We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday Harbor Houseboat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Harbor Resort and Marina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shasta Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Harbor Resort and Marina
Fox Island, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Holiday Harbor Houseboat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We rented a houseboat from Holiday Harbor from june 10-13. Check in was easy and quick. We rented the smallest houseboat the Diplomat 39 feet. Perfect size for 2 people and 2 dogs. They go over the basics on how to use the generator, how to drive it, how to use the refrigerator. The weather was perfect the water was perfect. the lake was low but that gives a lot more options on where you get to pull the houseboat on the beach for the night. the only problem we had was with with the refrigerator, propane fridges don't like to work when its over 90 degrees. Next time we just wont use the fridge and make sure we have enough ice. First night we stayed at Backbone inlet super quit and peaceful. Second night we stayed by Packers Bay. Third night we stayed across from Greens Creek campground. We had an awesome time was sad when it was done. We will definitely be back next year but for a few more days.For the money i don't think you can beat Holiday Harbors houseboats.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rayedwwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We've been making an annual trek from San Diego area to Lake Shasta for over 22 years now and the last 10 have been through Holiday Harbor exclusively. If you want all the bells and whistles of a new boat, go to Jones Valley and pay two to three times more. We typically get up really early for skiing, back for breakfast then we're off the houseboat by 10 AM and return late in the day around 5 to 6. A little swimming, dinner, some games and we're done. Doesn't make sense for us to spend a lot of money on the houseboat since we're usually gone exploring.

Holiday Harbor's checkout process is very simple. Their mid-week services are fast and the staff has always been very professional. The docks are in great shape, their gas prices are good and they have a well stocked marina store with a shuttle when water levels get low.

Love this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Called the front desk, the lady knew absolutely nothing about anything that had to do with anything about her job. Her: "I dunno, uuuhhh I dunno, derrrr uuhhhh I dunno..." Me: "Ok, bye!"

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

We made reservations to stay in the RV park here for two nights. Unfortunately, we had to cancel at the last minute. I thought they might keep the first night's rental, but they kept the money for both nights! They will only issue a refund if they can re-rent your spot for the full time that you reserved. They admitted that would be unlikely. So, this may be a nice park. I will never know.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank JGHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

We visited the campground at Holiday Harbor for 3 years straigt from 2006 - 2008 and loved every visit. It is true the reservoir level drops substantially from the beginning of the season to the end of the season - it is, after all, a reservoir. We stayed in spaces 4, 6, & 7. One year we thought we would like to back up to the water and chose space #23, but we ended up moving back over to space 7 after trying to squeeze in a 29' trailer with slide - not a good fit. The campground has since changed their policy and no longer allows slide-outs in spaces 23-25, which is a good thing.

The park is full hook-ups, some shade if you pick the right space, and requires a reservation months in advance if you want a shaded spot. Shade is good because it gets very hot in the peak summer months at Shasta. There is a great swimming hole you can access between spaces 14 & 15. Space 14 is an excellent spot for shade and roominess, but you have to contend with the foot traffic accessing the lake path. Once you get to the swim spot, there is a floating dock you can swim out to and sun on or use as your diving board. Although the water level is low and requires you to take quite the hike to reach it by the end of summer, it is also much warmer than early on in the season. So it's a trade-off. You either get a full reservoir with really cold water or a warm reservoir with really low water. I'll take this place either way!

You can use the dock out to the boat slips for a little fishing spot in the evenings - nice.

We rented a patio boat for a couple days and took day cruises to enjoy more of the lake. You can also get to the Shasta Caverns very quickly (it's on the same road as Holiday Harbor). And if you want to take a short jaunt north, you can visit Macarthur Burney Falls (spectacular!) or the upper, middle, & lower McCloud Falls. You may also want to head to Redding and visit Turtle Bay Museum, the sun dial bridge, and the arbortorium. Or you can always take a quick trip to the south end of the reservoir and tour the amazing Shasta Damn - that is a great tour.

Bottom line - Holiday Harbor campground is an excellent home base for those of you interested in sight-seeing the area while being close to water and maybe using the toys available at Holiday Harbor to have a little fun on the water (campers get 15% off the 'toy box').

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gabrielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

We have been renting or staying at Holiday Harbor for approximately 6 years now and keep returning...while it is true they may have the newest or best looking houseboats, just check out the prices at the other marinas or companies. We have always had excellent service, no surprises and if help was needed they were right there....Give them a chance and you may be plesantly surprised.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rickster_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakehead, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

Do not ever take a houseboat trip on a tight budget.I booked the admiral houseboat because it was the only boat I could afford.I surely got what a paid for. The admiral was $600 for three days (which is not very much for a houseboat on lake shasta)but I wished I would have just gone to Las Vegas I would have gotten more for my money.I will just keep this short day two one of my guest took a five minute shower which somehow managed to fill our tank.The dirty water came back up the shower and up the sink.We traveled back to the marina and spent two hours finding someone to drain our water tank without even as much as a sorry.On the morning of day three when we set off for the day the engine broke and we had to be towing back to the marina.We decided to leave a day early and I will never go back to holiday harbor.I encourage anyone to go to lake shasta it is an amazing place.If you are going to go on a houseboat don't be cheap and if you have to be cheap just stay at la quinta in redding you can drive to the lake within 20 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pabstlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shasta Lake
12.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
15.6 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 37 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
12.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Twin View Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Bridge Bay at Shasta Lake
Bridge Bay at Shasta Lake
#19 of 37 in Redding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Shasta Lake
The Inn at Shasta Lake
#1 of 2 in Lakehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Harbor Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Harbor Resort and Marina

Property: Holiday Harbor Resort and Marina
Address: 20061 Shasta Caverns Rd, Shasta Lake, CA
Location: United States > California > Shasta Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Shasta Lake
Also Known As:
Holiday Harbor Resort And Marina Hotel Shasta Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing