We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We did enjoy our meal...”
Review of Alphys Basque Chateau - CLOSED

Alphys Basque Chateau
Description: This restaurant opened in April of this year
Restaurant details
Description: This restaurant opened in April of this year
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“We did enjoy our meal...”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We’ve been to a two wonderful Basque restaurants in northern Nevada this past year and thought we’d try Alphy’s as they are located in an old favorite (now gone Old Vienna) restaurant. One) the décor has not changed at all…it’s still the old tacky Old Vienna décor all the way…they could have updated a few things? 2) our service was quite good, and 3) the food was decent. Each Basque place has a variation in style and menu which is what makes them unique and if it’s done well, that’s even better. Of the three we’ve been to this past year alone, Alphy’s was #3. This doesn’t make them a wrong choice though; the others simply had better choices for us personally and we appreciate the others offering red table wine as part of the meal (and it’s been several pours each). I can’t recall if Alphy’s wine was included…I do recall that we had only one glass each and that would have been because we had to buy it. I did try their Picon and it didn’t cut the mustard…kinda’ bland. Still, we had a very nice meal and a good experience. We are only in this area every few years and there are so many choices of where to dine. We’ll save our Basque dining for our northern Nevada visits.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jiggerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Grande, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful. Overpriced, terrible service. HORRIBLE decor.”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We went shortly after it opened. Disappointing at every turn. First, the food was mediocre. I'm from Bakersfield so I know Basque food. The portions were small, the waiter spilled soup all over my daughter and they never came to check on us. The worst of all - we were sitting on dirty patio furniture looking at a poor attempt at an indoor fountain. AND it was expensive. Do not go here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Beach, California
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Last night we went to Alphy's Basque in Pismo Beach and found a Treasure!
We were lucky to find we made it in time for the Early Bird Special and Wow! The price was right and the food devine! We dined on first their great vegetable soup, the main dish was Top Serloin done to perfection, and to top it off, the marvelous chocolate cake and ice cream, all served by Braydon, an excellent, informative waiter! What a treat. Thank you Alphy's!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Food is fabulous and plentiful. Location is convenient and staff is amazing. Soup is delicious!!! Could make that my whole meal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Truly outstanding service!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I can't say enough good things about this restaurant! Service is outstanding and the food is off-the-hook good. Every Friday in October is Octoberfest. They serve excellent German dishes and have 8 German biers on tap. The staff goes German for the event as well with full blown German attire. We ordered from the Basque menu and it did not disappoint. Dylan at the bar suggested that the pork chop was his favorite...no wonder. It was delicious! The family style soup, salad and appetizer was great fun but the Polka band they booked for Octoberfest was a gas! Don't miss this place!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogusmalarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alphys Basque Chateau also viewed

Shell Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Shell Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Shell Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Shell Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing