We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located”
Review of Shell Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shell Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shell Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Our family has stayed in the Pismo Beach/Shell Beach area before but we made reservations so last minute that we had to find another place. Tripadvisor was again our go-to place. We loved our multiple days at the Shell Beach Inn! Usually mom and pop motels like this one don't bother with pools because they're expensive and can be more hassle than they're worth. We were so excited that this motel had a great pool. The kids loved the pool! It was clean and refreshing. California beaches are cold water so not much swimming can be done. This pool fit our vacation perfectly. Rooms were great. Larger rooms are closer to the office. Smaller ones are along the back. Part of our family had a room behind the pool but it was not noisy at all. This is just a great little conveniently located gem in Shell Beach. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DellaDidDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 97 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

We've stayed at other hotels/motels in the area, and this one has the others beat. For one thing, the owner/operators are super nice and very helpful. The other thing we noticed was how quiet it was, even though we were there in July and there were families staying there. The rooms are "beach chic", meaning nothing fancy, but have microwaves, fridges and coffee makers. There is a small pool, with a sign reminding people not to scream. There are also handy trash and recycling bins so that stuff doesn't have to accumulate in your room. There are several places to eat within walking distance, and when we told our servers where we were staying, we got a 10% discount. The room was clean, but housekeeping was spotty- it looked like the housekeeper allowed her 12 year-old son to take care of some of the rooms, which meant the bed wasn't made (the bedspread was just pulled up) and towels were left on the bed, not in the bathroom. Minor things. We will stay there again, for sure!

Room Tip: Book early- it's a small property and the rooms with two beds go fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lakeside31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed P, Manager at Shell Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank you for the nice comments, and also thank you for the feedback regarding the substitute housekeeper we use sometimes. We have addressed and resolved that issue, and look forward to having you stay with us here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights based on good recommendations from Tripadvisor reviewers - and they were right! The couple who run the place are very friendly, the rooms are lovely and very close to the sea. We even went for a swim in their little pool (though it was a little chilly in April!).

Their recommendations on places to go and places to eat are also well worth listening too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemsybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful night in the "small room - especially recommended for couples"

Just found the cute motel by accident and we really enjoyed spening one night in this Motel.
It is way different to the big " motel chains" you can find everywhere. Here you get the feeling you are somewhere "special" and very welcome. Just a coulpe of minutes and you have a great view over the ocean and we actually had the chance to see some orcas there!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

this was a wonderful experience staying here . i took my elderly parents and i was on a business trip . so the owners placed us in a room next to the office . he even helped my mother get into the car . they told us about great places to eat that were close by . . they went above and beyond any other hotel i have ever stayed at there . its a cottage feeling , charming and relaxing . a BIG THANK YOU

for a great place to stay and at a wonderful price . you have to try this place .its walking distance to the beach and ed will tell you all the great places to go and see.ITS A MUST TRY!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbarafayterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Stumbled across shell beach inn what a great little motel
Ed & Jannie are so helpful read all good reports whilst in room yes it's that good
Thank you very much

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetBeefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

There is a lot of accomodation in the Pismo Beach area, but it is hard to find one with such a personal touch as the Shell Beach Inn. Ed & Janine, the owners, are very welcoming and gave us usefull information about activities and sights. We really loved our room (room number 9!), nicely decorated, the kingsize bed was very comfortable, there was a fridge, television, microwave. We stayed in many hotels these last months on our world trip, but this place really felt like home. After our little stay at the Shell Beach Inn, we continued our planned journey, but after visiting San Fransisco, we decided to go back to the Shell Beach Inn for a few more days of real relaxation. This is a hidden gem and if you are tired of staying in the hotel chains, we definitely recommend the Shell Beach Inn with its beautiful neon sign.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An_Gert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shell Beach
1.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
864 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,166 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,061 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Beach Inn

Address: 653 Shell Beach Rd, Shell Beach, CA 93449-2050
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Shell Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shell Beach
Price Range: $105 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shell Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All ten guest rooms at the Shell Beach Inn are individually decorated with touches from the California coast and make this quaint little getaway a cozy stopover for the weary traveler or a comfortable home base for sightseeing vacationers. The Shell Beach Inn features an outdoor seasonally heated swimming pool and free parking. And...yes we are pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shell Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Beach Hotel Shell Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing