We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Holiday Inn Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Simi Valley
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Simi Valley
Phoenix, Az.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a Holiday Inn Express”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotels whenever I travel for work or with my family. I love the consistensy you get when you choose them. The breakfasts are free and wonderful. Beds are good, service is great. However there are exceptions to every rule! This is definitely it. The staff was at best barely adequate, we checked in late and felt like we were intruding relatives causing someone to lose sleep. Throughout our stay we didn't encounter one person that we were impressed with. The breakfast was about one half of what we are used to. The building has outside hallways and is very noisy. Has a nice pool, but take your own towels unnless youre small enough to wrap up in one the hand towels they provide. The room was very clean, except the carpet which was stained and old. The elevator is noisy and slow. The area seems very dangerous at night. Disappointed in this brand and won't be back for certain. No internet access.

Room Tip: I would try another hotel, we saw an Extended Stay that looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Simi Valley, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Jean Marie A,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us a review. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay with us. We understand that your experience didn't meet your expectations and we would like to assure you that this is not the standards of service we are striving for. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    81
    37
    19
    26
See reviews for
71
71
20
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bishop, Ca.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

First I will say the staff for the most part is very nice. The hotel is old and dated and in a terrible area. I stayed in Simmi Valley two nights, the first was here, the second at the Best Western. I will return to the Best Western. I was traveling on business and needed to use the internet. They advertise internet but don't have it except in a few select rooms. They will move you if you ask but they are only guessing which room has internet access at any given time. My company paid for the room and even at free it wasn't worth it. The big iron gates they use to keep the riff raff out don't work and I got locked out in the dark parking lot on one side while on the other side the gate didn't close and anyone could get in. They were quick to let me know that the keys were fine it must have been my cell phone or something. The police were in the parking lot twice talking to seedy characters and according to the Front Desk we were lucky to have them here so often. I spoke with our travel coordinator and will not be back to this Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Best Western
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Simi Valley, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Richie B,

Thank you for staying with us. I am deeply sorry for the problems you encountered at our hotel. I assure you the safety and security are of utmost concern to us and I am sorry if you felt any differently. Thank you again.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Simi Valley hotels

Irvine, California
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Overall a comfortable hotel, big rooms, clean and friendly staff.Our stay at the hotel was good! Check-in was easy.“Excellent stay!” we had booked this place on the advice of our company. Everything from rooms to the breakfast were excellent .

Room Tip: Join the Priority club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in 8 hotels on our California road trip. This is the only one that I have to say - AWFUL. The room smelled like smoke and the view was of a terrible looking Motel 6. Scariest thing ever!!!!! The Ronald Reagan Presidential Library needs to warn people about the area. The police dept is always at the Motel 6 which might help. Pan handlers in the parking lot and big iron gates that didn't work created a terrible environment. The beds were not as comfy as the Hiltons, Hamptons and Marriotts we stayed in. Seemed very old and definitely run down. The room looked clean and they did offer to move us, like I said the staff was VERY nice but omg never again! Back to Hilton!! We only paid 50.00 to stay here I guess it's true you get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else or bring a pit bull for protection,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank heidi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed here for a few days and it was wonderful! The staff at the front desk were amazing. They were fun and polite with big smiles. I was nervous about staying here because of some of these reviews but I must say, there was absolutely nothing wrong with the staff at this establishment, they make you feel very welcomed. I think some of the bad reviewers are either too high maitenance or had done something negative at the hotel. The room size, free breakfast, free wifi, staff and much more were well worth the money I spent, which wasn't bad. For a small town this was a very delightful place to stay. If you expect a 5 star hotel experience then stay at a Hilton. I'm very glad I chose to stay here and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caligirl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The room smells like cigarettes. It looks nice when you walk in, clean, nicely decorated; the window ac was set to 67 degrees. When I moved it to 71 the smell became very apparent. All night I kept waking up and feeling like I was breathing into an ash tray. I put my clothes I wore into a laundry bag and when I got home and opened the bag it REEKED of smoke. I don't think it is from recent smoke; its as if the walls, ceiling and floor ooze the smell. Yes, the desk clerk was cordial but it was a miserable night at the Holiday Inn Express in Simi Valley. Oh, and bring your clorox wipes; the remote had some type of stickiness on it, the light switches had not been cleaned, and the desk chair has remnants of some type of liquid that left drip marks on the seat and low back. I also was given an outside room which meant low security since it is only a pane of glass between you and the outside world and the cars pull up, and rev their engines, come and go at all hours of the night, again with only you and the piece of glass to separate you from the noise. I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoCalRascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Simi Valley, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear SoCalRascal,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I would like to offer a sincere apology regarding the smell of smoke in your room and the poor housekeeping service you received. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Very helpful staff and large rooms make this hotel a great place. I was greeted and promptly offered an upgrade. The free breakfast had plenty of offerings and there was enough room for everyone to fit comfortably and eat in peace. If you don't do the breakfast and have an outside room, you would never know how huge the courtyard with the pool and jacuzzi are. I was blown away by the hidden treasure that is this property. i would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room or one with the jacuzzi tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnywhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simi Valley
2.2 mi away
Best Western Posada Royale Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Grand Vista Hotel
Grand Vista Hotel
#4 of 6 in Simi Valley
430 reviews
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Ventura Simi Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Simi Valley
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Simi Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Simi Valley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Simi Valley
Address: 2550 Erringer Rd, Simi Valley, CA 93065-2353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Simi Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Simi Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Simi Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Simi Valley Hotel is a Hacienda-style open courtyard hotel with stylish decor, contemporary design and functional amenities to provide the perfect environment for business or leisure. Be sure to check out our resort style pool area open 8am to 10pm. As well as our newly renovated fitness center with state of the art equipment. Come stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Simi Valley where a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, world class hospitality and exceptional value create a comfortable and unforgettable hotel experience. Located in the heart of Simi Valley, just minutes from all major business and shopping, our hotel provides easy access to major freeways, the metrolink station, AMTRAK and many attractions and businesses including: Ronald Reagan Presidential Library and Museum, Moorpark College, Cal Lutheran University, Countrywide, Farmers Insurance and Amgen. Guests must present a valid credit card when checking in and a matching, government issued photo ID. An incidental hold of $100 is due at check in. This authorization will be released upon check out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Simi Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Simi Valley Hotel Simi Valley
Holiday Inn Simi Valley
Simi Valley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing