We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The food was great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bangkok Bay

Bangkok Bay
Ranked #33 of 76 Restaurants in Solana Beach
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Spring Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The food was great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I had the glass noodles with vegetables and my friend had the twisted sisters. Both plates were great. The server was very polite and the atmosphere was very nice.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marisol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    19
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
351 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Solana Beach- a foodie's paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Granted, I wasn't going to the really nice places, but the fare I ate in Solana Beach was very impressive. After writing out winners at Claire's and Pizza Port, Bangkok Bay completed the trifecta by serving up the Thai lunch I was looking for. Although I love Thai food, I eat it enough to make me a little picky about it. Bangkok Bay left me nothing to complain about. Nothing fancy, not too touristy, it just struck me as a place the locals go to get their Thai cravings satiated. That is probably why we liked it so much as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank orange-u-tall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hidden Thai gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We've been coming here for several years so figured its time to share here even though that mean more competition for tables. One of the best Tom Kha soups I've had and lots of vegetarian options. Their curries are amazing (the green is a personal favorite). Nice selection of wines to compliment your meal. If you are local (or staying in one of the near by hotels) take out is always an option if it is too crowded and you're hungry. Food always hot with very generous portions. On line menu easy to navigate.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovinlife57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Thai in North County”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We selected this restaurant based on proximity to Belly Up where we had tickets to a show. What we didn't realize is that we were discovering our new go to place for Thai. It was packed on a Tuesday night - we got a table right away and loved the environment. Good service, ordered quickly and loved our food - we got the pineapple fried rice and chicken curry. Both were really good. We will definitely be back - loved everything about it and it was the best thai both of us have had in a long time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsMc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
306 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very decent Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I am always impressed w authentic foods. This is very decent Thai food and for the price an excellent place to dine. All curries are good but the red is ...Wow!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank soifdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Bay also viewed

 
Solana Beach, CA
 

Been to Bangkok Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing