We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of The Palomar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palomar Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Shell Beach B&B and Inns
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 4 days. We really enjoyed our stay with all the amenities, and the courteous staff. We would definitely come back and stay again here. The place is walking distance to the beach, so my wife and I went for walks on all our nights.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    25
    13
    6
    9
See reviews for
20
32
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, CA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The good first:
It is fairly inexpensive.
Has a good bed.
There is plenty of hot water.
Good wifi.
It's in Shell Beach!

The bad:
A coffee pot without coffee!!! What kind of hospitality it that???!!!
A ceiling fan with a switch I didn't find until morning. ( it is above the headboard.)
Plus It NEEDS some MAJOR RENOVATION and an OWNER who takes some pride in ownership. It is pretty obvious that this one doesn't. He/she did hire a nice manager, tho, who is friendly so I'm giving
it an extra star because of her.

Room Tip: Room #14 is near the top. The other rooms are a little bit of a steep walk to the sidewalk. But, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AccidentalTourist52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shell Beach hotels

Dallas, TX
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Like a 50's motel. Clean and small. Don't expect much from the management. Will do in a pinch.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeoDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We were looking for a pet friendly place to stay for the night. It was this and much more.
The best part was the comfortable bed. Never slept so sound. Then the huge bathroom was another plus. Major cable TV. The walk to the beach was just right for my dog, Baby Gurl. Perfect for us. We will be staying there again and again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank imaalejandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Under new management, John & Carolyn, The Palomar Inn is taking on a facelift inside and out; and being guests at the Palomar frequently, this transformation just makes the place more unique. Close to a wide variety of eating establishments in Shell Beach(walking distance), and a short drive into Pismo or Avila, the list of things to do is enless. The rooms are quaint and comfy and the Inn is right next door to the best coffee house in Shell Beach; the Steamin' Bean. Climb the stairs to the rooftop patio and enjoy your evening beverage while watching the sun set over the ocean; or have your morning cup of coffee and watch the fog lift. If your looking for a place to relax and recover, this is it. Thank you John & Carolyn for making our stay so enjoyable. Blessings to you and your family!!

Room Tip: Let John know why you're here and he'll fit you into the accomodation best suited for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarrVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Everything was clean , no AC not bad had a cieling fan nice little patio w /. bbq bring your own charcoal , there's a coffee pot in room come prepared bring your own coffee i did , staff is friendly , nice sm. town close to everything depending what you want to do it is great for us ILOVE the BEACH! great price it was less at check in than what it said online.I stayed in worse ! I would come back. C From, West Covina

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmellaWestCovina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We booked this motel based on other recommendations in Trip Advisor...what a mistake. The room was barely large enough to turn around in; the thermostat was completely broken and the only offer from the manager was to give us blankets; the fridge and microwave was dirty and the housekeeper left a cleaning bottle in the room. The manager stated there was not another room to move into, yet the vacancy sign was displayed. We decided to not to stay and the manager would not disclose the owners name or return our money for fear he would be fired. We heard many excuses, but no solutions. I am a seasoned traveler and this was the most poorly run motel and the poorest customer service I have experienced...beware. This also is certainly not a bed and breakfast...not even a coffeemaker in the room. When I questioned the manager, he offered to bring in a coffeemaker, but had no coffee.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jgbrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shell Beach
0.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,415 reviews
1.5 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,988 reviews
0.9 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,218 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,999 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palomar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palomar Inn

Property: The Palomar Inn
Address: 1601 Shell Beach Rd, Shell Beach, CA 93449-1957
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Shell Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shell Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Palomar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palomar Inn is located in beautiful Shell Beach, California. Visit us year round and explore the quiet cliffs and beaches of Shell Beach. We are also just minutes from Pismo Beach and Avila Beach. Restaurants and shops are within walking distance. Suites, kitchenettes and weekly rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Palomar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palomar Hotel Shell Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing