We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elliott House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Shaver Lake B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is the cutest place! The owners Greg and Joanne have turned it into a gem. The house is about 60 yrs old and when they bought it, it was a home. The have done a lot of work and it really shows. There are 3 rooms in the main house and two additional in a separate unit in the back of the house. We stayed in Dogwood. All knotty pine walls, hardwood floors, very comfortable queen bed, gas fireplace, and Dish satellite with lots of channels. The room was very cozy.

Each morning for breakfast they serve a speciality. One morning it was their signature, apple blueberry pancake with sausage. It was not your typical pancake. It was more of a deep dish pie/cake. Excellent. The next morning eggs Benedict and the last day lemon blueberry pancakes served with applewood bacon. All excellent. Every breakfast also came with fresh fruit, a homemade pastry, ceral, coffee, juice and so on. Each afternoon they serve wine and cheese also. You can have your meals inside or on the patio. All very pleasant. However during parts of the summer there are meat bees so if they are around, eat inside.

The B&B is right on the main highway, so during the day there is a lot of street traffic, but once it gets dark, the road is very quite. It is within walking distance of everything in town and the lake is 1 1/2 miles away. It was a very easy walk.

We will definitely be back many times!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs, Dogwood or Sugar Pine are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XK140NUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 58 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

I cant rave enough above this amazing Bed and Breakfast we found..It was just what we were looking for. The hospitality shown by Joanne and Greg was beyond exceptional. The rooms are very clean and so was the common area. It was very easy to find. The morning breakfast was more than we could of imagined, fresh fruit , home made scones and gormet breakfast. We went sight seeing but we could of stayed there all day just because it was just a very warm comfortable place to be. The nightly happy hour was exquiste and was done in such great taste, wine, different types of cheeses and the chance to meet new friends in the common area. I would recommend this bed in breakfast for any occasion, we almost didnt want to leave. But we will be back very very soon. Thank you Joanne and Greg for a simply amazing relaxful vacation

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miranda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Comfortable setting, nice people, good breakfast. Someplace to stop between Yosemite and Sequioia National Parks. Parking was a bit awkward but worked out fine once we figured out (we arrived at night). Not much for sound insulation - squeaky floor boards above and laughing could be heard which could become annoying.

Room Tip: There are cabins in addition to the main building. Look over your options and see what works best f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MVCCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The b&b was adorable, clean for the most part but too noisy since its on the main road in Shaver. Our showers were a bit too cold for our comfort, we couldnt get the water to warm up enough to have a nice warm shower. The breakfasts made up for the rough noisy nights and tepid showers, delicious with a 5 star quality presentation.

Room Tip: Any room or cabin in the back part of the b&b would be quiter than our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at the Elliot house with our son and his girlfriend, both rooms were beautiful and fitted the surroundings perfectly. We had traveled from San Fransisco, through Yosemite and were using the inn for an overnight stop, we had a very enjoyable evening and great night's sleep.
The following day we enjoyed an excellent breakfast and were given some great advice on where to eat when we arrived at our next destination near Pismo Beach.
Joanne and Greg Elliott are excellent hosts, it was a real shame we only had the one night, hopefully we may return.
If you need to eat in Shaver Lake get there early as only the Trading Post was open at 8:00pm on a Wednesday evening, however this is an excellent place to eat, drink and enjoy a really local atmosphere.

Room Tip: We booked both the Ponderosa and Dogwood suites which were both excellent and even though we were ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leintwardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

They double booked our condo. No one contacted us prior to our arrival and told us about that. Once we arrived at the location, all we were told that by Joan, that she apologies. When we asked here why we were not contacted prior so we can change our vacation plans, no real answer was giving. She offered us to stay in another condo where we had to share the kitchen and living room with another family. They ruined our vacation and no any compensation was offered. They lost our business for years to come.

Room Tip: Call before you leave your house to verify if your condo is not double book. They wont contact you o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarkis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at Drake's Landing Bed & Bites--a short distance from Elliott House. We were with another couple and stayed in the Crazy Loon & Loose Goose Suites, and shared a common area living room. Drake's Landing is managed by Joanne & Greg, the friendly and professional proprietors of Elliot House Bed & Breakfast. Everything was perfect--from the directions, to the cleanliness, to the charm and overall atmosphere. A delicious breakfast of baked apple-caramel pancakes with sausage, along with home baked pastries, was included in the price and was prepared and served by the proprietors in a lovely dining room at Elliott House. The proprietors made recommendations about things to see and do, and their recommendation to visit the Museum was "right on". We highly recommend this well-run Bed & Breakfast. Thank you, Joanne & Greg, for everything!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley and Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elliott House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliott House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 42062 Tollhouse Road, Shaver Lake, CA 93664
Location: United States > California > Shaver Lake
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Shaver Lake
Price Range: $152 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elliott House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our guest rooms are delightfully decorated, featuring luxurious feather beds and cozy sitting areas, designed to ensure comfort and relaxation. Throughout the B&B, charming collectibles are mixed with original watercolor paintings from local artists, fresh flowers and scented candles. The array of warm, vibrant colors and soft lighting complete the design details of the B&B, appealing to all of the senses. The original red and white Cape Cod style home, custom built 60 years ago, reflects that era of fine craftsmanship, found in the original oak floors, handset granite stone fireplace and the knotty pine throughout. Located in a new cottage behind the main house, the romantic Cedar and Sequoia Suites are an artistic design complement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Elliott House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing