We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embarassment to the brand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Stay away from this HIE. Worst customer service I have ever encountered, good luck complaining. The manager (or so he claimed) is as rude as they come. Rooms are unkept, maid service in consistent. I was hoping it would be a decent place for me and colleagues here on business for next few months but no cigar. I wish I could give zero stars.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MosquitoSnack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 265 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2009

We stayed in this hotel in August 2008. It was a nice hotel for the money, especially in this area. Clean (even the bathroom and beds), quiet and comfortable. They give you a nice breakfast, yogurt, boiled eggs, bacon, pancakes. I would stay here again. We walked to the race track and back. The beaches in this area were awesome. There is a nice bike path along this area. I would love to go back here.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cathy01013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2008

We had such a wonderful time when we stayed here. We had a room overlooking the pool and jacuzzi and were able to sit on the balcony while our kids were swimming. Our room had a microwave and fridge which was nice since we stocked up on sodas/goodies and the breakfast in the morning was surprisingly good. We had scrambled eggs and bacon. I would definately stay here again if I make it back to Solana Beach.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Check in / front desk
1  Thank dawnLosAngelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2008

We stayed at the HI Express Solana Beach as we had tickets for a concert at the nearby Belly Up Tavern (which was unfortunately cancelled, but that's another story) just for one night.

We paid around $100 and got a decent night's sleep in comfortable beds and the complimentary breakfast was plentiful and included hot items as well as the standard pastries.

Our room was right next to the pool, so we had to put up with some noisy children in the pool around 10pm. As another reviewer stated, there was the smell of cigarette smoke pretty much everywhere in the hotel, but overall we had no real complaints about our stay; it was fine for what we paid, but we probably wouldn't have wanted a long stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoobnspanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2007

I usually stay at the Courtyard next door, but it was booked up so I tried the Holiday Inn Express. The hotel lobby was small, but the staff greeted me quickly and called me by my name. It went down hill from there. They put me on the third floor in the back (they said near the ocean, but you can't see or hear it from the hotel room) which seemed nice, but it caused some problems. First the hotel rooms are a little old. The bed was updated which was nice, but the carpet, couch and desk were all very worn. The wireless internet was very bad to the point where I had to try and use the free wireless from the city hall next door. I called down the front desk about this and they said there was nothing they could do. Very hard to VPN to the company servers when you have no access. I later determined that the Wi-Fi access point is far down the hallway so I must have been out of the range.

The hotel was quiet, but lots of kids running the halls at night was a problem until the front desk came up and told them to go to bed. A person at the breakfast bar in the morning said that she always has that problem here at this hotel. It seems to be more of a family hotel, than a business hotel (which isn't a problem per say, but it seems like things were a little out of hand).

I probably won't be staying here again if I can help it. The Courtyard next door is a better choice for business travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tempejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

The hotel does not enforce its non-smoking areas. Don't be surprised to find broken fixtures, air conditioners incapable of cooling the room, noise when you're trying to sleep, paper thin walls between the rooms (forget privacy), and housekeeping staff that is either incompetent or apathetic.

The management is, however, very good at apologizing. Apparently, it is a well honed skill.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank picksixfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Called several times as we had 3 adults and 2 children and we needed an extra bed or room which we were willing to pay for. Upon arrival they said they were sold out and could not do anything for us but managed to charge us extra for additional people in room. They found a rollaway that reeked of smoke and charged us an additional $10. Room had a view of a condemmed building. See photo. Staff was rude. Hotel did not appear to be sold out. Worth a few laughs.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank blondiebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solana Beach
1 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
2.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
0.8 mi away
Winners Circle Resort
Winners Circle Resort
#1 of 3 in Solana Beach
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
259 reviews
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar

Address: 621 S Highway 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075-2215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range: $122 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Solana Beach, Del Mar is perfect for every aspect a guest would stay for! It's a beautiful city with access to almost anything you are may be looking you. Its well known for its beach, where you can relax or take a nice jog, which is just walking distance from the hotel. There are many local attractions that aren't far: Legoland, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, and many more. Not only is the city itself a beautiful location, but The Holiday Inn Express & Suites offers 80 spacious rooms. Each room features a private balcony, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hair dryer and many more attributes! To make your stay even better, we offer complimentary breakfast, and a relaxing Pool and Jacuzzi. Efficiency is key to many guests, we have free Wi-Fi and many delicious restaurants that are close as a block away. If you are coming for business, relaxation, excitement or just for simple fun, we are here to make this stay special. Our friendly staff will always be happy to help to make your stay unique and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar Hotel Solana Beach
Holiday Inn Solana Beach
Solana Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing