We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's in Back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Junkyard Cafe

The Junkyard Cafe
Ranked #11 of 260 Restaurants in Simi Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It's in Back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

OK, you might think your GPS is wrong when you go looking for this place, but... go around back and you'll find The Junkyard Cafe. Pretty decent food for a good value. The menu takes a minute to get used to...just take the time. The cook will accomodate just about anything the wait staff can suggest, and boy do they suggest. They have a full bar, lots of local color and don't be a bit surprised if the owner comes over to make sure you're happy. Higly recommended for lunch and breakfast.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    29
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Az.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth Trying”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Friendly staff. Menu is huge so after thirty minutes to read through it everyone found something they wanted. Good food.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jean Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was alright”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

When me and my boyfriend wanted to try something new, we thought we would give this place a try. It is in a nice quiet area, they have tons (TOO MUCH might i add) to choose from. What my boyfriend and i didnt like, was how their menu was displayed. It seemed like it was just a mess and put together quickly, copied, and put straight into the customers hands. The menu was cluttered with all the food they had. The food was alright, but their cotton candy lemonade was amazing. After asking for a refill thought of the cotton candy lemonade, they only gave me regular lemonade. Dissappointment.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pretty_prncss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“St Patrick's day every single month?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

The atmosphere is really a junkyard which is cool however my girlfriend and I went this July and were bombarded with loud Irish music bag pipe players walking around and the restaurant was very cold. Food is average but I like the decor however the bag pipe players and music make it near impossible to even be in the place.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TimIversen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“will give it another try”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

had fish and chips - fish good. Waitress said chips were great (over french fries). Chips were obviously frozen and then fried - had zero taste - like cardboard - maybe freezer burned. hubby had pepperoni pizza = excellent flavor, thin crispy crust. both liked the caesar salad. cole slaw had way TOO MUCH mayonnaise. waitress was friendly but needs to use much LESS perfume. draft pacifico cold. prices excellent.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dlpa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Junkyard Cafe also viewed

Simi Valley, CA
Simi Valley, CA
 

Been to The Junkyard Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing