We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the money”
Review of Grand Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Vista Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Simi Valley
chino valley az
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good for the money”
Reviewed August 16, 2009

I had a good rate, went through hotels.com, and had stayed here once before so I was familiar with the hotel. The first time renovations were going on, this time my big complaint was that the floor I was on was occupied by mostly East Indian people. The management allowed them to cook in the microwave in their rooms, and the smell of pungent spices that are typically used in Indian food (which I like, by the way) permeated the whole hallway on the 3rd floor the 5 days I was there. By the third day I was actually almost sick from it. I talked to the front desk that night, and they acted like I was racist for complaining about it. I was told these people would be there for another month or so...they obviously were attending some kind of school or something. I asked if they knew they were cooking in the rooms...they said they were allowed to use the microwave. I asked if they knew what the hallway smelled like and they said yes. I asked why these people were leaving their rooms cracked open to allow the smell to leave the room so much. They shrugged and when I said I could come back the next day to talk to someone who cared, they offered to move me to another room. I only had 2 nights left, and too much stuff to move, plus I was near my traveling companions and didn't want to make them move. One night I had to ask one of the students to please not slam the door in the room right next to me, and he was very rude about it. The room I was in had peeling wallpaper and a huge blood stain on the mattress which I did not notice until the fourth night because it was covered with a mattress cover and the cover had moved by that time. They should at least flip the mattress, very unattractive and I would think could be considered a health hazard. Again, had it not been the last night, I would have moved. All in all, for the money it is good, room was clean (as clean as hotel rooms can be) and if not for those 2 complaints, I would recommend it to someone. Just beware of the strong odors from the cooking and check the mattress. The bar next door had some sleazy looking people in the parking lot but it was a sports bar, and I did not feel threatened by it. Nice mall right next door.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiegChinoValleyAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    138
    94
    57
    50
See reviews for
127
110
41
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Grand Vista for 4 nights while visiting his daughter. The hotel is situated in a convenient location close to the 118 freeway and plenty of dining, shopping, and hiking opportunities. There's a good mix of chain and "mom n' pop" food options in close proximity but if you're inclined to stay in, room service is available. The hotel offers a bar/grill sports bar type place as well as a restaurant (didn't eat at either, but the availability is appreciated). We stayed in a room with one king bed and it was roomy with a couch, coffee table, fridge, microwave, desk, cat5 Internet cable (no WiFi in the room, only restaurant area), an iron/ironing board, and armoire with a TV and drawers for clothes. The best feature of this room was the back wall of windows covered with beautiful white, wide-slatted plantation shutters which open (the shutters open, not the window itself). I noticed a couple slats were detached from the rod which adjusts them so I noted this on the in-room comment card - the next evening a gentleman arrived to fix it. The bathroom had a hair dryer, tissues, conditioning shampoo, shower cap, shoe shining cloth, face/body bar soap, and a coffee maker. Check-in and out was quick and easy and the staff was extremely pleasant. The linens were basic, clean, and pretty standard as far as mid-range hotels go. This hotel would have received 5 stars if it weren't for the noise heard from other patrons walking above us, causing the floors to creak.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nativenicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We always stay in this hotel the night before heading home because we used to live in Simi Valley. I always thought it was good for the price. This time I think its in need of some updating. Our bathroom floors (we had 2 rooms) were both dirty and sticky. There is no ventilation and the air had a cleaning product odor which burned my eyes and throat. I think its time to charge a little more and fix the place up a bit. I would have enjoyed it alot better if we could open a window and get some air.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoJilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Simi Valley hotels

Holladay, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2009

Stayed in early February. I have read the preceding two reviews. I guess beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I liked this place. Nice rooms with large plantation shutters. Some rooms look out upon the simi valley. The walls are a bit thin. Light in the bathroom was dim. The air freshener smelled antiseptic. However, the staff was very nice and gave me sweet directions to a great area to hike the local hills. The courtyard/swimming pool is clean and well-appointed. They have free wi-fi in the restaurant area..but not in the rooms. The location on the hill really does afford a "Grand Vista." The hotel's proximity to the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library and Air Force One is a bonus. They are a fifteen minute drive.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Writerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2009

Stayed At the Grand Vista in January for 3 nights on business. I was kept awake for most of the night with loud noises from people having sex in the room next to mine - loudly - and their door opening and closing frequently, as more "customers" came and left the room.
I went downstairs and complained to the staff. Nothing was done.
Next morning I complained again and said i'd be calling the police if the same went on the next night. The following night was a bit better, but the walls are super paper thin and you can hear conversation and anything going on in adjoining rooms.
I'll never go back and gladly pay more for the Best Western down the street.

  • Liked — Free Internet in the room ( bring your own cable ! )
  • Disliked — prostitution on site
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank plsqldba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2009

Worst place ever stayed at and when I spoke to the General Manager Tim he was a jerk NO GENERAL MANAGER stay away. Good place for drugs and hookers but other then that NO WAY

  • Liked — NOTHING
  • Disliked — The thing called the General Manager Tim what a jerk
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gmacusmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2008

Been in Simi Valley on a 6 month work assignment and found that the rate here was comparable to renting my own place, but didn't need to purchase furnishings, make my own bed or wash my towels and linens. I found the staff friendly and responsive. The rooms are large with a couch, coffee table, fridge, microwave and free internet access. What more do I neeed? Restaurant is a little pricey but was pleasantly surprised with the Pork Chop and New york steak. Good size cuts and cooked to my order. Though the property is not first rate it is clean and acceptable. I'm a regular now and am given the service a good repeat customer deserves. My overall expereience has been a good one and I would recommend it to friends for the great rate.

  • Liked — The Rates
  • Disliked — Limited Cable TV stations
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JustAGuestinSimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simi Valley
1.3 mi away
Best Western Posada Royale Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Ventura Simi Valley
5.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Simi Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thousand Oaks
436 reviews
9.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Vista Hotel

Property: Grand Vista Hotel
Address: 999 Enchanted Way, Simi Valley, CA 93065-1998
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Simi Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Simi Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Vista Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the panoramic foothills of Simi Valley, one of the nation’s safest cities, lies an oasis of comfort and beauty. As the only full service hotel in Simi Valley, The Grand Vista Hotel offers first-class amenities, unbeatable service and incredible rates. With convenient location just off the 118 Freeway, the Grand Vista is central to all Los Angeles and Ventura County attractions and businesses; the perfect choice for business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Vista Simi Valley
Hotel Grand Vista
Grand Vista Hotel Simi Valley Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing