We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Ventura Simi Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Ventura Simi Valley
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Simi Valley
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed at the Courtyard in mid-August- had a great experience.

We used all points to pay for the 3-night stay and wound up with a double-queen room on the 2nd floor. Good beds, nice bathrooms, clean and reasonably well stocked. The front desk was very friendly and always asked if we needed anything as well as offering a friendly hello as we passed.

Only thing I could even think to ding on was the fact that they've remodeled the restaurant area and there is no more free breakfast option. Not a huge deal, but if you were wondering...

So far as the location, it's in a very good area, close to restaurants and basic shopping essentials. If you're looking for good proximity to the usual SoCal attractions, it's pretty remote but on the plus side, it's also far from the usual SoCal traffic and hectic pace! If by chance you're staying in connection w/ CSUN it's an easy 15-min drive.

If you're heading to the Reagan library, it doesn't get much closer. 5-10 drive, right down the street!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lernerfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy M, General Manager at Courtyard Ventura Simi Valley, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write about your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Simi Valley. I am so glad our friendly and experience front desk staff was at their usual best! It is a great location for visiting the Reagan Presidential Library which is just 3 miles away, it is nice to hear that it is a easy commute to Cal State University of Northridge too. Please know that the Marriott Hotels featuring a complimentary breakfast are the Fairfield Inn, Residence and Town Place by Marriott. We hope to provide you with accommodations next time you travel in our area while visiting CSUN.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    78
    28
    5
    4
See reviews for
61
43
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

a Great Place To Stay for A Great Price..Very clean rooms...Comfortable bed In large Spacious Room.The Staff are extremely friendly And Helpful..They Alone Make This A Great Place To stay. Lobby Is Nice And Free internet..Great Place For Great Price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tas1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy M, General Manager at Courtyard Ventura Simi Valley, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding your stay here at the Courtyard by Marriott Simi Valley. The staff here welcomes the oppportunity to assist guests any way they can and I am very pleased to hear they were able to be helpful to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed at this property the first weekend in August 2013. The downstairs lobby/lounge/bistro is decorated very modern - similar to an aLoft. I have stayed in the other properties in Simi, and this is by far the most modern and updated. The bed was very comfortable, the room was spacious - with a seating area for watching the flat screen TV - although it swivels and can be watched from the bed as well. The property has a pool and spa, didn't get the chance to check it out. The bistro is basically a scaled down restaurant - selection is limited. Starbucks coffee is available on site - but not lattes, mochas, etc - just plain coffee - which is good, because the in-room coffee should be skipped! Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat F, General Manager at Courtyard Ventura Simi Valley, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I'm so glad you tried our hotel and had a good stay. Our Bistro serves breakfast and dinner and the menu changes quarterly, so I hope you will see what's new the next time you are in. I apologize that the Starbucks does not have all the choices of a stand-alone store, but please know that we do make lattes, mochas, cappuccinos, and smoothies. Starbucks is available 24/7, so please take advantage of it the next time you are in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Nice hotel. Nice lobby. Pool is small and in the shade. Rooms were basic. Nice lobby. Great location. Especially for Reagan library. Nicest in simi valley I think. Others in party stayed at a different hotel and had horrible experience and moved hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rce7ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat F, General Manager at Courtyard Ventura Simi Valley, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I'm glad you were able to enjoy your time in Simi Valley and took advantage of the pool. We value your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott for 3 days the end of May, We were very pleased with our room, it was very clean and comfortable, had a nice size bathroom, and we had a small balcony.The staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved the pool and hot tub, and the sitting area with the firepit. Having family in Simi Valley, it was a perfect choice.. Recommend this hotel as it is a great location, visited Santa Barbara, which is so beautiful, and went to the Ronald Regan Library, which is approximately 10 minutes away from the hotel, highly suggest doing the library tour, very informative and interesting to see. I will definately use the Courtyard Marriott on any future trips to Simi Valley.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicyn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat F, General Manager at Courtyard Ventura Simi Valley, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We are so glad we got to be your home base while you were visiting family. Spring and Summer are the perfect times to enjoy the Outdoor Fire Pit! Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Contemporary lobby and well configured rooms. Great home base for visiting Reagan Library, Los Angeles and Santa Barbara. Staff was very accommodating and professional in all respects. I'll stay at this location in future trips to the area.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KenfromOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat F, General Manager at Courtyard Ventura Simi Valley, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience. We are glad you had a great stay and were able to enjoy our remodeled lobby and newly renovated rooms. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Area
Level Contributor
200 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

A very typical Courtyard, clean and well layed out room. Air conditionng units are a bit noisy, but work well.
Employees are universally accomodating and helpful.
We did not usethe restaurant facilities, though it looked okay.

Room Tip: Request room with "Walmart" view. Much quitier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Journeyfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat F, General Manager at Courtyard Ventura Simi Valley, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our Courtyard. We are all so glad you had a great stay and hope next time you will have the chance to try the Bistro. We serve Breakfast and Dinner and update the menu regularly to ensure a changing and interesting selection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simi Valley
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Posada Royale Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Grand Vista Hotel
Grand Vista Hotel
#4 of 6 in Simi Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
5.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Simi Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Westlake Village
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
9.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Westlake
Hyatt Regency Westlake
#2 of 4 in Westlake Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Ventura Simi Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Ventura Simi Valley

Property: Courtyard Ventura Simi Valley
Address: 191 Cochran Street, Simi Valley, CA 93065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Simi Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Simi Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Ventura Simi Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Ventura Simi Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Ventura - Simi Valley Hotel Simi Valley
Courtyard Simi Valley
Simi Valley Marriott
Simi Valley Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing