We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My doctor recommended it!”
Review of Ali Baba Cafe

Ali Baba Cafe
Ranked #1 of 264 Restaurants in Simi Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
simi valley
2 reviews
“My doctor recommended it!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Food is very good. I believe the owner is also the cook (don't quote me on that). My family really enjoyed the food, even though we are not big falafel fans. Desserts are also very good, but be sure to ask the waitress how long each type takes to prepare. If you order two or more desserts with different prep times you will all be eating your own dessert by yourself. Weekday wait staff needs a little more practice. There were no place settings and a bit slow with the drink service. Got much more experienced wait staff on weekends though. All in all it is worth going. Quality and flavor are what I look for most in a restaurant and they are not lacking here.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garryle r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    42
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Va
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We happened upon Ali Baba while in the area. What a great choice for lunch. Great food, friendly staff, and reasonable prices. We had been in California fo 4 days and this was the first really enjoyable meal we had. The lamb sandwich, lamb shawarma, falafel, chicken kabob and tabouleh were all excellent. The hummus was also wonderful. We would highly recommend Ali Baba - a real find!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJnVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mouth watering”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Upon arrival, the smells of the cooking food is enough to make my mouth water. The hummus is incredible. The chicken shawarma, the rice, everything! It's just so good! The owner and staff are all very friendly and always remember our names. We go a few times a month.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh Mediterranean Food”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The food here is so fresh and prepared with such care by Omar the owner. The falafal sandwich is delish and they allow dogs on the patio!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BiggiesTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Falafel King in California.”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Yes they make more than just falafels.... however if you are looking for a tasty, fresh, green, with just enough spices falafel then you should go to Ali Baba Cafe in Simi Valley. Their salad is delicious, the shrimp kabob is great, and the soup is fantastic.
The owner / chef is full of energy and funny, it's good to see him when we go eat there.
The staff is lovely, special thanks to Omar, Danya, Rachel, and Matt.

Best regards.
SRLR.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SRLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Baba Cafe also viewed

Simi Valley, CA
Simi Valley, CA
 

Been to Ali Baba Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing