We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, Needs a good Cleaning.”

Crowbar Cafe & Saloon
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Shoshone
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch
Carlsborg, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Terrible, Needs a good Cleaning.”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The only reason I stayed upon entering this establishment is because it is the only place to eat in town. Walking in I watched the (manager/owner?) chewing out one of the employees. This should of occured outside the public eye. The food arrived luke warm and flavorless. The serving staff lacked smiles and the atmosphere was lacking as well. We will not be returning. If you are driving through Shoshone, pack a lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HollywoodMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    124
    41
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
“Great Food, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I had dinner and breakfast at the Crowbar. The staff was very friendly, the food was fantastic, the portions were huge, the prices were decent. Service was a bit slow but it was packed both times and I think they were short-staffed. Would definitely go back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sunshineandpalmtrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It's a sports bar!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Only ate one meal here--we both had fish & chips and they were delicious with the best coleslaw ever.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jollymerryfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Marion, New York
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“There's only one place to eat in Shoshone”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Thankfully the Crowbar has good fare as it's the only place in town. Great omelettes in the morning and a good menu at night. We ate here four times during our two nights in Shoshone and we had really good food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bdweave02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Desert hospitality and great food.....”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

... Providing, of course, that you remember you are in small town America. The food was consistently great (fresh and lots of it) and the service was excellent. We ate here seven times (I kid not) in four days (there are no other choices if using Shoshone as a base to explore Death Valley) - and made friends with the bar staff and the locals. It was certainly better value for money and a nicer experience than similar places in Furnace Creek and Stovepike Wells. Avoid the biscuits and sausage gravy....

Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crowbar Cafe & Saloon also viewed

Death Valley Junction, California Desert
Tecopa, California Desert
 

Been to Crowbar Cafe & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing