We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elliott House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Shaver Lake B&B and Inns
Laguna Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed October 3, 2010

My wife and I just spent a great weekend at the Elliot House B&B in Shaver Lake. It was everything we had hoped for in a good B&B. Quaint, quiet, very clean, and a fresh delicious gourmet breakfast each morning. They also put out complimentary wines and appetizers each afternoon made fresh on site. When we booked we opted for one of the less expensive rooms (The Dogwood) and we were very surprised by it's decor and ambiance. It had a real chalet feel to it with pine walls and large windows looking out to the trees. The proprietors, Joanne & Greg are hands on people that go the extra mile to ensure a pleasant stay for their guest. They will gladly chat with you as much or as little as you like. They provide off street parking behind the cabins and once you park you can walk to just about everything you'll need. This is not a "schill". Until I reserved our room about a week ago I had never heard of Elloitt House or had any acquaintance with Joanne & Greg. Very romantic and perfect for a birthday or anniversary. Mike & Peggy Cook

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retired73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    8
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
37
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madera, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We’ve just recently had a wonderful stay at The Elliott House Bed and Breakfast located in Shaver Lake, CA.
 It’s so refreshing to stay somewhere where service is everything. Greg and Joanne Elliott are passionate about making sure you feel welcome. They tend to your every need – they are the perfect host and hostess. The rooms are gorgeous. We stayed in the Sequoia Suite, it was quaint, charming, and beautifully decorated – just perfect. The wine and appetizer evening was wonderful and the breakfasts’ are absolutely delicious. They even prepared a special breakfast to meet our dietary needs.

The Elliott House is memorable, lovely, special, unique, and truly wonderful. We look forward to staying at The Elliott House again very soon.

Thank you, Keith and Helen H.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haherzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
476 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

My wife and I drove from San Francisco to Shaver Lake on Monday 18th January down to Fresno County and then up into the Sierra Mountains. The weather was dreadful on the way with rain and wind but as we got up at about 4,500ft this turned to wet snow. Then as we arrived in Shaver Lake to stay at the Elliott B & B the snow moved in. We should not have worried about the lack of snow prior to this day as over the next 6 days there was almost enough snow to last a life time.
We arrived at the location at about 1pm and noting the policy of the B & B about arrivals before 3pm we entered the Hungry Horse for a snack, the prices should have indicated the quality which was not good. We then went to the Elliott B & B at around 2-30pm to find it locked but a phone call brought the owner Greg Elliott to the facility within 10 minutes, despite the snow fall which was accumulating and had already got to a depth of 6 inches. We had the Sugar Pine Suite booked until the 24th January at a total cost of $1,078-00c for the stay which included Breakfast and also Drinks and Canapes at 5pm each evening.
The room was very cosy and had a separate jacuzzi and shower etc with gas heating from a gas log fire. There was also Wi Fi but we lost this for some 19 hours on the Tuesday because the system was not rebooted correctly by the owners.
After unpacking we went to the 5pm drinks and canapes and met with other guests and the proprietors Greg and Joanne Elliott. This was very enjoyable and because of the continuing heavy snow we did not venture out that evening. Tuesday saw us having Breakfast but still a little confused on the 8am continental breakfast as opposed to the 8-30am Full American Breakfast, we are still not absolutely sure if it is one or the other and we really do like our cereal with milk in the morning prior to the American Breakfast.
We then went walkabout as we could no longer see our car in the parking lot as it was buried under feet of snow. We had lunch in Angelos and met some very nice people there, again after drinks and canapes on the evening went to the Short Horn Bar and met so many nice folks including Vanessa the lady serving our needs at the bar and food wise.
Wednesday saw us digging our car out and it was frustrating that there was no snow clearance equipment other than a shovel and brush, luckily one of the neighbours came down and kindly dug us out. Wednesday evening was another visit to the Short Horn after drinks and canapes at the Elliott B and B.
Thursday came the disaster when the power was off and we had candles and lamps from that afternoon onwards. Romantic yes but as this was to last until we left it lost some of its romance after the 3rd day.
But we muddled through but of course had no Wi Fi but we still had hot showers heating from the propane gas log fire and the wine still tasted good at the 5pm drinks.
On the evening we went to the Trading Post who had a generator and despite lighting problems the meal was excellent with the best Hallibut we have ever had in any place around the world.
And the snow just kept on falling and it was obvious there was difficulty in keeping the roads open due to the amount of snow and the falling trees. Promises on restoration of power evaporated with each and every morning and evening. Again Friday we visited the Trading Post with limited menu but again nice people and good grub.
The Saturday saw us loose hours on the road to the Sierra Ski resort which was so inundated that we could not get within two miles of the place, we then returned and drove down to Clovis really just to unfreeze our car which had been buried each and every day we were in Shaver Lake.
We returned in the evening with again no power but the nice people in the filling station charged our phones whilst we ate at the Wahtoke Grill and Bar and had some excellent Fish and chips.
We were packing up on the Saturday which again is somewhat difficult in limited lighting but we managed to do this and kept the car in a hotel car park opposite which made it a lot easier to recover. Eggs Bennedict for Breakfast at the Elliott B & B was excellent despite the lack of power. We departed at just after 8am on the Sunday morning with power still out and it remained so until we believe Friday of this last week 29th January.
All in all a beautiful place giving so much snow and scenery delight it is difficult to describe adequately the total picture.
Despite the lack of lighting Wi Fi and our not being able to use the jacuzzi etc there was no offer of a reduction from the Elliotts which was surprising as although not their fault the offer would have been a nice gesture in the circumstances.
We would endorse Shaver Lake as a wonderful place to visit for the scenery and the nice people there. This was our second to the area the last being many years ago during the summer.

Helpful?
2 Thank WiggleOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night on the way to pick up our kid from Gold Arrow Camp. We stayed in the Marie Suite which is NOT a part of the Elliot's cute red house. It is a guest house behind a big house in a high-end development of huge vacation homes. Our suite was very sweet indeed -- super clean, lovely linens and bath products, soothing music playing when we arrived. I would say it was almost luxurious! And a bargain. Breakfast was not included since it was offsite from the Elliot house but that was fine by us because Shaver Lake has cute little eateries.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annehermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA Bay Area
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We drove up to Shaver Lake to pick our daughter up from Gold Arrow Camp just down the road. For some reason the Elliott House representative would not give us end to end directions on how to get to the inn. We had to call five times each as we reached different landmarks. When we arrived we did not have a room on site, rather is was about a half mile back up the road at a place called Drakes' Landing.
This room, and the one next to it, amounted to an addition on the back of a local house. The sitting room and bedroom room were probably completed in the last year, so everything was new. The furniture was nice but not distictive. Bathroom was spacious and clean.
We paid $199 all in.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank wgwiebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Shaver Lake is a small lake resort community located in the Sierra mountains east of Fresno at about 5600 feet. We took a long weekend (Friday through Monday) for our first foray into the area, and were very pleased with what we found and our overall adventure.

My wife and I selected to stay at the Elliott House B&B for all three nights of our visit. Elliott House is a true bed and breakfast facility with five on-site rooms located on a main road less than a mile from the lake. Three of the rooms are in the “main cabin” and two of the rooms are in a separate stand-alone cabin within a short stair walk from and overlooking the main cabin. We stayed in the Cedar Suite, which was one of the two rooms in the stand-alone cabin.

The Elliott House facilities are fresh and well adorned, and would be what you would expect for a nicely maintained and equipped mountain cabin experience. The Cedar Suite room and cabin seems to have been built fairly recently (say, within the last ten years at most), and was very clean and comfortable. We had a single bedroom with a private bathroom abutting a small, single-lane back road and guest parking area.

The bed was a very comfortable queen bed, and the room featured a vaulted ceiling with ceiling fan. The bathroom felt clean and new and featured a jetted tub, which my wife fell in love with, and a large glassed shower. The advantage of staying in either of the rooms in this small cabin was the separation from the traffic on the main road, and the accompanying road noise.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the proprietor, whose residence is connected with the main cabin by a short walkway. The proprietors are a married couple who are very courteous, cheerful and helpful in providing suggestions for what to do in the area.

Unlike several other TripAdvisor listings for B&B’s, this one is a TRUE B&B. In the morning all gather in the main cabin or the adjoining patio for a full, homemade breakfast – one day we had eggs benedict, the next we had baked apple-caramel pancakes with sausage, and the final day we had something like a quiche. At every breakfast there was also an assortment of fresh fruits, other home-made baked goods (the cherry biscuits were delicious), and coffees and teas. The main dish was served one couple at a time, as it was made by the proprietors.

In addition to the breakfasts, each evening there was wine and hors d'oeuvres, which featured a mix of cheeses and home-made pastries and other goodies. Both the breakfast and the evening goods are all included in the room price, and there are no extra charges for anything. The hosts are excellent cooks and all of the home-made food was very tasty and just right for accenting the stay.

Every night all five rooms were fully occupied by other couples, some there for a short vacation and others for a romantic get-away or an anniversary celebration. During breakfast and at the end of the day there was ample opportunity for guests to interact, get to know one-another, and to share stories about our experiences. The great food and wine provided an ambiance and opportunity for us to really have a great time with the other guests. The short-term friendships we made with all the other guests only add to our fond memories of the Elliott House.

We arrived in Shaver Lake with no agenda other than to just experience the area and enjoy our weekend. We had no planned activities or lists of things we wanted to accomplish or do. So, after our first breakfast we spoke with one of the proprietors about the area, and choose to take a drive past Shaver Lake to Huntington Lake, and then on up from there over the Kaiser Pass to Edison Lake. What a trip! Everything is only up in altitude from Shaver Lake, starting at 5,500 feet to probably 9,000 feet at the pass. The pass itself is between Kaiser Peak and Mt Givens, and features a very narrow, one-lane road for 20+ miles. During this drive, you feel like you are hiking along the John Muir trail, as the scenery is pristine , magnificent, and awe-inspiring. Encountering on-coming traffic is an interesting negotiation of who is going to go where in order to find a place on the road where both vehicles can pass. Caution: although largely paved, parts of this road are deterioriated, rocky, and dangerously close to the edge of the mountain with no road rails – not for the faint hearted.

The next day we were encouraged to spend time at the south end of Shaver Lake. Traveling several miles past Dinkey Creek, we found a patch of large redwoods at McKinley Grove. Some of these trees have been around for over 2000 years!. This is a nice spot to take a picnic basket and to just rest for a few minutes.

On the other side of Shaver Lake and closer to Huntington Lake we also visited Rancheria Falls on our second day. Rancheria Falls is a spectacular 70 foot high waterfall. Access is via a fairly easy one-mile hike from the parking area. The falls are at the end of the trail, and allow you to literally stand at the base of the falls. After hitting this base, the falls continue to cascade down into a river further down. Seeing the redwoods and the falls was a good day’s experience.

About the only thing we would do differently next time is to bring fishing gear. Others Elliott House visitors did some fishing at Shaver Lake and were successful in netting a few.

We experienced dinners at Angelos (we do not recommend), Trading Post (great steaks and good service), and Trappers at the Point (ok, but not great).

Helpful?
8 Thank Stu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaver Lake
23.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
22.1 mi away
Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino
23.9 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
23.9 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
24.1 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#2 of 9 in Oakhurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elliott House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliott House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Elliott House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 42062 Tollhouse Road, Shaver Lake, CA 93664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Shaver Lake
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Shaver Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elliott House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our guest rooms are delightfully decorated, featuring luxurious feather beds and cozy sitting areas, designed to ensure comfort and relaxation. Throughout the B&B, charming collectibles are mixed with original watercolor paintings from local artists, fresh flowers and scented candles. The array of warm, vibrant colors and soft lighting complete the design details of the B&B, appealing to all of the senses. The original red and white Cape Cod style home, custom built 60 years ago, reflects that era of fine craftsmanship, found in the original oak floors, handset granite stone fireplace and the knotty pine throughout. Located in a new cottage behind the main house, the romantic Cedar and Sequoia Suites are an artistic design complement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Elliott House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing