We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont stay there”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Shell Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shell Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shell Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Clovis, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dont stay there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Let start, You get to hear the freeway all night. No towels in the bath room.Pool was not heated like they say it was. Paint was comming off of the tub and shower, and all the furniture in the room. 100.00 a night, what a joke,we got takin !!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed P, Manager at Shell Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
I'm surprised you didn't enjoy your stay here. We do heat the pool in season, but not in the winter months. We do have towels in all rooms, but if you needed extras, we would have gladly given. The distressed paint effect on the furniture was intended to give the room a "beachy" feel. I'm sorry you weren't feeling beachy and relaxed as most other guests do when here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    18
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
44
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed 7 nights here and it was marvellous. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the service was excellent. Just a short walk to the beach and only a few yards from a good choice of eating places and stores. We would definitely stay there again. The town itself is a perfect base to discover the delights of California.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troll001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino,CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great place to spend the night on our way to LA. Clean, affordable, friendly, helpful owners. Short walk to the beach, short drive to Pismo for dinner. A little noisy, & the bathroom door was old & funky (like us). We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

we only stayed here for one night, but the next day we both decided that pismo, you're so yesterday. we are now staying here for future stays when in the area. the night before we stayed at a motel in pismo that was, at best, horrifying. to make up for the scary room(seriously i slept on my beach blanket - i refused to touch the bed as much as i could) my fiance found this room by recommendation of a friend.

the owners are a really nice couple who maintain the motel (they really do look like little adorable beach cottages) nicely. we got a king bed for under $90 - with the location that's a steal people! there is a heated pool & at the end of the street there's a stairway leading down to the beach (tide pools & awesomeness). it's not a place where you'll have to fight crowds, so that 's a huge plus. the room doors are locked with a key not a card key which i thought was a nice retro touch (even the keychain are those plastic vintagey motel ones). the rooms themselves are so nice - the carpeting actually felt plush, CLEAN & nice on my feet. they're decorated with a beachy shabby chic feel to them & you can tell there's a lot of love & thought that went into the room. i felt like i was in a guest room, actually. the shampoo/conditioner is bath & body works (details, details). as for the traffic noise, i heard nothing - i slept like a baby but then again, i was boozing it up with the buddies ;) oooh! the beds are super comfortable! no joke. honestly, i dont know how one could give this place less than 5 stars. i didnt think it was outdated at all!

also, a sidenote. do walk next door to shell liquor & deli - you wont be sorry. the deli is delish!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordita_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutto, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Me and a friend took a trip on our Harleys from Texas to the West Coast in June 2012. I found this little jewel using an app on my IPhone called "Where To?". Its a very very nice clean place. A few blocks from the ocean, and several eatin joints within a few blocks. The owners/managers are a very friendly couple. They made us feel like we were renting from friends. I hope to take another tour to the west coast soon, and I will definitely stay here again. Price is very reasonable. I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slade001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Our family has stayed in the Pismo Beach/Shell Beach area before but we made reservations so last minute that we had to find another place. Tripadvisor was again our go-to place. We loved our multiple days at the Shell Beach Inn! Usually mom and pop motels like this one don't bother with pools because they're expensive and can be more hassle than they're worth. We were so excited that this motel had a great pool. The kids loved the pool! It was clean and refreshing. California beaches are cold water so not much swimming can be done. This pool fit our vacation perfectly. Rooms were great. Larger rooms are closer to the office. Smaller ones are along the back. Part of our family had a room behind the pool but it was not noisy at all. This is just a great little conveniently located gem in Shell Beach. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DellaDidDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
193 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We've stayed at other hotels/motels in the area, and this one has the others beat. For one thing, the owner/operators are super nice and very helpful. The other thing we noticed was how quiet it was, even though we were there in July and there were families staying there. The rooms are "beach chic", meaning nothing fancy, but have microwaves, fridges and coffee makers. There is a small pool, with a sign reminding people not to scream. There are also handy trash and recycling bins so that stuff doesn't have to accumulate in your room. There are several places to eat within walking distance, and when we told our servers where we were staying, we got a 10% discount. The room was clean, but housekeeping was spotty- it looked like the housekeeper allowed her 12 year-old son to take care of some of the rooms, which meant the bed wasn't made (the bedspread was just pulled up) and towels were left on the bed, not in the bathroom. Minor things. We will stay there again, for sure!

Room Tip: Book early- it's a small property and the rooms with two beds go fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakeside31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed P, Manager at Shell Beach Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for the nice comments, and also thank you for the feedback regarding the substitute housekeeper we use sometimes. We have addressed and resolved that issue, and look forward to having you stay with us here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shell Beach
0.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
1.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
1.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Beach Inn

Property: Shell Beach Inn
Address: 653 Shell Beach Rd, Shell Beach, CA 93449-2050
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Shell Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shell Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shell Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All ten guest rooms at the Shell Beach Inn are individually decorated with touches from the California coast and make this quaint little getaway a cozy stopover for the weary traveler or a comfortable home base for sightseeing vacationers. The Shell Beach Inn features an outdoor seasonally heated swimming pool and free parking. And...yes we are pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shell Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Beach Hotel Shell Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing