We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
51
12
8
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
51
12
8
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski boat houseboat trip house boating grand marquis gas prices a great week great family vacation bald eagles well maintained and clean shasta caverns easy access marinas fueling shuttle refrigerator rates
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One adult and 2 boys under 10, and we had a great week on a boat with a water slide. Comfortable, spacious and well fitted out. Highly recommended and the staff were superb. We rented jet ski and ski boat at separate times and Logan was extra helpful with tying on and bringing the ski boat out to us.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank I3973AHmartinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019 via mobile

We rented a houseboat from Holiday Harbor to relax with family after celebrating a wedding in Mount Shasta. The lake is full and absolutely beautiful! The water is warm, we saw several bald eagles high in the trees. We parked in a beautiful cove that had two streams flowing into the lake. We slept on the roof of the houseboat and could hear the stream all night.

Holiday Harbor has the most reasonably priced houseboats. The staff at reception was kind and helpful. Check in was fast. Everything on the boat worked and the kitchen was stocked with cooking utensils and dishes.

We had a wonderful trip!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank baryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019

We booked a Grand Marquis houseboat during the summer of 2019. The ladies at the office were all very nice and helpful. There were no extra charges on the rental other than for the gasoline and optional insurance. Our boat was clean but appeared old and had minor mechanical issues, but help was just a call away and someone would show up immediately to fix the problems. This review is more to share some tips from our experience.

Water: You definitely need to order water because the boat holds only 41 gallons of drinking water, which was needed for dish washing, etc. By phone in advance, we were able to arrange drinking water to be delivered by Snow Mountain Spring Water Company. The water was in 5 gallon jugs and a spigot & metal rack was provided. The company coodinated directly with HH which accepted delivery for us and transported the water onto our houseboat. When we were done with the trip, we left the water jugs on board and the company coordinated with HH on the removal. No need to load and unload in the hot weather!

Cleaning: To minimize filling up the greywater tank, use sanitizing wipes, facial wipes, baby wipes, and hand sanitizers. We also used paper plates, paper bowls, disposable cups and disposable cutlery. Thus, dish washing was really reserved for the pots and pans. The trash compactor on the boat was helpful to fit the trash in the provided bin. The free mid-week service to refill the drinking water and the dump out of trash and greywater tank was really needed. Additionally, HH gave us extra toilet paper, dish soap, and trash bags at the mid-week service.

Food: Order non-perishable grocery in advance from Amazon Pantry and/or Costco for delivery to HH, which will accept delivery. HH also helped us load all the boxes onto the houseboat. Again, really beats all that loading in the hot sun! Farmer Sentry Supermarket in Shasta Lake, a full-service grocery store, will also deliver items for a flat fee of $50. We were concerned that the refrigerators would not have enough capacity or may not work in the 100+ degree weather, but everything stayed cold and nothing spoiled.

Bugs: On shore, there were hordes of no-see-ums at night. Some were also on the boat. We hung king-size mosquito netting which really seemed to block off bug bites. You could either eat inside the netting at the back of the boat or use it on the deck to sleep at night. I thought that was the best thing that I brought to the boat.

Miscellaneous: (1) bring fitted sheets to cover the gaucho beds...it makes for a much nicer sleeping experience. (2) bring binder clips to clip your clothing onto itself on the railings after washing--it could get windy and regular cloth pins wasn't as secure.

Date of stay: July 2019
1  Thank Mom_to_E-n-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2019

Renting a houseboat from Holiday Harbor has always been easy. Family run business that has good customer service. These are not the top of the line, fancy houseboats, but they are clean, function well, are reasonably priced and the staff has always been friendly and helpful. We book year after year and look forward to continuing our family tradition of houseboating on Shasta with Holiday Harbor.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PAULA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2019 via mobile

We had an excellent week long houseboat trip on The Empress houseboat from Holiday Harbor. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable! This was our 6th time with Holiday Harbor houseboats. All 14 of us said “best trip ever” can’t say enough about house boating on Lake Shasta with Holiday Harbor!. We”ll be back!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank islandgigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews