We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantistic Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shingletown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grace Lake Resort Lassen Lodging
Ranked #1 of 1 Shingletown B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Folsom, California
1 review
“Fantistic Place”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The place is so nice, we spent three nights, wish we could have stayed longer! fishing was great, Lassen was spectacular. I highly recomend it!!!! The staff was very helpful in giving us directions and directions to where we wanted to go. It was nice to just lay in the hammock as well.
We will make plans to return as soon as possible, perhaps the last of Spring. Lassen should be perfect then. The fishing is fantistic, stream or lake it's your choice both within a couple of miles of the cabins. The owners are talking about building a 100% handicapped accessible room soon, I would rate this place high on my list and I have traveled a lot. Have fun!

Room Tip: the rooms are themed, I like the "Fishing" room. All were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    12
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were on a family trip for fishing in the area. We stayed in the 3 bedroom house. We shopped in town and cooked our own meals. The owners were friendly, helpful and added to the overall enjoyment of the well landscaped yard. We loved the chickens. We are happy to recommend this gem to anyone. Each of the cottages are individually 'theme' decorated, are comfortable, clean and provide all necessary items to allow you to prepare foods. In addition to inside tables and chairs, the outside has chairs and a barbeque. The units are arranged for privacy in a beautiful setting. We considered our two days there the highlight of a 12 day trip.

Room Tip: Check with the owners regarding your needs. Perhaps a certain decorating theme would suit your pers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa M, Owner at Grace Lake Resort Lassen Lodging, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Pat, We are glad that you had a nice stay here. We enjoyed getting to know your family. You were the perfect guests ( thanks for locking the chickens up that evening) We would love for you to come back and stay with us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford UK
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

These cabins are only a 20 minute drive from the North entrance to Lassen - Manzanita Lake.
There are about 6 cabins and a house and they are set amongst pine trees. There is a small pool. We didn't try it as it looked a little cloudy.
We had a queen cabin. It has a decent bed, table and chairs and kitchenette with sink, fridge and microwave. Wardrobe and small chest. There is a shower and toilet. Plenty of electrical points for charging up phones etc.
You do get road noise but it didn't bother us.
The accommodation is a good option for the area.
It became 4 stars in part because Ray was so helpful to us when we had an issue with our bumper. Thanks Ray.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a very convenient place to stay if you are visiting Lassen Volcanic National Park and the vicinity. We stayed in a one bedroom, one bath cabin. However, with my two daughters, there were four of us. The manager of the cabins was very accommodating and provided two fold out mats. We brought two sleeping beds and my daughters were very comfortable. Be sure to bring your own pillows. The cabin was very cute, cozy and included a small refrigerator and microwave. Outside there is a charcoal grill for your use.

The cabins are set in a clean woodsy area with a small stream on one side of the property. Set you expectations, this is not a hotel where you get daily housekeeping. However, towels, soap and shampoo are provided. One can exchange clean towels daily. Swimming in the pool is not recommended as it was a bit murky.

The cabins are very close, 20 minutes from the East entrance of Lassen Volcanic National Park. Lassen has two entrances. The East one has a small Visitor's Center. From there, one can drive to the South park entrance where there is a much larger Visitor's Center with a cafe. The South entrance is where Bumpass Hell and Sulfur Works are located. Bumpass Hell is a 3 hour round trip hike to a very active hydrothermal area. This is a moderate to strenuous hike. Be sure to wear hiking boots and bring plenty of water, snacks, and lunch. It is not an easy hike due to the elevation change, but well worth the effort.

The other hydrothermal area is Sulfur Works which is right off the the road (no hiking). There are probably the two best places to go in Lassen which can be accomplished in a day including the Visitor's Centers.

On the second day of our trip, we sent to the Subway Volcanic Lava tube (GPS location 40.6725, -1214225). The Subway Cave is near the town of Old Station on the 44/89 highway. Before getting to the cave, stop at the small Visitor's Center for more information. After the cave, keep driving north to McArthur/Burney Falls. This is a spectacular water fall with very little hiking.

On the way home, drive through the city of Redding and visit the Sundial Bridge. If you have grade school kids, the Turtle Bay Exploration Park is worth spending some time at.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WK_FamilyVaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We used this as a base for visiting Lassen Volcanic National Park--and then a day trip to Lava Beds National Monument. The location is great--close to the Lassen and in a shady, quiet spot. These cabins have very recently been renovated. They are a comfortable size, super clean and much better furnished than your typical cabin. The kitchenette has a small frig and a microwave, but cooking otherwise is limited to the charcoal grill outside. The nearby restaurant options are really limited, so we opted to cook. The cabins are not air-conditioned, but a window fan is provided and the evenings were comfortably cool. The hosts are very friendly and welcoming. Can definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Cabin 4 (with fishing theme) sits back from the road a bit and was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShowMeSomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We rented the 3 bedroom house on July 28, 2013, it was perfect! My husband & I stayed there with his brother & sister in law. The grounds are peaceful & serene. The house is nicely decorated with a mixture of antiques & lovely accessories. We made dinner that evening & breakfast the next morning in the fully equipped kitchen.Teresa & Ray made us fell right at home. The atmosphere from inside to outside is awesome including the chickens that roam the grounds. We plan on returning for sure.

Room Tip: The cabins do not have a full kitchen, but you can cook outside on the barbque that is there or brin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanmF49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa M, Owner at Grace Lake Resort Lassen Lodging, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
We are happy that you had such a wonderful time here at our Resort. It was a pleasure to meet your family and welcome you back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

First, I'd like to say the owners were very nice but I think the grounds of the resort could be made to look much nicer. We stayed in the large cottage and in the 90 - 100 degree heat, we felt it all night long- there was no breeze and the fans they provided were not enough. The heat was stifling and we had trouble sleeping. An air conditioner, even a portable one, would have done the trick. We had friends staying a mile down the road at a site that had air conditioning and we were really wishing we had booked our stay there.
Ants, we lived with ants for 3 days. It was horrible. When my husband went to find the owners they were not available so we did not know what to do with our garbage and how to rid ourselves of the ants. They have chickens so we did not just want to set the ant infested garbage outside of our cabin.
The sofa was lumpy and not pleasant to sit on and the bed in the largest bedroom was also very lumpy. Add that to the heat and we literally tried to stay away as much as possible. Having comfortable seating and beds is really important to us. You can have that at camping cabins.
I do think that with some additions, this could be a truly lovely experience but for our 3 days it was less than that. If you want people to feel as if they are glamping, a few upgrades would make that possible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa M, Owner at Grace Lake Resort Lassen Lodging, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
We are sorry your stay here was less than pleasant as our goal is for all our guests have a wonderful experience. Mother nature has provided us with a natural park like setting. Our staff takes pride in it's up keep and our flock of free range chickens work diligently on pest control, however we strongly recommend guests place their garbage in the outdoor trash receptacles provided.
All of our beds and bedding are brand new, perhaps the lumpiness was the pillow top pad which could easily be removed.
We are located at 3500 feet elevation typically our summer days get warm and normally we have cool nights we did experience an unusually hot week in July. Most of our guest took refuge in our pool.
We always have a staff member on site with a cell phone, we are sorry you didn't make contact.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shingletown
23.3 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
22.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Anderson
21.6 mi away
Highlands Ranch Resort
Highlands Ranch Resort
#1 of 1 in Mill Creek
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Best Western Anderson Inn
22.6 mi away
Motel 6 Anderson- Redding Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace Lake Resort Lassen Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Lake Resort Lassen Lodging

Property: Grace Lake Resort Lassen Lodging
Address: 31853 State Highway 44, Shingletown, CA 96088-9731
Location: United States > California > Shingletown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shingletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Resort is located at the North entrance to Mt. Lassen Volcanic National Park. These luxuriously themed cabins include king/queen beds, kitchenettes have basic utensils, microwaves, mini frig, coffee makers and outdoor BBQ grill. Our location makes us the perfect base camp for Fishing, Hiking, Snowmobiling, Wine Tasting, Relaxing. The natural beauty and park-like setting makes us the ideal venue for Weddings, Family Reunions, Retreats, Romantic Getaways. Amenities include Swimming Pool, WiFi, BBQ Grills, Picnic Tables, Group Areas. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing