We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay !!”
Review of Grand Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Vista Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Simi Valley
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay !!”
Reviewed November 10, 2008

We were looking for a place to stay during the Breeders Cup Races at Santa Anita Park. (within an hours drive) First of all, keep in mind that you are only paying $ 60.00 per night to stay here. With that said, I would like to say that our stay here was great ! After reading reviews on this site, we were not expecting much. Boy were we pleseantly surprised ! Our room was on the first floor with a parking lot view. Thats okay, we were hardly in the room. The room was clean, pleanty of pillows, comfy bed, fridge was cold upon arrival. Free wireless internet a plus. Furniture a bit worn and dated. Ice machine not working so we bought a bag of ice at the 7-11. Pool was really nice & clean as was hot tub. We didn't eat in the restaurant although we did go to the sports bar one night to watch a game. No waitress service and there was only 1 bartender. Poor guy tried to keep up with everyones orders (drinks & food), but it was impossible. Watched the game from our room instead. Front desk was friendly and explained that they were undergoing renovations (some wallpaper in common areas was torn down). Laundry room came in handy, no dirty clothes to wash once home. Pleanty of choices as far as restaurants go. Try to get to Sutters Mill on Cochran St. The best steaks I have ever had. Ate there twice. Very reasonable. All in all, a delightful stay. Would definitely return !

  • Liked — Price !
  • Disliked — Need more help in the sports bar
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Looo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    137
    94
    56
    49
See reviews for
126
108
41
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Do yourself a favor do not stay here! Front desk staff look thru you and don't bother with a smile or thank you. The sheets are old muslin sheets with fuzz balls. TV reception is terrible, lines all through the screen. The room stunk of cheap hotel deodorizers, and the windows do not open. When you ran the fan to try to clear the air, the smell got worse.Last but not least, they put us next to a all night party, I finally called the front desk at 1am.and asked them to do something, and the response was " oh your next to the wedding party room". So they knew they put us next to an all night party. This hotel and the entire stay was a disaster....

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mmastSacramento_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Simi Valley hotels

West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2008

The Grand Vista hotel is a great choice if you are in the LA area and want to escape the hustle and bustle of the city. The location is quiet with wonderful views of the Simi Valley. The price is very reasonable. Rooms are very nice and clean and staff is frindly and helpful. I enjoyed my stay here and was surprised at the value you get for your money here. I would give it a solid 3 stars.

  • Liked — Great Value
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevyleo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento,CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2008

To make a long story short my husband and I came from Sacramento for the Cowboys Training camp. Some staff were nice and others were rude and stuck up. When we checked out two days later there was an extra charge on our Bill for a tab that was opened up at the bar and grill our second night there at one am in the morning, my husband and I were asleep. When brought to the attention of one agent she was rude and acted as though we were lying about not having a tab,come to find out we were correct and they were wrong, no one apoligized and refunded us our money. The bar and grill is open to the hotel guest as well as the public no one should be able to go there and just give a room number and thats it, they should be way more careful and responsible. They need to make sure that they're guest our protected.

  • Liked — The free complimentary drinks and breakfast
  • Disliked — Some of the staff , and people being able to open tabs withought knowing what room they are actually in.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msbossladie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

We loved finding a nice hotel in Simi. It is easy to find. There are places to eat nearby...even within walking distance.
The rooms were great! They had a hair dryer, coffee pot, refridgerator and microwave. The fridge was already cold when we checked in and kept things very cold!! The beds were comfy with an assortment of pillows. The A/C worked well, but was noisy...but we never heard any neighbors. It was a constant hum. Let us sleep very well through the night.
We stayed four days and had the room cleaned while we were gone each day. We came back to a cool, clean room.
The only thing I'd complain about was the bathroom floor. It felt dirty. It felt like it was mopped with a dirty mop.
The towels were big and soft. They supplied the shampoo and soaps.
The workers at the front desk were friendly and helpful.
Overall, it was a grand experiance and we'll be back in December!

  • Liked — It was right off the freeway!
  • Disliked — The dirty feel of the bathroom floor.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Haylee222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

I recently stayed there as part of a family vacation. We had a referral from someone who had stayed there on business a few years ago when it was owned by Radisson. Apprently not the same owners. Front desk staff rude and arrogant. Observed many customer service problems over the course of my 4 day stay. The complimentary breakfast is terrible. Selection never changes. Bland runny oatmeal, stales danishes and sugary cereals. The carpets were filthy and hotel generally outdated. Just a bad experience overall. The sports bar is not family oriented as their website implies either. It is dark and smoky and has cages for dancers. Not what most people consider family oriented.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muylocococo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

The hotel facilites were pretty nice. The room was spacious and well appointed for the price. In room fridge and micro are nice to have. Only complaint about the room was that the bathroom door was on an auto closer and lacked proper ventilation so it was really hot and humid in there even upon first arrival.

The breakfast buffet included in the room rate is nothing more than a lower quality continental breakfast. Some of the muffins were still frozen!

The staff were really unhelpful and fairly amateurish. We called twice to see about an early check in and recevied responses like, "Uh, well we have a lot of people here now." Wow, thanks...

Sports bar was just an interesting slice of life. The bartender helping us was extremely intoxicated at 12:00 PM on a Sunday. The staff discussed their private lives in front of the customers with no discretion at all. We would have left but we couldn't help but to stay and watch the "show."

  • Liked — General value
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slrossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simi Valley
1.3 mi away
Best Western Posada Royale Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Ventura Simi Valley
5.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Simi Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thousand Oaks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn
9.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Vista Hotel

Property: Grand Vista Hotel
Address: 999 Enchanted Way, Simi Valley, CA 93065-1998
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Simi Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Simi Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Vista Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the panoramic foothills of Simi Valley, one of the nation’s safest cities, lies an oasis of comfort and beauty. As the only full service hotel in Simi Valley, The Grand Vista Hotel offers first-class amenities, unbeatable service and incredible rates. With convenient location just off the 118 Freeway, the Grand Vista is central to all Los Angeles and Ventura County attractions and businesses; the perfect choice for business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Vista Simi Valley
Hotel Grand Vista
Grand Vista Hotel Simi Valley Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing