We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome burgers!”
Review of Hungry Hut - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hungry Hut
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome burgers!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Quaint little place with super friendly service serving delicious fries and top tasting burgers with never ending cold fountain drinks

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank gabi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    5
    4
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Lord!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is my second time here, last time was at least a decade ago and the outcomes where the same. This is a small roadside burger joint and the only reason we went there is the other, much better one was closed. We both got bacon hamburgers and fries after a day of off-road motorcycling, we were hungry!

Long story short, the hockey pucks arrived out the side window, I could tell just by looking this was not going to be pleasant and it wasn't. The hamburger was so dry and nasty tasting I tossed the whole thing after one bite and so did my friend. The fries and the soda were good though!

I will never stop there again and Im in that town about once a month. Ill just go hungry.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jtabur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't do it!”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Do not eat here! Good chance you'll get food poisoning. You will never ever see a local in there! That should tell you something. Nasty. Should be shut down

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank SierraMountainGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Huge burgers and delightful smoothies”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My friend and I had lunch there It is a small hamburger and sandwich joint on the main road of Shaver Lake. The hamburger and fries were very filling. I also ordered a strawberry smoothy. The restaurant is not fancy, it is a comfort restaurant. My friend had a huge BLT sandwich. I would definitely come back to this restaurant if I were stay in Shaver Lake again. The restaurant had indoor and outdoor seating and seemed to be very busy on a nice summer day!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank zacharysmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best burgers in Shaver Lake !!”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Burgers are HUGE and yummy! Macaroni bites are to die for! This is a MUST if you travel to Shaver Lake !!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ChellyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Hut also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing