We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice front desk ladies”
Review of Shell Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shell Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shell Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 30, 2013

But ants in our room! We had a nice walk and enjoyed our beautiful natural surroundings. The advice we received for places to dine turned out to be the most valuable thing we came away with. Still, a pleasant place to stay. Just don't bring in any food!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 96 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Shell Beach Inn for one night on our way up the coast to Monterey. We had stayed in Pismo before, and wanted to try something a little different and I remembered the really cool neon sign from the last time we were in town, so we chose this quaint little place to crash for the night. I'd say it's more like a motel, and all in all I'd say it's just ok. I love the location which is quiet and off the main drag of Pismo on a weird little street up in Shell Beach. I walked up the street in the morning to a great little coffee shop, and I noticed a few other good looking (and crowded) places for breakfast or lunch. It was a lovely walk, and the neighborhood behind the Inn leading up to the coast is really cute, and we took a walk down the street and sat on the benches on the bluff above the beach and watched the sunset, it's only a block to the coast. The room itself was...meh, it was ok. It was pretty quiet, mostly clean (I did find some old beef jerky in the drawer next to the bed from a previous guest....hey! Free snacks! Yuck.) The bed was pretty comfy and big, we couldn't get any TV stations to come thru on our TV, but whatever...we were only there to crash for one night so it wasn't the end of the world, it just made it seem a little over-priced. I think we paid $95 and it felt like it should be more like $65 or $75 based on cleanliness and amenities (or lack thereof) but I suppose you're paying a higher price for proximity to the lovely coastline.

Room Tip: Don't expect anything fancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kustomkitsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed P, Manager at Shell Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Yes, we are a quaint motel, not a luxury resort. I'm happy you enjoyed our area but do apologize for the housekeeping mistake by our usually very thorough staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

While visiting grandchildren in the area we first investigated motels which,in the off season, are reasonably priced but during the summer are two to three times more expensive. Based on decent reviews we chose the Shell Beach Inn. Our room was still, by our standards, expensive. The majority of the small room was taken up by a low dresser supporting the TV, two double beds, a small refrigerator, and a microwave. The closet was narrow and deep and the only place to have an open suitcase was at the entrance to the closet. There were three coat hangers, although, the owners seemed very nice and probably would have given us more if we had asked. The bathroom was long with a small toilet at one end and a shower without bathtub at the other. The sink had no counter space to speak of. The motel is situated on the main drag and across from the freeway so it gets noisy during the night. The room was clean and the property well maintained. The owners were helpful in recommending restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask about room size and be willing to pay more for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank DocPhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at this small throwback style inn in the Pismo Beach area. Innkeeper was friendly and informative regarding the area. Don't miss the views from Ventana Grill while visiting. This was a great little stop-over on our trip through this area of coastal California.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staciefm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We didnt pre book this motel although I had noted the details before our trip. The manager was really friendly and helpful, suggesting places to eat and things to see. On this basis, I would visit both the motel and the area again.
Room was pleasant and clean, , pool inviting.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feebee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We spent my birthday enjoying the area and stayed at here. Very accommodating and so friendly. Close to the beach and places to eat! Nice to stay somewhere other than a corporately owned motel. Hope we can go again!

Room Tip: Nice pool, chairs outside to lounge in, privately owned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GramaTen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed here before a few years back. Shell beach Inn (or motel as it was then) was billed as a "little treasure by the sea". Its still there hasn't changed much at all. The freeway seems busier there is a bit of road noise (being from London not a big problem for us) its a fairly laid back place the owner was great pointed out places to eat and visit. Bits of it could do with a clean (the back of the bathroom door, the top of the microwave etc where a previous person had spilt coffee) but the bed, sink, toilet, floor etc were all very clean, clean towels etc and it was very good value at $75 on the central coast. Its a couple of minutes walk to the beach and I enjoyed an hour by the pool too!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoppyP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shell Beach
0.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,476 reviews
1.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
857 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#4 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,040 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,252 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Beach Inn

Address: 653 Shell Beach Rd, Shell Beach, CA 93449-2050
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Shell Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shell Beach
Price Range: $105 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shell Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All ten guest rooms at the Shell Beach Inn are individually decorated with touches from the California coast and make this quaint little getaway a cozy stopover for the weary traveler or a comfortable home base for sightseeing vacationers. The Shell Beach Inn features an outdoor seasonally heated swimming pool and free parking. And...yes we are pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Shell Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Beach Hotel Shell Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing