We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Winners Circle Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Traded-in with RCI points. Good location for commuting to area attractions. Rooms were small sq. footage, carpet and kitchen were aged. Facilities adequate. Nice grill's. Pool's centrally located within bldg complex (no view), but shallow pool for kids and hot tub were nice. Nothing for kids on site, but Del Mar beach park was cool and only short drive away.

Room Tip: Not sure it matters. Little view to anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToVacateMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed the pool area and the grills. There are many activities in the area for families, including Legoland, Moonlight Beach, and Sea World. Please come and visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 229 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2012

Our accommodations were very nice and appeared to have just been remodeled, as did the lobby. Both tastefully and thoughtfully done. The entrance and some of the landscaping seemed freshly done as well - lots of flowers, fountains, etc. Our room was clean, comfortable and beautiful. The little kitchen was sparkling, all new appliances and fully equipped. It was nice and convenient to have a couple of our meals in the privacy of our room. We really like the location. Easy access to freeway, all the charming little beach towns and local attractions. Pool,hot tub, spa/exercise facility, beauty salon and rec area all first rate. They have 24 hour coffee service in lobby, free WiFi, and coin operated laundry facilities on premises. There are also two restaurants and a tennis facility directly (walking distance) adjacent the resort. Overall it's well thought out, well maintained, and well managed. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaquelyn W, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the new kitchen amenities. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed at this to take advantage of RCI timeshare points. The picture in the RCI book, as is the one on its internal website, is rather deceiving - makes it look like it is right near the beach! It is not. One bedroom unit, however, was adedquate - clean, small kitchen, but contained everything we needed for our 3 day stay, large master bedroom, 2 baths. Pool area comfortable, although it was too cool to swim, large hot tub, 24 hour coffee service in lobby, exercise facilty, free WiFi, and coin operated laundry facilities on premises. Room was ready early in afternoon. Near to Cedro Design Center, an interesting block of shopping, particularly the Leaping Lotus and Antiques Market, each of which contained several different vendors. Near to "dog beach" which was very pleasant to walk along. If you go, note that there is paid parking on one side of bridge, but it is free just a short walk on the other side. Tracton's Restaurant on premises. We visited one afternoon for so so happy hour.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G1032AJbarbarag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaquelyn W, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Winners Circle Resort. We apologize that you found the photo deceptive. It is certainly a picture of the Del Mar Race Track, located right next door, and not of our property. We are working with RCI and our webmasters to make sure that the picture is clearly identified as a tourist attraction. We apologize for the confusion it has caused. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the Cedros Design District and the Dog Beach! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We exchanged a high-value week for this dump! The furniture was older than dirt, stained & filthy (had to cover with beach towel for fear of what might come off). The "kitchen" was a joke! A miniature fridge in a cupboard! It was small and dirty. The staff was rude. We travel frequently & have never felt the need to write a review because of poor accomodations but this was the worst exchange ever in our 15 yrs. of ownership! Don't be fooled--it's a dive.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere would be my best tip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelforever69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed on an RCI exchange and it definately was not what we were sold when we bought our timeshare, the examples we were shown were much finer and more upscale than this turned out to be. However, with that said, we would definately stay here again.

The suite was clean, large and well maintained. There were minor issues with toilets that did not flush well and bad places in the dry wall. The carpet could use some help, not that it was dirty, just worn. We had a full kitchen with small fridge and a dishwasher. The pool area was very nice and lush with lots of flowers, trees and plants and the hot tub area was clean and well maintained. Security was a visible and constant presence and would verify that cars had tenant stickers before waving them thru to guest parking on nights that were busy for the restaurant.

There are really nice restaurants close by and they stay busy indicating the quality of food. We didn't eat at the resort restaurant but it was busy every night. The beach is less than a mile away and there was ample beachside parking. The Del Mar Racetack is right across the street. I-5 is right up from the resort and San Diego about 20-25 miles south and Orange County is 1 hour North so you have the best of both worlds here, proximity to the attractions and a place to return to that does not have the insane crowds.

We talked to a man who has been coming here for 20 years and he said every year there is something updated or upgraded so it appears they work on this resort regularly. It was quiet at night and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dodobuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Our room was quite comfortable...had just about everything we needed for the weekend. Lobby staff was extremely rude and had absoleutely no people skills whatsoever. Staff seem to be missing in action at this resort.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sansmval20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I love staying at this resort any time of year but particularly during the Del Mar Summer Meet. The shuttle is a great conveinence and at only a $2 tip is a bargan for getting in & out of the crowded parking lots. Red Traction, the adjacent restaurant, is pricey but phenomenal! The rooms are a bit dated and could use some minor repairs, but overall it is a decent well equipped place to stay just north of San Diego.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladybeth9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solana Beach
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
3 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
133 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
5.5 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winners Circle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winners Circle Resort

Address: 550 Via de La Valle, Solana Beach, CA 92075-2459
Location: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range: $106 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Winners Circle Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners Circle Resort is a boutique style resort hotel located in the heart of Solana Beach, ideally located next to the Del Mar Race Track. Winners Circle Resort is just minutes away from the beautiful beaches of Del Mar, CA and offers spacious studio, one and two-bedroom suites complete with private patio or balcony. Ideally located near the Del Mar racetrack, 20 minutes north of the San Diego Zoo, Sea World and other attractions, the Winners Circle resort is perfectly situated to make the most out of your trip to San Diego. Winners Circle Resort offers free parking, free Wifi, and turnover Service. Additionally, this Del Mar Hotel features on site laundry, on site restaurants, a tennis club, a pool, a hot tub, a clubhouse complete with a pool table, a ping pong table, outdoor gas grills, and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Winners Circle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winner`s Circle Hotel Solana Beach
Winners Circle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing