We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most magical place I've ever stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Sebastopol B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 23, 2008

Over the last 3 years we've stayed here 6 times because we can't find another place with the magic, comfort and care that you receive here at Avalon. From the breakfasts that I look forward to, and I don't ever eat breakfast except here, to always being referred to another wonderful winery that we hadn't tried before. Even sitting quietly in the hot tub under tall mystical trees with a glass of wine at midnight and wondering about never leaving is an experience in itself
I have walked the whole 20 acres and enjoyed all of their Redwood trees, too many to count, that are on the property. The sounds from the creek and birds is the most amazing way to fall asleep in all of the room but the two wonderful rooms on the first floor of the house ( Enchanted Forest and Magician Suite) are the closest to the creek.
I have stayed in all of Hilary's well apointed rooms, with everything you could imagine for your comfort including anything you may have forgotten to bring, everytime that room becomes my favorite. The Enchanted Forest with the jacuzzi tub and plush chairs in front of the fireplace, The Magician's suite has the steam shower and view of great redwood trees, the Gueneveres Tower room with the claw tub and two sets of french doors and views from a tower like room, all have the peace and serenity that is so rejuvinating and magical. There is too much to describe so just trust that you will have the most relaxing and romantic adventure in wine country and leave your concerns behind.

I have lived in Europe and traveled through 18 countries and I know great places to stay and B&B's, Hilary's Avalon is really a Luxury Inn that's world class.

Keliann

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4Horizons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilPaulAva, Owner/Manager at Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2008

It means so much to us that our guests are thrilled with their time at Avalon, and we really appreciate your taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our B&B - thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 72 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2008

I've stayed here twice and loved it both times. This is truly a unique setting. You are in the wine country, turn off on a small road, across the bridge and to a charming Tudor house among the redwoods. It is really like a fairy tale. You are in your own little world surrounded by the sights and sounds of nature - but just minutes from world class wine tasting, dining and everything else in the wine country. Just amazing !!

I was puzzled by one of the prior reviews I read that questioned some items about the property. There are many, many large, majestic redwoods on the site - not just 2. I have no idea the actual acreage of the property itself (maybe someone else technically owns the adjoining land - I don't know) but it is definitely in a private setting with no other houses to be seen.

Overall - highly recommended !!

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank RJTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2007

Hilary demonstrated tremendous warmth and a phenomenal ability to provide individual, special service. My girlfriend has a limited diet. Hilary made the most wondeful breakfasts to accommodate that diet. She simply went above and beyond anything we would have expected.

The room was lovely and warm. The central fireplace was great.

The surroundings, with gorgeous trees surrounding the house, was a wonderful site every morning.

If you are going to the Sonoma wine country, this is the place to stay.

Stayed: November 2007
3  Thank LCF826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2007

Much of our experience at Avalon was positive. As has been noted before, Hilary (and her family) and Jerome are friendly, and exceptionally helpful. The breakfasts were superb and the always available snacks were much appreciated. The bed was comfortable and the room had everything we could have wanted.

What surprised us was the fact that the two rooms in the house are essentially basement rooms. They are dark and feel more common than I expected due to low ceilings and show-no-dirt wall-to-wall carpeting. Even with all luxury appointments, it did not feel luxurious to us because of the dark, closed in feeling. Also, because of how the path to the rooms is laid out, the folks in the room next door to ours could walk by our windows and see right in; this meant we had to keep the curtains closed most of the time. I regret writing anything negative because the people here are so nice and the service is so amazing.

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank Zusclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilPaulAva, Owner/Manager at Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2008

Dear Guests:
Our B&B is snuggled down in the forest, next to a beautiful creek, and at the base of many giant redwood trees. The sun streams in the windows of the rooms for only a few hours each day (especially during winter months), and since you'll be out enjoying wine country in the middle of the day, you might miss it. In the mornings and evenings, breathe deep the cool, shady and magical mists of the cozy forest. We must clarify that the rooms in the main house are first floor rooms. They are not basement rooms. The ceilings are 7'8" high. The soffets are 7'2" high. There are many windows looking out to the forest and the creek, out which you might catch a glimpse of wildlife strolling right up to the house. We invite you to keep the curtains open and enjoy an amazing view that you won't find at many other B&Bs. Thank you very much for considering us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2007

I took my husband to Sonoma Co. for a weekend trip (from Pennsylvania) for his 40th birthday. The Avalon was definitely a highlight of the trip. Please remember, when you stay at a B&B in the country, you are not at a major hotel in Las Vegas. By that I mean--come here for nice company, great breakfast and peace and quiet. The rooms are romantic, charming, very well appointed, and as clean as can be. The Inn is in a perfect location from which to base your vineyard hopping excursions. Hilary (innkeeper extraordinaire)and Jerome (her assistant) give great advice in terms of what to do and where to go during the day and for dinner, etc. They will even call ahead to various wineries to make appointments for tours, etc. The weekend we were there, a couple who own a vineyard close by came to the B&B and shared their wines with everyone. It was so much fun to discuss the wines and life in general with these fascinating people. We ate dinner at the Farmhouse Inn which was spectacular and at Bistro des Copains, also outstanding. The Armstrong Redwood forest was amazing. All in all a great place for a weekend trip or longer. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank docmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2007

I stayed at Avalon during my honeymoon, it was a lovely experience! It was romantic and very peaceful, it was hard to leave our room. We stayed in Guenevere's Tower, nice cozy fireplace. The room was decorated in very good taste. The grounds are beautiful and nice to walk around...enchanting! Hilary and her son AJ were wonderful inn keepers, (AJ is adorable..if you go...you"ll know what I am talking about) the breakfast was delicious every day. Great suggestions were given to us for dinner, one place in particular that we loved was Underwood Bistro which was very close. Many beautiful wineries close by as well. The only regret I have is not stayed there longer! I hope we go back hopefully for our 1 year anniversary. Thank Hilary and AJ for helping make our honeymoon even more memorable!
M&B

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MlovesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2007

We were so happy to be under the hundreds of beautiful Pine and redwood trees surrounding this enchanted forest retreat. Listening to the creek running by lulled us to sleep each night. The rooms are gorgeous as well as the entire home. The beds and bedding are of the highest quality and feels like sleeping on a cloud. Breakfast was second to none and served piping hot. What's more, all day Hilary has a bakery in her own kitchen with baked delights and candy everywhere, and great coffee and teas, too! We loved sitting on the deck and in the spa under a canopy of redwoods, truly a slice of heaven. A special thanks to Hilary and Gary for making us feel like we have a home away from home!!!! We'll be back in the very near future!!!
R&C
San Clemente, CA

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank roaming-toad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sebastopol
5.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Rosa Sebastopol
4.8 mi away
Sebastopol Inn
Sebastopol Inn
#3 of 3 in Sebastopol
131 reviews
10.4 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
124 reviews
9.8 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,597 reviews
8.3 mi away
Pearlessence Vineyard Inn
Pearlessence Vineyard Inn
#2 of 3 in Sebastopol
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast

Address: 11910 Graton Rd, Sebastopol, CA 95472-9700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sebastopol
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sebastopol
Price Range: $545 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Avalon BandB Surround You with Luxury and Hospitality Venture into California's beloved Sonoma Wine Country, 35 miles north of San Francisco and the Golden Gate Bridge. Feel the change in air as you drive west toward Sebastopol and the gorgeous hills and valleys of the Russian River Valley with farms, forests and vineyards of famously fun and fabulous West Sonoma County. Discover the bohemian town of Sebastopol with charming restaurants and shops. A short five miles from Sebastopol, cross the wooden bridge and enter the enchanted land of Avalon Inn. Nestled in the majestic redwoods, you will be surrounded with luxury and hospitality at our wonderful, secluded B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing