We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst experience I’ve ever had at a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Reviewed October 15, 2010

The rooms were filthy, the staff and especially the front office staff were rude and adversarial. The hotel is near the beach, but the hotel itself was terrible. There was a mixup on holiday inn’s end with my reservation and I was forced to pay for more days than I what I was able to stay, and the front office refused to correct the situation. I have since tried to reconcile this with the corporate offices at holiday, but they say that the matter is up to the individual hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler917_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 262 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2010

My family of 4 stayed here for 3 nights in late July. I was underwhelmed by the decor -- the rooms definitely need to be updated. But it was decently clean and had a frig in the room, which was nice for keeping snacks & drinks. Hotel is just a short walk away from the beach -- but be warned that the water is VERY cold, and at the time we were there, there were a lot of jellyfish washed up on shore.

Within walking distance of decent restaurants & a drugstore, as well as a nice paved walkway across the street. Not far (1/2 hr.) to Legoland.

Hotel pool wasn't huge, but the kids liked it well enough. Wasn't super warm, but at least warmer than the ocean.

Breakfast was good -- lots of choices and the staff kept replenishing items quickly. Not unusual for a hotel of this type in that they were short on seats during the busiest part of the morning, so get there early if you want a seat.

When we arrived to check-in, the computer system was down so they weren't able to check us in right away. A slight inconvenience, but we hadn't had lunch yet (it was after 2 p.m.), so by the time we returned the system was working well enough to let us get a room key.

Not a fancy place -- I've stayed at the Marriott just down the street & liked it better -- but it was ok for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indydunlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Suite had plenty of room for 2 adults and 3 teenagers. Short walk to the beach. Next door to a wonderful italian restuarant. Comfortable beds. Great price for the location. Breakfast is free so its very basic but it hit the spot.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

While I have to admit, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was awful. Advertised as a suite in the $200-219 price range, the blocks from the beach. What we got was a dingy room with a odd little room next to it adjoined by a door. The little room managed to lock my son it when the door would swing shut by gravity. We had to prop it open with a suitcase and walk into the open door all night. The pull out sleeper mattress was so thin as to be painful. Linens had holes in them, the shower was deadly to step out of. Apparently it was a handicapped accessible room designed to make one handicapped. When we attempted to walk to the beach, we realized that while it may have been three blocks from the beach, the was no beach access. When called, the staff sent a rollaway at no extra cost and let us out of our remaining nights with no fuss. I appreciated their courtesy and they are the only reason I feel bad writing this review.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leecypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

This was the worst experience I ever had at any hotel EVER!!! I have traveled the world and stayed in some shady spots before, but this one takes it hands down. Jui Dave, the hotel manager was so rude to me, my spouse and even my travel agent. She threatened me and and my agent and overcharged us. I now need to work with corporate to resolve the matter. Not something you want to come away with from a beach vacation! The rooms are filthy and smell. The air doesn't work and the food is not sanitary to eat. The location looks nice and close to the beach but it is a bad part of town so watch out. Just stay somewhere else and no worries. Lots of great hotels in the area. It's just not worth the risk!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank toonzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Very nice, clean hotel. It's a great value. The service was excellent all the way from the front desk to house keeping. Special thanks to the the front desk manager Brenda for concierge service and for the reservation to Chart House (We had a great dinner and a great time).

Hilary

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ala37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

the one good thing about this hotel was it was right next to the beach. I would recommend it if you want to spend most of your time on the beach.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
Thank AmyNitrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solana Beach
1.0 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
2.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
2.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
128 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Winners Circle Resort
Winners Circle Resort
#1 of 3 in Solana Beach
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar

Address: 621 South Hwy 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range: $122 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Solana Beach, Del Mar is perfect for every aspect a guest would stay for! It's a beautiful city with access to almost anything you are may be looking you. Its well known for its beach, where you can relax or take a nice jog, which is just walking distance from the hotel. There are many local attractions that aren't far: Legoland, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, and many more. Not only is the city itself a beautiful location, but The Holiday Inn Express & Suites offers 80 spacious rooms. Each room features a private balcony, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hair dryer and many more attributes! To make your stay even better, we offer complimentary breakfast, and a relaxing Pool and Jacuzzi. Efficiency is key to many guests, we have free Wi-Fi and many delicious restaurants that are close as a block away. If you are coming for business, relaxation, excitement or just for simple fun, we are here to make this stay special. Our friendly staff will always be happy to help to make your stay unique and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar Hotel Solana Beach
Holiday Inn Solana Beach
Solana Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing