We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Mountain Cabin Getaway”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sierra City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Herrington's Sierra Pines Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sierra City
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We have stayed at Herringtons every year for the last 15 years and have had a wonderful time being in the middle of the Yuba River area. The cabins are not fancy by any means, but the setting on the Yuba River with the view of the Sierra Buttes on the other side makes this a wonderful vacation getaway if you need to decompress from the big city. There is a charming restaraunt onsite for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the food is well prepared, there is plenty of it, and the dining room is spotless with a great view of the Buttes towering above. They also have a trout pond out front for the kids to try their luck at fishing, it's pretty much guaranteed you will catch a fish. Across the street is a huge grassy parklike area that is a great place to run your pet, toss a frisbee or just hang out and breathe in the clean mountain air. There is a lot of outdoor activity to do in this area, from fishing the river or any one of the lakes within a 20 minute drive, a hike to the old fire lookout on the Buttes, to world-famous mountain biking and hiking trails and even world class golf courses a half hour away in Graeagle.
This hotel is not the Ritz-Carlton, so don't expect a 1964 Bollinger on ice wating for you, this is a classic, rustic old school mountain hotel in a beautiful part of the Sierras.

Room Tip: Ask for the river view rooms, the sound of the Yuba River will lull you to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NapaLineman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 54 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed two nights at Herrington's in one of the smaller cabins. We were in one of the rooms with only a view of the trees, but it was still pretty. My understanding is that there are a variety of rooms to choose from. Some with views of the river, some great for couples, some with lots of stairs, etc., but there are no photos online to view. That's the one thing I wish they would add to their website. We needed three beds but could only get two doubles and a rollaway. It was a tight squeeze, but worked out fine. There is a larger room option with two doubles and a kitchenette, but that wasn't available. The room was clean, but dated. The one new item was a flat screen TV. It's lovely to be among nature, but that's where I have to ding them on their rating. The first one is that all the screens had holes in them and did not fit the windows. With no air conditioning, this is a major drawback, especially in July. We had three windows in our room so you can get great cross ventilation, if you don't mind the bugs. We solved that problem with some masking tape we had with us. We took it off when we left so the next guest is on their own. The second one is that there is no easy river access with a beach or swimming area (at least none that we could find). That leaves the kids with a game room below the restaurant that has a pool table and ping-pong table. Thank goodness my kids enjoyed that, as there is no cell service there either and only limited internet access in the lobby area. This makes the location good only as a base camp to visit the many lakes and hikes in the area and not a place to stay for long periods with young/teenage children. The restaurant was pretty good if not a little pricey. There aren't many options in this small town so you are kinda stuck there. Across the street is a beautiful meadow that you can have a campfire in and roast marshmallows. It also seemed like a nice place for a wedding with a backdrop of wild sweet-peas and the sierra buttes looming above - a great photo op.

Room Tip: This location is only open five months out of the year so make your reservations early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gradeschoolmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I lived in Reno many years ago and we used to drive through these mountains (Sierra Nevada) for weekend excursions never stopping for the night; passing Herrington's both coming and going. This summer my in-laws wanted to stay in Sierra City for a couple of nights; we chose Herrington's based on a review I read on the San Francisco Chronicle's website. It was a good choice. Nice people, clean comfortable rooms, great views and you are right in the middle of wonderful hiking and beautiful scenery. The only thing missing... the crowds. We only had dinner at the hotel one night and it was very good. We ended up eating in town at the Buckhorn restaurant with its great outdoor seating next to the waterfalls. The entire area is a great place for a vacation and next time we will probably stretch it out to a week and definitely stay at Herrington's again.

Room Tip: Suites in the front with a view of the mountains, the more traditional hotel rooms at the back have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank campdadxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed at Herrington's for the first time over the last weekend in July - 2 nights. The room was pricey but very clean. The scenery is fabulous, the view from the restaurant worth the price of your meal, and the sound of the river and waterfall all night was so peaceful. Only things to complain about - remote did not work (no biggy just inconvenient), they forgot to give us fresh towels in the morning (no phone to call and I did not feel like hiking to the front desk in the morning to get some so it was a bit irritating). Otherwise, very nice stay. Restaurant was fine, one meal was so-so, the rest were very good. Parking can be tricky, especially for motorcycles.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dgarbero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We stayed for two nights in a small cabin room. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed comfortable, the showers powerful and the sounds of nature out the screen door were just beautiful. The resort is very well run by the wonderful Bev and Mike and the surroundings are fantastic (Yuba River and Sierra Buttes). There's a great trout pond out front, especially exciting if you have kids because they can feed the trout. It's exciting for adults too.
The restaurant is fantastic but was closed on our second night (Wed). No big deal. The resort is minutes from Sierra City's other eateries. I would highly recommend a stay here. I'll go back for sure. And they are very dog friendly, a bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ColinHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in a kitchen unit, which is like a small apartment with a living/dining room area, a separate kitchen & a bedroom. The decor reminded me of a 1950s cabin - dated but functional - it reminded me of cabins we stayed at when I was a kid. The unit was very clean but it is an older place so everything is not perfect. It was close to the road (with a view of the Sierra Buttes from the porch) but there was very little traffic so road noise was not a problem at all & the bedroom was in back away from the road.

Storage space was also like that of a small apartment - the bedroom had a closet with 2 sliding doors, the bathroom had a medicine cabinet & a cabinet below the sink. There were older TVs in both the living room & bedroom but there were very few channels & when watching ESPN, the sport scores that scroll across the bottom of the screen weren't visible. The kitchen had a full size refrigerator & stove but no dishwasher or garbage disposal. There were enough dishes for the 2 of us but it would have been nice if they had wine glasses. One thing that had been updated was the heat lamp in the bathroom - it had 3 lights & quickly made the bathroom nice & warm. The bed & shower were ok. I didn't like the pillows - I was glad that I'd brought my own pillow. There was a wood burning stove that we did not use.

We ate dinner once in the onsite restaurant. One of the most popular items on the menu is fresh trout which comes from the trout pond in front of the hotel. My companion was pleased with the trout dinner; I didn't care for my shrimp scampi. Simpler items are probably a better choice.

Across the street from the hotel is a large meadow area that is owned by the hotel. We didn't walk over there but there is at least one picnic table & horseshoes. The restaurant/lobby building has a downstairs game room with a ping pong table & a pool table. You can fish in the trout pond (the cost depends on the size of the fish that are caught) or feed the fish with food available for 25 cents. There is a computer that guests in the lobby that guests can use. The hotel is about ½ mile from the main part of Sierra City but the road gets very narrow in a couple of places so we didn't walk into town.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

My wife and 6 year old daughter just got back from staying 4 nights at Herrington's I can't express enough what a wonderful and relaxing time we had. We got the full suite with a kitchen and all the amenities. The place was clean and quiet. We were by the road and NEVER heard a car go by at night. The view out our door of the Sierra Buttes and the rolling clean lawn was breath taking! Mike the owner is a first class guy. Very friendly and helpful of what to see and do in Sierra County. My little girl loved to feed the fish at the fish pond. We played on the giant lawn in front of the resort. We ate most of our meals in our suite. We did eat breakfast one morning at Herrington's and it hit the spot!
We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ceskydup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sierra City
17.0 mi away
Chalet View Lodge
Chalet View Lodge
#1 of 4 in Graeagle
299 reviews
4.6 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
My Sisters Cottage
#3 of 5 in Sierra City
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#2 of 2 in Clio
55 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Herrington's Sierra Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herrington's Sierra Pines Resort

Address: 104 Main Street, Sierra City, CA 96125
Location: United States > California > Sierra City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sierra City
Price Range: $69 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Herrington`s Sierra Pines Hotel Sierra City
Herringtons Sierra City Pines Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing