We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Doing the Minimum” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Colonial Inn

BEST WESTERN Colonial Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Colonial Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Selma
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Doing the Minimum”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Some hotels go the extra mile, some don't. This is one that doesn't. The front desk was never staffed, even in the morning when people need to check out to get to work. The breakfast is a few cereals and rolls in an unattended empty room. The towels seemed like Motel 6 rejects. And the room was in need of maintenance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randolph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    13
    13
    11
    11
See reviews for
22
16
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is my home away from home.I have stayed in many hotels in the central coast. Clean rooms,free breakfast and friendly service keep me comin back. . Thank you Sasha for putting up with us... : )

Room Tip: Non Smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
238 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here a few days while attending a local sporting event in Kingsburg down the freeway 15 min away. Lots of gas and fast food nearby with a Panda Express that opens late in the parking lot. Also a Walgreens in front and Ronald McD across the street.
Rooms are basic and clean. Cheap soap and shampoo with thinning towels caused me to frown but overall for under $100 it was ok. A basic free breakfast with coffee, OJ, milk, waffles, Danish, Eng Muffins, toast, cereal, banana, hard boiled eggs, etc. Biz center, few exercise machines, and pool.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charmking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days and if we hadn't prepayed for the room we would've left. The owners were flat out rude. They complained when I asked for more towels and demanded I return ones that weren't used. Hello I have two kids in my room of course I needed more towels that were provided. After arguing for ten minutes with a rude older lady her younger daughter apologized and gave us more. Every day when we would return to our room our key would never work. And continental breakfast. Yeah I would call it left overs from the day before. Awful owners and terrible rooms. I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lyssacole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Selma hotels

Westfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The appearance of the building sure was impressive, as was the foyer and corridores but once you got into your room, it went downhill. This place does just enough to get by. The room had no easy chair just some hard dining room type chair, and the tv needed adjusting. When I went to the fitness area I got on the elliptical and thought I was on the bull ride at Gilley's. I endured the evening and went to breakfast in the morning and was greatly disappointed and went accross the street to McD's. Great place to not visit.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Not the nicest best western I have been to . My review is based on one stay & one room . Very close to eating places - walking distance . Furnishing were meager . Room was lacking basics . Furnishings seemed cheap . No clock or alarm , which is important to me , maybe that is why I was asked if I wanted a wake-up call . Now I like to see people working , at least to be greeted . No one behind desk , if you want service you have to ring a buzzer & someone will come out from behind a door . Checkout , again strange , there is a little basket on counter for you to leave your key . Continental breakfast was so so . Anything lacking - ring buzzer and attendant will see what needs tending to . Atmosphere was poor , including myself . You ate & wanted to leave in a hurry . People seem to be chatty around breakfast time , but not here . I rate this place as just a place to sleep , not a memorable experience .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunky-68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Typical BWern. The wireless internet is non existent. Not part of the deal. They said wireless and it is not here.
I tried numerous times to get it to work to no avail.
Had to get a cable from the front desk. There are alot of hotels around here, if you need to use your computer, choose elsewhere.
Very frustrating

Room Tip: bring a long internet cable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benched45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selma
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Selma-Swan Court
4.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fowler
23.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 13 in Visalia
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn
5.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Selma Kingsburg
21.7 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Colonial Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Colonial Inn
Address: 2799 Floral Ave, Selma, CA 93662-2603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Selma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Selma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Colonial Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Selma
Best Western Selma
Selma Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing