We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Clean and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Upland, CA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Convenient, Clean and Comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

We stayed here to meet for the weekend at a nearby beach with friends and family. This economical hotel was perfect for our family (including a 4 and 6 year old). All parking is close to the hotel elevator. Free hot breakfast is definately an advantage (do not expect gourmet here...the food does its job though!) . Eggs, bacon, sausage, hot cinnamon rolls (get these when you see them, I do not think they replenish these!), variety of breads to pop in the toaster yourself, yoplait yogurt, coffee, tea, juice, 4 kinds of cereal make up this breakfast in a clean, great room next to the pool. The pool area is basic, but very clean. Our children were just ecstatic to have a pool. The hallways and lobby look a bit worn, but our room was sparkling clean. We were very pleased, or course, this is where our children would mostly be. The large refrigerator and microwave oven in the room was very handy for lunches and snacks in the room. We packed a cooler with food and drink from home and it all fit with room to spare in the fridge. We had a balcony that was safe for the children to go out on, but the view was someone's backyard. We did not mind because we did not need the view. If you are concerned to have a nice view, try to book a room near the front of the hotel near the highway or overlooking the pool. We could hear the tv next door easily in the evening, but it did not affect our sleep. This was generally a quiet hotel. So, if you are looking for convenience, economy and do not need frills, this hotel is a nice place to stay.
*Note: We met family for two days at Moonlight Beach in Encinitas. It took about 10 minutes driving north on Coast Highway (hotel is located on this street). This is a great beach for families. There is a great, shaded playground near the parking lot and near the bathrooms/ showers and snack bar. The beach is a nice size and very enjoyable! I do not know what the beach was like near the hotel, we never made it there!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mmm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    85
    59
    15
    21
See reviews for
83
45
19
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moundridge, KS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

Stayed for 4 nights. Nice place. The beach is a 5 to 10 minute walk away. This was my kids' first beach experience and they loved it. Most hotels I researched near the beach were twice the price of this one. Our itinery was Seaworld and the Zoo in San Diego, and Legoland in Carlsbad. This hotel is about half way between the 2. California Pizza Kitchen is within walking distance. The rooms have a frig and microwave. Parking is free. The only negative to the place was that there were only 2 drawers and 5 hangars for all 4 of us to put our clothes ... not nearly enough. The pool was very small ... my kids usually live by the hotel pool, but with the beach so close, that's where they wanted to be. Also the table in the room was small. Internet was wireless and free and reasonably fast. The room also had a balcony overlooking the parking lot. Overall a good place to stay.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Brewsers2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2009

Staff and Management were great. Very Clean property and rooms. The service there is brilliant. Great location.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

Stay away from this HIE. Worst customer service I have ever encountered, good luck complaining. The manager (or so he claimed) is as rude as they come. Rooms are unkept, maid service in consistent. I was hoping it would be a decent place for me and colleagues here on business for next few months but no cigar. I wish I could give zero stars.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MosquitoSnack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2009

We stayed in this hotel in August 2008. It was a nice hotel for the money, especially in this area. Clean (even the bathroom and beds), quiet and comfortable. They give you a nice breakfast, yogurt, boiled eggs, bacon, pancakes. I would stay here again. We walked to the race track and back. The beaches in this area were awesome. There is a nice bike path along this area. I would love to go back here.

  • Liked — breakfast, location, clean comfortable room, quiet
  • Disliked — the balcony looking over the parking lot and pool area. Not private
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cathy01013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angelos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2008

We had such a wonderful time when we stayed here. We had a room overlooking the pool and jacuzzi and were able to sit on the balcony while our kids were swimming. Our room had a microwave and fridge which was nice since we stocked up on sodas/goodies and the breakfast in the morning was surprisingly good. We had scrambled eggs and bacon. I would definately stay here again if I make it back to Solana Beach.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnLosAngelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2008

We stayed at the HI Express Solana Beach as we had tickets for a concert at the nearby Belly Up Tavern (which was unfortunately cancelled, but that's another story) just for one night.

We paid around $100 and got a decent night's sleep in comfortable beds and the complimentary breakfast was plentiful and included hot items as well as the standard pastries.

Our room was right next to the pool, so we had to put up with some noisy children in the pool around 10pm. As another reviewer stated, there was the smell of cigarette smoke pretty much everywhere in the hotel, but overall we had no real complaints about our stay; it was fine for what we paid, but we probably wouldn't have wanted a long stay there.

  • Liked — Comfortable and clean
  • Disliked — Inconsiderate fellow guests - in the pool late, and smoking in no smoking areas
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoobnspanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solana Beach
0.8 mi away
Winners Circle Resort
Winners Circle Resort
#1 of 3 in Solana Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
2.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
2.6 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.1 mi away
Les Artistes
Les Artistes
#7 of 7 in Del Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar

Property: Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Address: 621 South Hwy 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Solana Beach, Del Mar is perfect for every aspect a guest would stay for! It's a beautiful city with access to almost anything you are may be looking you. Its well known for its beach, where you can relax or take a nice jog, which is just walking distance from the hotel. There are many local attractions that aren't far: Legoland, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, and many more. Not only is the city itself a beautiful location, but The Holiday Inn Express & Suites offers 80 spacious rooms. Each room features a private balcony, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hair dryer and many more attributes! To make your stay even better, we offer complimentary breakfast, and a relaxing Pool and Jacuzzi. Efficiency is key to many guests, we have free Wi-Fi and many delicious restaurants that are close as a block away. If you are coming for business, relaxation, excitement or just for simple fun, we are here to make this stay special. Our friendly staff will always be happy to help to make your stay unique and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar Hotel Solana Beach
Holiday Inn Solana Beach
Solana Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing