We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Grand Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Vista Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Simi Valley
Victorville, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have stayed here twice before and have to say that every year this hotel declines. This year we stayed and were met with a hotel desk clerk that took her time to even acknowledge that we were standing there ready to check in. The room was old and musty as someone else stated. It was so filthy I didn't even want to sit on the bed cover and after seeing the lounge chair I was ready to check out. Dirty, dirty, dirty. The paint was peeling off the walls and the door in the bathroom and the water pressure in the shower was abysmal. It took forever to wash the shampoo out of your hair. We have given this hotel 3 chances and they will never get another chance. We will never stay here again. They offer a continental breakfast in the morning that is disgusting so trying to get a decent meal we decided we would order off the menu. $13.00 - $15.00 for breakfast that consists of some eggs, bacon and potatoes! Really? This is just too much. We felt like we were getting ripped off at every turn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWanderingVFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlasure, General Manager at Grand Vista Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel and taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am sorry that your experience at our hotel left some negative impressions. I will make no excuses for the lack of cleanliness and service. I will use your comments and experience as a training tool with all of our management staff and assure that better solutions are offered in the future. Please contact me directly at tlasure@grandvistasimi.com and I will be happy to make it right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    140
    94
    57
    50
See reviews for
127
111
41
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morro Bay, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The room and bathroom were old and very musty. There was a strange odor throughout the whole hotel. The room windows do not open so no chance of even trying to air it out. Way too busy with the onsite club/bar. Spa too crowded to use. Front desk was very nice. The best part was that del taco was five feet away! Probably would not stay again. I would rather pay $20 more and ve able to breath elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCJC808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlasure, General Manager at Grand Vista Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments and concerns. I am sorry that your experience at our hotel left some negative impressions. Had these issues been brought to our attention we certainly would have offered to move you to another room and/or correct any issues. Please contact me directly at tlasure@grandvistasimi.com and I will be happy to make it right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I've stayed here a few times. It is a little dated, but it was clean and well kept. The price was very reasonable. I booked this room through an internet site and it didn't include breakfast. The front desk told me I could have gotten the same price, with breakfast, by booking directly through them....He also told me they honor any internet price. Good to know!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1RoamingRoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlasure, General Manager at Grand Vista Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We appreciate your business. It is our goal to provide exceptional guest service and make our customers feel at home. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

From the minute I arrived I was treated very well by the entire staff. It is not the newest hotel in the area but it's very clean, well located and the staff was very helpful and definitely put the needs of their guest first. The price is great. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my coworkers and family. Simi Valley does not have a high end hotel, they have brand name places that charge top dollar without the quality. For me this place is perfect. Try it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDogLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlasure, General Manager at Grand Vista Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel and taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We are proud to offer a great product at an incomparable value. It is our goal to provide exceptional guest service and make our customers feel at home. I am happy to see that some of the staff’s efforts have been noticed and I will share your comments with them. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Location is in close proximity to major highways, shopping center 1/8 of a mile away. Staff was very nice. Restaurants on site, food is decent. Hotel is need of make over. Furniture, air conditioning unit and T.V. are all outdated. Lobby gives a good presentation but that is where it stop. Carpets are old and smell of mildew. Not bad if looking for a overnight stay without any luxury.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saboricua69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlasure, General Manager at Grand Vista Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are continually upgrading different aspects of the hotel and I am sorry if your room did not meet your expectations. The upgrading process takes time and we are always working to improve the product for our customers. I am happy to see that some of the staff’s efforts have been noticed and I will share your comments with them. Your comments help us to know how we can improve and provide exceptional service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I were returning to California for a reunion with friends. The hotel was very convenient and had all the amenities we needed. The rate was excellent. Our room faced a hill so we had total privacy. Front desk was helpful. Everything we needed for our stay.

Will stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audthang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlasure, General Manager at Grand Vista Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am glad you enjoyed our location as well as all of the amenities. We take great pride in providing excellent service as well as a clean comfortable room to every guest. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

This isn't a great hotel by any means but given the rates, location and the general standard it's not at all bad. The staff are efficient if not particularly friendly or welcoming, the rooms are clean though in need of maintenance here and there and the facilities are adequate. If they charged more I'd rate this place as average but they don't and in this location it is a good place to stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SAJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlasure, General Manager at Grand Vista Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simi Valley
1.3 mi away
Best Western Posada Royale Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Ventura Simi Valley
5.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Simi Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thousand Oaks
445 reviews
9.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Vista Hotel

Property: Grand Vista Hotel
Address: 999 Enchanted Way, Simi Valley, CA 93065-1998
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Simi Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Simi Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Vista Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the panoramic foothills of Simi Valley, one of the nation’s safest cities, lies an oasis of comfort and beauty. As the only full service hotel in Simi Valley, The Grand Vista Hotel offers first-class amenities, unbeatable service and incredible rates. With convenient location just off the 118 Freeway, the Grand Vista is central to all Los Angeles and Ventura County attractions and businesses; the perfect choice for business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Vista Simi Valley
Hotel Grand Vista
Grand Vista Hotel Simi Valley Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing