We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 Star lobby, 1 star room and bathroom”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Vista Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Simi Valley
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“3 Star lobby, 1 star room and bathroom”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

For a supposed 3 star hotel, this definitely is on the low end of decent. I stayed here a few years ago and I'm sure it wasn't this bad before. There is a restaurant (that I didn't use) and my cheaper Priceline rate did not include any kind of breakfast. I had a horrible night's sleep on what seemed to be 20 year old sheets and could not find a happy temperature so that I could be comfortable with just a thin sheet and thin blanket. Although it's not the hotel's fault, I was awake until 3:30am because someone (don't know where they were located or I would have called to complain) was playing loud booming video games. Then my neighbor was up at 6:00 am showering and making noise in his room. So I think I got about 2.5 hours of sleep at this supposed 3 star hotel.

The following is what I had to put up with here:
- Water pressure was terrible - took forever to wash the shampoo and conditioner out of my long hair.
- The bathroom is horrible - definitely not the picture in their online photos.
- Very old, thin yellowed sheets on the bed and very thin blanket. Yucky bedspreads.
- Heater/cooler would not go on automatic so I had to keep getting up to adjust it, also very noisy.
- 3 weeks after the time change, the clock was still not set to right time and the radio would not work right.
- The elevator smelled horribly of cigarette smoke as if someone smoked in it - I realize the staff probably didn't know this, but it still smelled.
- The back door had been propped open so this "security door" was useless.

The only nice thing about this room was the TV - they had many different channels and "On Demand TV" so I was able to watch some back episodes of a favorite show.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlasure, General Manager at Grand Vista Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel and taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am sorry that your experience at our hotel left some negative impressions. I will make no excuses for the lack of cleanliness and service. We are continually upgrading different aspects of the hotel and I am sorry if your room did not meet your expectations. The upgrading process takes time and we are always working to improve the product for our customers. I will use your comments and experience as a training tool with all of our management staff and assure that better solutions are offered in the future. Please contact me directly at tlasure@grandvistasimi.com and I will be happy to make it right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    135
    93
    55
    49
See reviews for
123
108
41
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This is a higher end hotel with many amenities; however, their customer service was lacking.
Upon check in it was as though I was bothering them.
They didn't confirm check out, internet access or use their manners.
When we tried to call the front desk, no one answered. We understand busy, but after 20 rings you should answer the phone.
We attempted to get a menu for room service, we were directed it should be in our room. It wasn't and they still would give us a menu.
Will not stay here again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paula O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlasure, General Manager at Grand Vista Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel and taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am sorry that your experience at our hotel left some negative impressions. I will make no excuses for the lack of cleanliness and service. I will use your comments and experience as a training tool with all of our management staff and assure that better solutions are offered in the future. Please contact me directly at tlasure@grandvistasimi.com and I will be happy to make it right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Simi Valley hotels

alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was nice - We found some dirty clothes behind the big chair in our room. When we told the management they were very professional and since
We had booked with a 3rd party they bought our family lunch without me even asking for anything. Very nice pool and workout facility.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank gzorba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlasure, General Manager at Grand Vista Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for posting your comments. I am always glad to hear that my staff was helpful as we take great pride in giving excellent service as well as providing a clean comfortable room to every guest. I am sorry that we fell short with the clothing under the chair. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We let a relative book our room thinking the difference between her rate and the rate we saw online wouldn't be much. Lesson learned, book your own rooms and do it online. When we checked in the rate we were shown was nearly $40 higher for our one night than the rate we had seen online. I asked the desk clerk if we could be given the AAA discount at the very least. This was politely refused. At the end of our trip I called to ask if an adjustment could be made and that was also politely refused. The room was nice but there was no wi fi, there was very low water pressure and barely hot water in our room. We were not given the coupons for drinks and breakfast that were supposed to be provided with the rate we paid until my relative requested them. I just don't have a good feeling about the customer service attitude at this hotel and probably would not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELAINE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlasure, General Manager at Grand Vista Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry if there was confusion with your rate. Our rates change based on availability and we do offer special promotional rates via third party websites and on our website. We will always match these promotional rates while they are still available on-line. I am also sorry if the Wi-Fi was not working with your device. We do provide Wi-Fi throughout the property and every guest room is also hard wired to assure that there is always internet connection. We also offer a 24 hour business center with a computer, printer, scanner, and ample work space for your use. Please contact me directly at tlasure@grandvistasimi.com and I will be happy to make it right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel several time and but this i got a lot of problem my air condition broken for 3 days and then they shift me to other room as they are not able to fix it.

Only please check rates if you are extending your stay they say some different rate and when bill get generated some different rates gets applied.

Then you need to talk with them and try to help them remember what did you talk etc etc...

Rest everything is good and even location is nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tushar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlasure, General Manager at Grand Vista Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that my staff was not able to fix your A/C problem in a timely manner. I am also sorry if we did not communicate clearly with your rates. Our rates change based on availability and could go up as well as down. Your rate is printed (by date) on your registration card and if you are extending past the check out date the rate may vary, however, our ability to communicate this should not. I am happy to see that you enjoyed the rest of your stay. We look forward to your return. Please contact me directly should you need any further assistance. tlasure@grandvistasimi.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I've stayed here multiple times. Sure it is not a 5-star hotel. The price is VERY reasonable. There is another 4-star in the area and charges about $50 more a night. A night's stay for us is always simple, how many frills does one really need if ya need a place to sleep when most of the time spent is actually away from the room? Check in/out is simple, parking is free (paying for parking at some hotels happen and as long as there are spots while we pay, I'm good). I've stayed here before and will most likely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlasure, General Manager at Grand Vista Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for posting your comments. We appreciate your business and happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. We take great pride in providing excellent service as well as a clean comfortable room to every guest. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simi Valley
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Posada Royale Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Ventura Simi Valley
5.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Simi Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thousand Oaks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
9.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Thousand Oaks Inn
9.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Vista Hotel

Property: Grand Vista Hotel
Address: 999 Enchanted Way, Simi Valley, CA 93065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Simi Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Simi Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Vista Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the panoramic foothills of Simi Valley, one of the nation’s safest cities, lies an oasis of comfort and beauty. As the only full service hotel in Simi Valley, The Grand Vista Hotel offers first-class amenities, unbeatable service and incredible rates. With convenient location just off the 118 Freeway, the Grand Vista is central to all Los Angeles and Ventura County attractions and businesses; the perfect choice for business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Vista Simi Valley
Hotel Grand Vista
Grand Vista Hotel Simi Valley Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing