We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place,Close to Track,Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place,Close to Track,Beach”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Was in town for the Races,there for 6 days,clean room every day,free breakfast was very reasonable!The 1st day there,was put into a room with a bad view,the next morning went down to the front desk and they changed my room within a few hours!Parking was free and very easy in and out!Location is great,close to Del Mar,the beach is a short walk away looking down over the chiffs,free bus pick up in front of Hotel for Del Mar Racetrack!Would stay there again anytime!Had a great time while in town!Don S

Room Tip: Stay on the pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Sounds like you had lots of fun at the races!!! Our location is perfect if you are visiting Solana Beach during the race season or if you just want to hang at the beach. Glad to hear that our accommodations with all its amenities worked great for your long term stay. We hope to see you back again soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    87
    61
    15
    21
See reviews for
83
47
19
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jcohen75
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

It was fine and did the job. Clean room and comfy bed. I had stayed in a similar Holiday Inn in Cardiff last time and that place was much nice. Feel like they tried to update this placed but didn't have the budget for a full update. For instance the bathroom has new mirrors and lights but an old sink and shower. The room has new furniture but old drapes and dingy carpet. Not trying to be picky just thought the one up the road was nicer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcohen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. As you mentioned, we are in the process of renovating our property. We are happy to hear from our guests and welcome their suggestions that will improve their overall stay. We will make sure to address all your concerns and hope to see you back soon so you can see the finish product. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was our second stay at this Holiday Inn Express in less than 2 months, and it exceeded our expectations both times! Very nice, and well appointed rooms, including free wi-fi and breakfast. The common areas, lobby, etc. are nicely decorated, and clean. Loved the over-sized "Mini-Fridge" and microwave too. They also have great large junior suites, perfect for families. A short walk to beautiful Del Mar Beach, and the race track.

The staff was also very friendly, polite and service minded. Jess was the best!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for a great review. Lets make it three times!! Come back and visit us again soon so we can provide you with yet another memorable stay. This is what we want every guest to experience when they stay with us. Thanks again and see you soon!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My girlfriends and I stayed here recently and enjoyed our stay. The location is great (just minutes away from Del Mar Race Track) and the people are really nice. The breakfast room is really quite lovely (very condusive to hanging around and chatting after done with breakfast) - lots of windows, high ceiling, great view and the food was good too - love the make-your-own pancakces machine!! I would also call this a game room because they had a couple of larger tables where a group could play games or cards, if they wanted to, and since it's right off the pool, you could also see what was going on at the pool, if you were a family with children. The 2nd floor pool/jacuzzi area was very nice and had extra seating just to enjoy the view and relax with a glass of wine. Would deinifely stay here again. We chose NOT to have the housekeepers clean our room (we stayed 2 nights) but from the interaction we did have with them when they were in the hallway, we thought they were nice and very polite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlenebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Wow!! Sounds like you had a blast while staying with us. Thank you for the kind words they really make our efforts to provide our guests great stay worthwhile. Our hotel's location along with its amenities make it a great place to come and relax or enjoy everything our town has to offer. Hope we get to see you back soon so you can explore a little more of our area. Thanks again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I've seen several recent reviews complaining about tired decor and dirty rooms. While it is always possible that housekeeping slips up, at least many of the rooms and public areas have been recently refurbished and are by no means "tired." I had my usual pleasant stay just ten days ago and I am happy to recommend it again. I do agree that it would be nice to have had more fruit added to breakfast instead of pancakes, though!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vnrose52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. As you mentioned, we strive to give our guests the very best stay possible through our helpful staff and accommodations. We have recently renovated many areas of the hotel to better service our guests. Thank you again for letting us know that the changes were to your liking. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have been a member of the Holiday Priority Club for about Twenty Five years. My opinion is this property, while not that old, needs some "tender loving care." Hotel increases the price in the summer equivelant to what one might spend at a very comfortable hotel, which is not commensurate with the condition of this hotel property. Breakfast is good. Internet connection on this stay, my third in the last two months, was continually interrupted by Holiday Inn pop-ups, very annoying.

Room Tip: Select high numbered rooms on the West end of the hotel. They are larger and have the ocean breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and letting us know the areas we need to work on. We are very sorry you were not satisfied with our hotel and be assured that we will be fixing the areas that need to be remodeled. We will also check the internet issue you had while you were staying with us. We sincerely hope you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I prefer not to have room service when traveling so when I need my towels replenished I will gather the dirty and find a housekeeper on my floor. I tried to exchange my towels twice and received the same look and response from 2 different housekeepers, 2 days in a row. You are an inconvenience clearly and are ask to contact the front desk.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyr007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused during your stay. We appreciate when guests take the time to let us know where we need to improve. We will address this with our housekeeping staff to avoid this from happening again. We hope to get another shot at giving you a better stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solana Beach
1.0 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
2.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
0.8 mi away
Winners Circle Resort
Winners Circle Resort
#1 of 3 in Solana Beach
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
2.6 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
115 reviews
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar

Property: Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Address: 621 South Hwy 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Solana Beach, Del Mar is perfect for every aspect a guest would stay for! It's a beautiful city with access to almost anything you are may be looking you. Its well known for its beach, where you can relax or take a nice jog, which is just walking distance from the hotel. There are many local attractions that aren't far: Legoland, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, and many more. Not only is the city itself a beautiful location, but The Holiday Inn Express & Suites offers 80 spacious rooms. Each room features a private balcony, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hair dryer and many more attributes! To make your stay even better, we offer complimentary breakfast, and a relaxing Pool and Jacuzzi. Efficiency is key to many guests, we have free Wi-Fi and many delicious restaurants that are close as a block away. If you are coming for business, relaxation, excitement or just for simple fun, we are here to make this stay special. Our friendly staff will always be happy to help to make your stay unique and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar Hotel Solana Beach
Holiday Inn Solana Beach
Solana Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing