We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean rooms, close to beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Clean rooms, close to beach, del mar, and south cedros street. Breakfast was standard HIX and could be improved (better coffee, more fruit, etc). Appears to have been remodeled recently. Short drive to legoland.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank vindyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are glad that our hotel's accommodations along with its amenities worked for all you lodging needs. Being close to the beach and local attractions makes it easy to enjoy your time in Solana Beach. Thank you for the suggestions regarding our breakfast we will forward them to the appropriate department so that we offer guests more choices. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 261 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Thank you to the staff of our neighborhood Holiday Inn. We were staying in the hotel because our home was being tented for termites. The hotel itself is nice and the location was super convenient for us. But the reason I am writing this review is that nice hotels in this area are a dime a dozen, but the service we received was beyond what you would expect even from a 5 star hotel. Our stay in the hotel was lovely yet routine until, we discovered late the evening that we checked out that my son had left his beloved teddy bear in the room. When I say chaos ensued I am not exaggerating. I called the hotel and spoke with Paul the front desk attendant. He was professional while at the same time sympathetic. He said he would check for the bear and call me back. True to his word Paul called me back shortly after we spoke and said that unfortunately, the bear had not been found. He assured me (and calmed me) by saying that he would check with the housekeeping staff promptly in the morning and call me back to let me know what he found out. Much to my elation, Paul called me first thing the next morning to let me know that they had indeed found the beloved bear and that he would hold it for us until we could retrieve it. I loved that Paul was as responsive to our losing this stuffed bear as someone might be over a lost child. Paul was extremely kind and sensitive to our situation and I could not be more pleased and overwhelmed by the kindness and generosity of spirit that he as well as the housekeeping staff showed to our family. Thank you again!!! WE will be recommending this hotel to all of our family and friends who visit this area frequently!!! THANK YOU PAUL!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMWW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Wow does not begin to describe this review!!!!!Thank you very much for all your kind words. We are glad that our customer service is what made our hotel stand out. And yes, you are right you can find nice hotels pretty much anywhere, but without a great staff to back it up it does not matter. We strive to provide this caliber of service to each and every guest that stays with us. We are delighted that we did just that with you. We will forward all your extremely nice compliments to Mr. Paul. Thanks again and come visit us again soon>

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because it was located about the same distance between Sea World and Legoland. The rooms were typical 2 queen beds size rooms but they felt very clean!! The kids loved going out on the balcony that overlooked the pool area. Breakfast was great! The gentleman that was in charge of that area kept it well stocked and extremely clean. There was always eggs, sausage or bacon, and biscuits and gravy.....and of course all the other hotel breakfast items. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. It is a short walk to the beach from the hotel as well, took us about 5 min with 3 kids in tow. The only thing that made my review less than excellent were the beds. They were soooo hard and uncomfortable I woke up all night long in pain.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you so much for such a nice review!!!! Sounds like you had quite a blast hanging out at the hotel as well as visiting the surrounding attractions. We want all of our guests to experience the kind of stay you had with us. From the accommodations, to the amenities, and our staff, we all work in unison to give guests a pleasant stay. Please come back and visit us again soon. Thanks again!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I was excited because of the location and free parking, little did I know that would be the peak of my met expectations.
The staff was very pleasant and tried to be accommodating, but it didn't help much. When we first arrived, the lobby area was welcoming, but our room was another story. The bathroom was borderline disgusting. You can tell they cleaned it, but everything was so old in there, it just wouldn't come clean anymore. We told the front desk we were dissatisfied, and they immediately gave us another room. Unfortunately, the next room's bathroom was even worse. We called again, and was offered to be moved again. We decided to just count it as a loss, because we were tired and figured all the bathrooms going to be "subpar". We later found out (from the staff), they started remodeling the rooms, but hadn't had a chance to remodel the bathrooms yet. The room we were in had a balcony, but I opened the screen door, it fell off the tracks. The ironing board was broken, I had to hold the base with my foot, otherwise it would fall over while ironing.
Lastly, the breakfast served each morning, was pretty good so that was a plus.
I would not stay here again until they complete their updates.
The common areas...Holiday Inn Express. The room itself...low-budget motel equivalent.


Pros:
Location
Very Friendly and Helpful Staff
Breakfast

Cons:
Bathroom need SERIOUS updating
-Dirty Grout
-Rusted Toilet Paper holder, sink faucet and showerhead
-Worn out tubs
-Very slow drain
Broken Screen door
Broken Ironing board
Old worn pillows

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shantaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We welcome our guest's feedback because it helps us address the areas that need improvement. As you mentioned, we are in the process of remodelling and hope to have everything up and running in the next few months. We hope to get another chance at giving the stay that you deserve. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great location, close to Solana Beach and Del Mar Racetrack. Easy to get to Coaster Station to venture to attractions further away. Walking trail right in front of the hotel. Very easy to just park (for FREE) and see the area. Breakfast was the standard HI Express menu with yummy hot cinnamon rolls and biscuits and gravy. Pool and breakfast room on second floor which I really liked especially since my room was on the second floor. Very easy to go to and from the pool/breakfast without having to wait for elevators. Parking safe and secure with enough spaces cars weren't jammed together and I didn't have to worry about a cramped garage and getting doors dinged. Room was updated, modern, comfortable, and quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VisaliaShaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you so much for the GREAT review!!! This is the kind of stay that we want each and every single one of our guests to have. We are glad that our hotel's location along with its amenities provided you with such a pleasant stay. As you mentioned, there is a lot to do in Solana Beach and it sounds like you got to experience many of them. Just in case you missed a few come back and visit us again soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Was in town for the Races,there for 6 days,clean room every day,free breakfast was very reasonable!The 1st day there,was put into a room with a bad view,the next morning went down to the front desk and they changed my room within a few hours!Parking was free and very easy in and out!Location is great,close to Del Mar,the beach is a short walk away looking down over the chiffs,free bus pick up in front of Hotel for Del Mar Racetrack!Would stay there again anytime!Had a great time while in town!Don S

Room Tip: Stay on the pool side
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Sounds like you had lots of fun at the races!!! Our location is perfect if you are visiting Solana Beach during the race season or if you just want to hang at the beach. Glad to hear that our accommodations with all its amenities worked great for your long term stay. We hope to see you back again soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

It was fine and did the job. Clean room and comfy bed. I had stayed in a similar Holiday Inn in Cardiff last time and that place was much nice. Feel like they tried to update this placed but didn't have the budget for a full update. For instance the bathroom has new mirrors and lights but an old sink and shower. The room has new furniture but old drapes and dingy carpet. Not trying to be picky just thought the one up the road was nicer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcohen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. As you mentioned, we are in the process of renovating our property. We are happy to hear from our guests and welcome their suggestions that will improve their overall stay. We will make sure to address all your concerns and hope to see you back soon so you can see the finish product. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solana Beach
1.0 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
2.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
2.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
123 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
253 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wave Crest Resort
Wave Crest Resort
#6 of 7 in Del Mar
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar

Address: 621 South Hwy 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range: $126 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Solana Beach, Del Mar is perfect for every aspect a guest would stay for! It's a beautiful city with access to almost anything you are may be looking you. Its well known for its beach, where you can relax or take a nice jog, which is just walking distance from the hotel. There are many local attractions that aren't far: Legoland, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, and many more. Not only is the city itself a beautiful location, but The Holiday Inn Express & Suites offers 80 spacious rooms. Each room features a private balcony, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hair dryer and many more attributes! To make your stay even better, we offer complimentary breakfast, and a relaxing Pool and Jacuzzi. Efficiency is key to many guests, we have free Wi-Fi and many delicious restaurants that are close as a block away. If you are coming for business, relaxation, excitement or just for simple fun, we are here to make this stay special. Our friendly staff will always be happy to help to make your stay unique and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar Hotel Solana Beach
Holiday Inn Solana Beach
Solana Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing