We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the last gold rush eara stamp mills in California” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kentucky Mine Museum

Kentucky Mine Museum
Attraction details
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the last gold rush eara stamp mills in California”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I love everything about this place. Its quiet, on the edge of wilderness, easy enough to get to. I used to explore the tunnels and surrounding area before it was part of the park system (early 80's). Its a bit safer now and getting a painfully slow restoration. Please donate when/if you can.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Desertguy426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour and stamp mill.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Visited this museum last August and had a wonderful tour around the grounds and through the stamp mill. I greatly enjoyed seeing all the inner workings of the mill and am glad that it has been preserved so well. Highly to be recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiker90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
union city
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Working gold "mine" in good condition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I went there 2 years ago, that tour is wonderful. The "stamp" is in good condition, then the curator will do actual demonstration for you. Ok, this Kentucky Mine Museum is not as famous as the "Empire Mine" one, if you ask me, I like this one much better, because it actually run. I am planning to go back again. Really like this "mine" museum.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
155 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Johnny Cash Tribute Band - James Garner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Great concerts at the small open air stage theatre, Saturday evenings in the Summer....BBQ food available and ice cream....bring your own drinkies!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Death Valley National Park, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kentucky Mine & Museum Demonstrates A Working Stamp Mill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

This is a must see stop if your on highway 49 near Sierra City. The museum gives a great representation of the gold rush and the mines that were worked in the area such as the Sierra Buttes Mine.

The docents provide a splendid account of the workings of the kentucky mine and mill with a demonstration of the stamp mill and one of the few working pelton wheels.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Pans4au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kentucky Mine Museum also viewed

Sierra City, CA

Been to Kentucky Mine Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing