We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value with useful amenities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Vista Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Simi Valley
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good value with useful amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel has two things that are becoming essential in his age of permanent connectivity and traveling with just a carry-on: Decent free high-speed wireless Internet and a coin operated guest laundry. Being able to do a quick and cheap load of laundry in the middle of a trip basically doubles the number of days one can travel with a given amount of clothes in the luggage. The room itself was clean and quiet and we had an overall great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DrGato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlasure, General Manager at Grand Vista Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for posting these gracious comments. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities that we have to offer. We are proud to offer an exceptional value and make all of our customers feel at home. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    133
    93
    55
    49
See reviews for
121
107
41
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olean, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The pillows are atrocious! The breakfast is not worth the price and pales in comparison to Hampton Inns. The pool and hot tub are very nice. My room was good because I requested one overlooking the pool. The last time I stayed my room looked out on an embankment. It is a good 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool on second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachgrandma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlasure, General Manager at Grand Vista Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am happy to see that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay and that the staff was friendly and helpful. I am sorry that you did not care for the pillows or our express breakfast. We do have alternative pillows available through our housekeeping department. In addition to the express breakfast buffet we do offer a full service menu with all of the favorites made to order. If I can be of any further assistance, please contact me directly at tlasure@grandvistasimi.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Politeness - Good
Breakfast - Good
Lobby - Good
Parking - Great
Air Conditioning in room - Loud but cold enough
Shampoo in room - Very Bad
Soap in room - Average
Smell in Hallway - Not Good
Smell of carpet in room - Not good

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlasure, General Manager at Grand Vista Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments and concerns. I am sorry that your experience at our hotel left some negative impressions. I will be addressing these issues with the staff involved and correct any deficiencies. Please contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance. tlasure@grandvistasimi.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just wanted a quick get away for Labor day: with the chain hotels booked and highot to our prices we decided to try Grand Vista with a deal for one night. It rated 3 stars. So we paid the non-refundable and checked in, our first impression was a nice lobby then onto the front desk where we had the pleasure of having Kyle check us in, no hello no how are you didn't even bother to look or pretend to want to be there, we did see the front desk reviews (hince) so we got our key and got onto a overpowering smell of vomit elevator, not feeling great at this point. When we got to our room it hit us in the face URINE, the smell was so bad we left our shoes on. thee sofa was so dirty we had to put towels on it. Worse yet the bed was as bad as we thought, dirty pillows. TV from the 1980's distorted picture. Bathroom was old yellowed from some stains not even a bathroom fan we blow dried the mirror to see. Other guests were running up and down the floor all night. our get away was ruined. It was impossible to go to another hotel and we would have slept in the car if it were not so hot. Go to motel 6 oh and to the manager maybe your staff should go to boot camp for customer service. Why would we complain to Kyle when he didn't care to begin with. Upon leaving we were treated the same by a man with no name badge no goodbye or have a nice day. We will be staying elsewhere next time. This hotel does not deserve 3 stars let alone 1 star.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittykatpurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlasure, General Manager at Grand Vista Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel and taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am sorry that your experience at our hotel left some negative impressions. I will make no excuses for the lack of cleanliness and service. Had these issues been brought to our attention we would have certainly made them right and offerd to move you to another room. Please contact me directly at tlasure@grandvistasimi.com and I will be happy to make it right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Simi Valley hotels

New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was a beautiful hotel with a gorgeous overlook of Simi Valley. It was very close to a shopping center with many stores and starbucks. The room was spacious and modern (I requested a renovated room) and I found the hotel to be very clean. We stayed 2 nights and wanted to stay another 2, but the hotel was completely booked. However, you would never know it, because the whole place was so quiet! They have a nice fitness center and pool, though we were so busy we didnt have a chance to use them. Will definitely stay here again when I visit LA!

Room Tip: Request a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AreceeEl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlasure, General Manager at Grand Vista Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have stayed here twice before and have to say that every year this hotel declines. This year we stayed and were met with a hotel desk clerk that took her time to even acknowledge that we were standing there ready to check in. The room was old and musty as someone else stated. It was so filthy I didn't even want to sit on the bed cover and after seeing the lounge chair I was ready to check out. Dirty, dirty, dirty. The paint was peeling off the walls and the door in the bathroom and the water pressure in the shower was abysmal. It took forever to wash the shampoo out of your hair. We have given this hotel 3 chances and they will never get another chance. We will never stay here again. They offer a continental breakfast in the morning that is disgusting so trying to get a decent meal we decided we would order off the menu. $13.00 - $15.00 for breakfast that consists of some eggs, bacon and potatoes! Really? This is just too much. We felt like we were getting ripped off at every turn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWanderingVFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlasure, General Manager at Grand Vista Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel and taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am sorry that your experience at our hotel left some negative impressions. I will make no excuses for the lack of cleanliness and service. I will use your comments and experience as a training tool with all of our management staff and assure that better solutions are offered in the future. Please contact me directly at tlasure@grandvistasimi.com and I will be happy to make it right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The room and bathroom were old and very musty. There was a strange odor throughout the whole hotel. The room windows do not open so no chance of even trying to air it out. Way too busy with the onsite club/bar. Spa too crowded to use. Front desk was very nice. The best part was that del taco was five feet away! Probably would not stay again. I would rather pay $20 more and ve able to breath elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCJC808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlasure, General Manager at Grand Vista Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments and concerns. I am sorry that your experience at our hotel left some negative impressions. Had these issues been brought to our attention we certainly would have offered to move you to another room and/or correct any issues. Please contact me directly at tlasure@grandvistasimi.com and I will be happy to make it right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simi Valley
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Posada Royale Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Ventura Simi Valley
5.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Simi Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Thousand Oaks Inn
9.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
10.1 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thousand Oaks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Vista Hotel

Property: Grand Vista Hotel
Address: 999 Enchanted Way, Simi Valley, CA 93065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Simi Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Simi Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Vista Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the panoramic foothills of Simi Valley, one of the nation’s safest cities, lies an oasis of comfort and beauty. As the only full service hotel in Simi Valley, The Grand Vista Hotel offers first-class amenities, unbeatable service and incredible rates. With convenient location just off the 118 Freeway, the Grand Vista is central to all Los Angeles and Ventura County attractions and businesses; the perfect choice for business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Grand Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Vista Simi Valley
Hotel Grand Vista
Grand Vista Hotel Simi Valley Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing