoyed the convenient location and the Del Mar Beaches!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

The grounds are nice, the rooms on the other hand, Ghetto! Our bed was horrible, woke up with sore backs every morning. The rooms are out dated and have a musty smell. We traded our beautiful Wyndam resort for this, just to be closer to San Diego. We should have just went ahead and stayed in Oceanside. I can't believe people actually buy ownership to this place. RCI should take them off as an option to stay at, how embarrassing!!! The carpet looks like it is never vacuumed and I wouldn't walk bare footed on it, The cabinets have been painted with a ugly gold color, they even painted over the hinges!!! 60's decor with a lamp that would tip when you would put anything on the glass table that it was attached to it. Old CRT Televisions. This is the first negative rating we have ever gave! Kinda feel bad doing it, but don't want anyone else to be as disappointed as we were.

Room Tip: Rooms in the courtyard were very quite, but the quests are loud in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyBux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
We're glad that you like the courtyard and the grounds; however, I'm sorry that you weren't able to enjoy your stay at Winners Circle due to being in an outdated room. RCI has their own separate availability for exchange guests that they book independently. We are currently renovating our property and sometimes we are able to move guests into a new, fully remodeled unit. Please, let the front desk know if you're ever unhappy with your accommodations, and we'll do our best to find something better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Winners Circle is old and needs a face-lift. The hallways look like you're walking into a dorm. The beds are hard as a board. For $126 a night (via Priceline.com) I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jinty1265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thanks for reviewing Winners Circle. We are undergoing a massive renovation project, with some rooms completely remodeled and some not. Next time, please let us know you're dissatisfied with your unit, and we'll do our best to move you to a better location. We're glad you enjoyed our location, service, and cleanliness. We'd love to have you back in one of our remodeled rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solana Beach
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
2.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
3.0 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winners Circle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winners Circle Resort

Property: Winners Circle Resort
Address: 550 Via de La Valle, Solana Beach, CA 92075-2459
Location: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Winners Circle Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners Circle Resort is a boutique style resort hotel located in the heart of Solana Beach, ideally located next to the Del Mar Race Track. Winners Circle Resort is just minutes away from the beautiful beaches of Del Mar, CA and offers spacious studio, one and two-bedroom suites complete with private patio or balcony. Ideally located near the Del Mar racetrack, 20 minutes north of the San Diego Zoo, Sea World and other attractions, the Winners Circle resort is perfectly situated to make the most out of your trip to San Diego. Winners Circle Resort offers free parking, free Wifi, and turnover Service. Additionally, this Del Mar Hotel features on site laundry, on site restaurants, a tennis club, a pool, a hot tub, a clubhouse complete with a pool table, a ping pong table, outdoor gas grills, and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winners Circle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winner`s Circle Hotel Solana Beach
Winners Circle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing