We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Down home cooking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palapa Mexican Food

Palapa Mexican Food
Ranked #58 of 260 Restaurants in Simi Valley
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Down home cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our lunch here in Simi Valley. The service was fast and friendly, and the prices reasonable. Yummy horchata--not too sweet. Portions are large and the rice and beans especially good. Family of six (all grown ups) ate for $60, and that included everyone getting drinks. We would eat there again.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Damommachef40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Daniel, West Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Super Authentic Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is a small place in a shopping plaza but the food is awesome. they don't have a lot of tables and there was only one waiter but the food was excellent and we didn't have to wait. Prices were reasonable. Good for families!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mathmus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best food and best maragritas! !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Best food, service , and drinks.
The price is no match. Authentic Mexican food. The best in town.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Justinmoreno26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley
1 review
“My favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Good food at a great price. Go there about 2-4 times a month.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SimiDad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Locals' Frequent Dining Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Being the same size restaurant as the average Subway, this small family owned restaurant surprisingly packs in a big restaurant feel with a full size bar. Having read other reviews on this, we were compelled to try it as we're long-time locals. The atmosphere was authentic and the staff were very friendly. Will be a great choice for Happy Hour, and we will definitely place this as one for frequent dining. The food was equal to typical Mexican chain restaurants, but a little less expensive. We spent $20 without margies for two. Their house margarita is good size at $5, Cadillac margarita is $8. Overall enjoyable experience.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boatwhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palapa Mexican Food also viewed

 
Simi Valley, CA
Simi Valley, CA
 

Been to Palapa Mexican Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing