We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoughtful service and GREAT food.”
Review of Ship Ashore Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Smith River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ship Ashore Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Smith River
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Thoughtful service and GREAT food.”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The sad part of this review is how dilapidated everything has been allowed to become. This spot has tremendous wildlife views, the restaurant has some of the best food in the area and is such a hidden treasure. After staying in one of the houses that is decidedly run down (sadly I will add since it was so comfortable) we decided to have my Mom's memorial service catered by the restaurant, because we were doing a Life Celebration instead of doom and gloom. The room(s) they set up for us to use were perfect for the 40 invited guests and the service was great. The menu was salad and sandwiches buffet (which were specifically set up for easy access) and was lovely. This place really needs to do a come back, because the staff are wonderful, the wildlife abundant and its such a fine place to relax.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    10
    2
    13
See reviews for
12
31
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had read about the beautiful views at Ship Ashore Resort, but could not have imagined the beauty of this location. Driving up Highway 101, the first view of Ship Ashore is not particularly appealing; it is only in driving past the RV lot to the main building that one catches glimpse of the magic of the setting: right next to the Smith River, where the river empties out to the Pacific! All of the rooms have balcony on the water side of the building. From our room, we had views onto a veritable wildlife paradise: we watched a colony of harbor seals/sea lion laze on the opposite bank, pelicans cruise the river looking for fish, a bald eagle dissect its latest catch.

The rooms are adequate, with comfortable beds and pillows, and a kitchen with 4-pit stove and the basic cooking supplies. As many people have reported, the rooms are not in the best state of upkeep - however, a new lick of paint over the paint and re-grouting of the bath fixtures would already fix the worst of the disrepair. The atmosphere is overall warm and homey; the staff greets each other like family, and shares its warm, relaxed cheer with its the guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, OR
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I've never been sure what makes it a "resort." Large RV park? On-site restaurant? But, if you don't need city attractions, and want to spend some time exploring nearly-deserted shorelines and some of the biggest trees in the world, this is a good location. Regular rooms are nothing special, but it is ocean-view dining (with good specials), staff is wonderful, live music on the weekends, three-minute drive to a casino. And all right on the southern edge of "America's Wild Rivers Coast": which, of course, is the most beautiful place in the world.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BruinPlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband and I stumbled across this place by accident. We asked if we could see a room so as to know what kind of shape it was in. The room had a bad smell like old urine coming from the bathroom. The drapes were stained and very tacky. This could be a great place if the owners would upgrade the rooms. The beds are old and all the furnishings are way out dated. We liked the restrant and bar but didn't stay to eat. It's a shame they don't fix this place up or sell it to someone who will.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank englishtearose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Smith River hotels

Medford, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My hubby and I needed to getaway, but only had 3 days, so Ship Ashore Resort was the place. Staff was wonderful fitting us into a spur of the moment, and very pleasent when we arrived. We felt very welcomed. The room was great! Clean, large, with jacuzzi tub and a view to die for. We spent the weekend on the Deck! It was everything we needed, quite, clean and the resturant was very nice.
We will escape there again.

Room Tip: Stayed in the north wing, very nice, single room with king bed, deck, and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simpletimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed at Ship Ashore this past weekend. Very pleased with the whole enviroment. The hotel is older but was very clean. The view is awesome, all rooms have a view of the Smith River and the ocean. Hotel manager was very friendly and very helpful. Also a big plus it is pet friendly and prices are great. I will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I havent been to Ship Ashore for about 15 years. I was very excited to visit. After arriving, I became very saddened over what I had seen. This place used to be amazing in every way. They have always had absolutely top service, accommodations and so much to offer. Upon our stay, my husband and I learned that since the original owner died, the place has gone to waste. The building is literally falling apart. The rooms are still very clean, and the service and staff are all absolutely wonderful, but the building structures are in huge need of updating and much repair. This property has a beautiful view and this place had made such a good name for itself. It is so very sad to see it falling to ruin because someone who now owns it obviously just doesnt care. :(
The food is still top natch, as is the service. There are obviously employees there who care about the place and their customers. We left an extra huge tip and hope something is done soon to save this once beautiful establishment.
All in all, it is clean, peaceful, amazing food, and they have great service. The breakfast was great, and they have affordable prices.

Room Tip: All their rooms have a great view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smith River
0.9 mi away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
7.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
13.4 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
13.7 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 19 in Crescent City
444 reviews
13.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship Ashore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Ashore Resort

Property: Ship Ashore Resort
Address: 12370 Highway 101 North, Smith River, CA 95567
Location: United States > California > Smith River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Smith River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Ship Ashore Hotel Smith River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing