We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Quietness= Lots of Writing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Selma-Swan Court

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Selma-Swan Court
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Selma
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quietness= Lots of Writing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Never had a problem with noisy guests or incidents. This works for me, being a writer. I love it! Occasionally you'll hear a train late at night or early morning but that's to be expected given the area( Central California). This hotel is conveniently located near a few good restaurants, Denny's especially because it's kid-friendly. Kettleman's Steakhouse is just up the street, and the delicious mom and pop café McCoy's is less than 5 minutes away. There's a shopping center across the street with a Food Warehouse, Office Depot or Staples ( I can't remember) and a variety of other little fast food joints. There's the Sunshine Express Train which the kids seem to enjoy AND they have a heated pool. The staff is very accommodating and friendly as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiejoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    56
    18
    6
    8
See reviews for
42
41
11
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed driving up to the european facade of the restraunt and hotel complete with a windmill, and a pond with a train track around it, flanked by a gazebo, and sporting live swans! The rooms were nicely furnished. The beds were comfortable. The staff was very helpful. There were cookies in the afternoon, and coffee and scones in the morning at the hotel, and a 10 dollar off coupon for breakfast with kids eating free. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naplestravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Very nice, clean, staff is very friendly and willing to help in anyway possible. I had the pleasure of speaking with Samantha. She was very friendly, happy, funny, and really listened and understood her job. She went above and beyond to help us with our situation and came to a conclusion that we all agreed to and are very happy. Thank you again for all you did to make our stay perfect. We will stay here again and will let our friends know.

Room Tip: The King Suite is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenny k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stay here when I have business that splits my travel between Fresno and Visalia. Many have commented on the hotel's typical HI style.This hotel has been remodeled and maintained nicely. Spacious room, nice linens, pillows and towels. Reasonable and courteous staff. Close proximity to a restaurant, which is still patronized by locals. Eateries and freeway close by. WIFI was free and usable. $10 voucher for each room for breakfast/breakfast bar at the Spike and Rail. Swimming pool. Coffee and scones are available in the morning, cookies in the afternoon. Good price.

Increased traffic on highway 99 does make many of the rooms noisy. I typically request a room on the west side, or non-freeway side. 9/10 stays here have been on good quality beds/mattresses, however a recent stay in a room with a king bed was on the 1/10 "just okay" mattress, sleep experience. I am assuming (or hoping) that it is probably in turn for a replacement. All-in-all, I am planning to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper levels and on the west side are quieter. South facing rooms can be hotter in the summ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed on third floor in a double-double for two nights. Weekend price with discount ($93) was good considering it included a $10 breakfast credit at adjacent hotel (see review for "Spike and Rail"). Room was usual for HI property, fluffy beds with nice linen, clean, in-room coffee and amenities, flatscreen with HD channels, and wifi. Also had refrigerator and micro: always welcome on the road! For a travel stop, dining options, gas, grocery were on property or within .5 miles. Also had a Walmart, Rite Aid and Walgreens very close. Easy on/off freeway, which you will hear in the background if your room faces it. Owners of this property have a nice theme of contemporary, warm "romance", with updated colors, patterns and accessories. They have also kept enough of the elements of this properties history (Anderson Split Pea 'resort') to satisfy older Californians who remember this. There is a water feature, black swans, room to walk around and feel relaxed.

Best of the Best were staff and service they provided (except the lady who checked me in and didn't provide wifi code). Nic at front desk was patient, attentive and helpful. I felt like a valued customer. Shining star was Barbara in Hospitality. She kept all front lobby area sparking clean, and assured the coffee bar well stocked and maintained all morning long. There was also a maintenance person cleaning and doing touch-up paint in high-traffic areas: good job! Attention to these details should be rewarded!

This could have easily been a "4 star" review if it were not for: pocket door in room being broken/not able to slide well; telephone that does not work; no internet code provided at check-in (this is when we found the telephone was inoperable); inordinately tall commode; fresh-air window that doesn't open; exit doors that let you out but not back in, even with key card. All can be addressed/remedied.

Overall, a good stay for travel, or even if you just need a gas refill, some leg-stretching, and a bowl of famously delicious pea soup :)

Room Tip: Request a room away from freeway side. If you go out for a walk after 10pm you may find yourself lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swilrgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Selma-Swan Court, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear swilrgirl,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I am pleased to know that our staff and service exceeded your expectations. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Geronimo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Very nice hotel. Clean and comfortable rooms. The pretty little pond with the black swans was a plus for the kids (of all ages). Location was perfect for us as a gathering spot for SoCal and NoCal family members. Very friendly and helpful cleaning staff. I'm not sure if the restaurant is part of the hotel but that was our only disappointing experience. There was only a handful of customers in there for breakfast, yet everyone in our party (of 8) was served food that was cold. We also had to keep asking for coffee refills. The 3 year old in our party was served last - which is never a good thing. She finally got some very cold pancakes. But there are other places to eat in the area and we loved the hotel so we will be coming back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmrenaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had an overnight stop over on the way from Las Vegas to San Francisco on our group tour of SW USA. This was a really enjoyable stay. The hotel was very friendly (the Manager had even put out a 'welcome to Travelsphere' banner when we arrived) and the hotel's cookies were delicious!! We had a good sized room with a high standard of comfort and cleanliness that we had now become accustomed to by this stage of our tour.

The evening was a delight - the restaurant next door was very good and what made it even better was that the evening was warm; meaning the group could eat and drink outside until quite late. There was a good atmosphere here, with the outside lights, the fountain, the windmill and the British telephone box (what was that doing here!). As it was a Friday, the live band was playing and some group members displayed some dodgy dancing techniques! We enjoyed our meals very much and I got stuck into some excellent craft beer (Shock Top). A memorable highlight in what was only supposed to be a quick stop over!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selma
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Colonial Inn
5.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fowler
5.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Selma Kingsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Fresno Convention Center
21.6 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#2 of 13 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fresno South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Selma-Swan Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Selma-Swan Court

Property: Holiday Inn Selma-Swan Court
Address: 2950 Pea Soup Anderson Blvd, Hwy 99 and Hwy 42, Selma, CA 93662-3379
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Selma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Selma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Selma-Swan Court 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Holiday Inn Swan Court is located just 12 miles south of Fresno and 22 miles north of Visalia and just 17 miles from Hanford located on Highway 99. The Holiday Inn Swan Court is a non-smoking hotel that offers free wireless Internet, a private business center for Internet access and printing. Large gym featuring a universal weight system, treadmill and several cardio units. Breakfast for up to two guests is included in your rate free Starbucks coffee served in our lobby daily and chocolate chip cookies. Priority Club members are given additional; amenities. Our rooms have been newly renovated and feature 27 inch televisions with movies and games on command, refrigerator, microwave and Starbucks coffee. We provide complimentary fresh baked cookies in our lobby daily along with Starbucks coffee and freshly baked scones. Adjacent to our property is the Spike N Rail Restaurant featuring American cuisine. Our banquet facility seats up to 350 guests. In the front of the restaurant is our Starbucks coffee counter and bakery featuring fresh baked pastries daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Selma-Swan Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Selma-Swan Court Hotel Selma
Selma Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing