We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bob is the man around the inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of High Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
High Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sierra City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nevada City, California
1 review
“Bob is the man around the inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the High County Inn for two nights on July 20 and 21 of 2013. We have stayed off and on at the High Country Inn over the past 25 years. While we live relatively close, we find the inn to be a nice, quick get-away where we enjoy the Sierra Buttes, magnificent lakes in the Lakes Basin area, wonderful gourmet style breakfasts and a tranquil setting between Howard Creek and the Yuba River. The inn is decorated in good taste and is always clean and comfortable.

Bob and Bette Latte could not be better inn keepers. In our last few visits, Bob was our host as Bette works in the bay area during the week. We enjoy staying at the inn during weekdays where it is generally less busy. While Bob, a giant of a man, is a great outdoorsman, he also takes care of the elaborate gardens and lawn, brings in and stacks the year’s fire wood and, believe it or not, attends to every detail in the inn. In addition to doing all the “man things” around the inn, Bob meticulously prepares our breakfast and adds his artistic flare to the presentation of a three-course, gourmet meal every morning. Breakfast normally consists of a baked egg dish, fresh breads and fruit along with your choice of coffee, tea, and a variety of juices. For those who prefer a nontraditional or lighter breakfast, there are always options that can be provided within limits. All breakfasts are garnished with fresh cut flowers from the elaborate on-site gardens. Once he serves the breakfast, Bob hangs around and participates in conversation with the guests without crowding or overwhelming their experience. He is also a great source for places to visit, things to do and all the best restaurants central Sierra County has to offer. While some find Bob to be a little on the gruff side, we have found that he is more than willing to talk and share ideas on how to make our stay a pleasant and enjoyable experience. He also admits to this gruff side by saying “most guys who are 6’ 7” tall are gruff by nature.” We find him to be playful with his conversation and very accommodating.

If you are looking for an in-keeper who puts on airs, the High Country Inn may not be your best choice. If you want a clean, comfortable and nicely designed mountain inn that is neatly tucked into its setting with magnificent views of the Sierra Buttes in an area where time seems to have stood still, this inn is for you. Once you experience the High Country Inn, you will be thinking of your next trip if not booking it before you leave.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and offer views of the Sierra Buttes. We particularly like Sierra Buttes Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taparilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Owner at High Country Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your well written review on High Country Inn. It is always great fun to have the two of you spend time with us and talk about our flowers and the quality of life living in the Sierra Nevada Mountains where "life does go by a little slower" and one's head is constantly moving from side to side trying to take in all of the beauty of the surroundings. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    4
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
75
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The High Country Inn is a beautiful place. The rooms, grounds, and hospitality are the best!! Bob and Bette are a great couple who make you feel like family. The breakfasts are out of this world, with fresh fruits and berries, Bette's fresh baked treats, and always an amazing entrée! You even get a show at breakfast with the jays, humming birds, and chipmunks all participating in the production. My wife and I have stayed there the last two years and look forward to returning again and again.

Room Tip: Get one of the suites with a view of The Buttes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Owner at High Country Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are always glad to welcome the two of you here to the Inn. You are people who work very hard and when you come to stay at the Inn and spend quality time just sitting on our deck or enjoying the Hammock along the river just listening to the water flow by and fight too keep your eyes open! I really enjoy your sharing what the two of you do for a living, and I am thankful that we live here in God's Country! We hope we will see you again next year, thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

An oasis of greenery, still pond and clear view of the Buttes. Lovely rooms carefully maintained, fine breakfasts and generous hospitality of Bob, the genial host. We loved it all....and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Owner at High Country Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We thank you for your recent stay with us and we are glad we were able to provide you an enjoyable visit, thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Met with friends here for the first time this past week and what an amazing experience we had. Rooms were clean and spacious, our hosts were always close by and extremely helpful with everything from ideas on where to find good lakes to hike to, to making reservations for dinner when we told him where we wanted to go. We will definitely be back! Thank you Bob and Bette!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrinksM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Owner at High Country Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
It it is always fun to have guests that enjoy our Inn and the surrounding activities to be involved with close to our facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Every July we spend a few wonderful days at the High Country Inn. We particularly like staying in the Howard Creek Suite with its private deck overlooking the lawn and pond, but all the rooms are beautiful and comfortable. The breakfasts are marvelous, and the innkeepers, Bob and Bette, are warm and welcoming and most happy to help with restaurant recommendations and local attractions. For a few days the inn is truly our home away from home.

Ian and Diane Thomson

Room Tip: Howard Creek Suite has private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Owner at High Country Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments about our Inn and the many time we have been able to host you as our guests! It is only a mater of time until he gets to see that elusive Bear, that has evaded him for so LONG!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

As a little girl, I grew up spending several weeks each summer camping in the Lakes Basin Recreation area. Now, as an adult, every year I look forward to my visit to High Country Inn and a return to the area that I love. For the last 17 years, my husband and I have not missed a trip to our home away from home. Bob and Bette welcome us as if we are family to their beautiful bed and breakfast. The rooms are lovely, clean, comfortable and sleeping next to the sound of Howard Creek and the wind through the trees is the best sleep ever! Waking up to the sun rising over the Sierra Buttes is only made better by the scrumptious homemade breakfast in front of the picture window looking over the pond. Give yourself the best gift ever and spend some time at High Country Inn. You won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scrappinmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Owner at High Country Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and we look forward to your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Friendly, welcoming, clean, beautiful and spacious accommodations.
Hosts gave us just the right amount of private space and attention. They were very respectful of the fact that we were on vacation and enjoying "being away from it all" We felt comfortable moving about the inn. Breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. It was a very relaxed and comfortable environment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert L, Owner at High Country Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at our Inn and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sierra City
12.6 mi away
Chalet View Lodge
Chalet View Lodge
#1 of 4 in Graeagle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
11.5 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#1 of 2 in Clio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lodge at Whitehawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Pullman House Inn
Pullman House Inn
#1 of 1 in Portola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
4.2 mi away
No photo provided
My Sisters Cottage
#3 of 6 in Sierra City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Property: High Country Inn
Address: 100 Green Road, Highway 49 and Gold Lake Rd, Sierra City, CA 96125
Location: United States > California > Sierra City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sierra City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Out of the way- but out of this world" Bon Appetit High Country Inn is located in western Sierra County, California. We are off Highway 49, the famous " Golden Chain Highway" that winds its way through the historic California Gold Rush country of the Sierra Nevada mountains. The North Yuba River flows swiftly by, literally at our doorstep! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Sierra City
Sierra City Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing