We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Sebastopol Inn(Sebastopol)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Rosa Sebastopol(Sebastopol)(Great Value!)
$184
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Santa Rosa(Santa Rosa)(Great Value!)
$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Rose(Santa Rosa)(Great Value!)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$291
$269
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
61
5
5
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
5
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housefarmhouse innhilaryredwoodswinecoast
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 72 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2007

I took my husband to Sonoma Co. for a weekend trip (from Pennsylvania) for his 40th birthday. The Avalon was definitely a highlight of the trip. Please remember, when you stay at a B&B in the country, you are not at a major hotel in Las Vegas. By that I mean--come here for nice company, great breakfast and peace and quiet. The rooms are romantic, charming, very well appointed, and as clean as can be. The Inn is in a perfect location from which to base your vineyard hopping excursions. Hilary (innkeeper extraordinaire)and Jerome (her assistant) give great advice in terms of what to do and where to go during the day and for dinner, etc. They will even call ahead to various wineries to make appointments for tours, etc. The weekend we were there, a couple who own a vineyard close by came to the B&B and shared their wines with everyone. It was so much fun to discuss the wines and life in general with these fascinating people. We ate dinner at the Farmhouse Inn which was spectacular and at Bistro des Copains, also outstanding. The Armstrong Redwood forest was amazing. All in all a great place for a weekend trip or longer. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CMTEJR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2007

I stayed at Avalon during my honeymoon, it was a lovely experience! It was romantic and very peaceful, it was hard to leave our room. We stayed in Guenevere's Tower, nice cozy fireplace. The room was decorated in very good taste. The grounds are beautiful and nice to walk around...enchanting! Hilary and her son AJ were wonderful inn keepers, (AJ is adorable..if you go...you"ll know what I am talking about) the breakfast was delicious every day. Great suggestions were given to us for dinner, one place in particular that we loved was Underwood Bistro which was very close. Many beautiful wineries close by as well. The only regret I have is not stayed there longer! I hope we go back hopefully for our 1 year anniversary. Thank Hilary and AJ for helping make our honeymoon even more memorable!
M&B

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MlovesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2007

We were so happy to be under the hundreds of beautiful Pine and redwood trees surrounding this enchanted forest retreat. Listening to the creek running by lulled us to sleep each night. The rooms are gorgeous as well as the entire home. The beds and bedding are of the highest quality and feels like sleeping on a cloud. Breakfast was second to none and served piping hot. What's more, all day Hilary has a bakery in her own kitchen with baked delights and candy everywhere, and great coffee and teas, too! We loved sitting on the deck and in the spa under a canopy of redwoods, truly a slice of heaven. A special thanks to Hilary and Gary for making us feel like we have a home away from home!!!! We'll be back in the very near future!!!
R&C
San Clemente, CA

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank roaming-toad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2007

overall we had a good experience but felt misled by claims on their website. They are on 4 acres, not 20. There are 2 redwood trees only in their 4 acres of forest. Their 4 acres are not really hikable as they are on a dangerous perch for exploring (and driving for that matter.). They sent us to the Armstrong Redwood forest to do our walking around and hiking among redwoods.
2 of their 3 rooms are in their house and quiet time begins at 10 pm sharp. The website photos are not really accurate pictures of what the suites look like. They are older and contain way more stuff so when you first see them, they kind of seem junky and country and in need of refurbishment. All is clean and breakfast is good although wine only available btwn 5-6pm daily-
You cannot purchase or get at other times there, fyi.
Once you get used to it all, you realize that you are in fact comfortable and having fun and everyone is nice and friendly and helpful. also, no tv's in rooms other than the family tv inside owners home. there is internet access for laptops though, so that is good.
We did return to the northeast feeling refreshed and positive about the experience. Had we paid $200 it would seem great but for $300 plus it seems a bit exorbitant for the set-up. hope this review helps.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank mysticlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilPaulAva, Owner/Manager at Avalon, a Luxury Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2008

Dear Guests:
A person's right to their own opinion notwithstanding, it is concerning that folks may write things without regard for what is verifiably true. We are very sorry this guest was not thrilled with her stay at Avalon, but the problem, I suspect, stems from our having requested they quiet down in the hot tub at 11:00 pm, and then not agreeing to sell them wine to continue the party, not from the other invented complaints. We invited you to visit our site, or email us for more info - we have many additional photos available - and you may form your own opinion. Thank you so much for your consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2007

I was a little conflicted about writing a review, because I'd prefer if less people knew Avalon existed so we could keep going undisturbed. However, after just returning from what we can only define as a wonderful first anniversary trip to Sonoma County, in no small part due to our stay at the Avalon's Magician's Suite, I owe it to Hilary, Gary, AJ, and Jerome to write a review of the best B&B we have ever stayed at.

There might as well be a time warp as you cross the bridge into the secluded driveway. All of a sudden, you're no longer in wine country, but in a secluded meadow, with redwood trees, facing this elegant and beautiful house. And, as you start leaving the world behind, you meet the delightful family that runs it, and it just completes the feeling of being welcome.

The rooms are great, and the attention to detail is impressive (right down to the soaps, shampoos which smell great, basket of emergency toiletries, the AMAZING ROBES), the common areas are beautiful. However, Hilary takes it up several more notches with her wonderful cooking. Each breakfast was nothing short of extraordinary: she only uses the best organic ingredients, and you can taste it. She bakes cookies in the afternoon, so there is always something to snack on in the kitchen. She and Gary and AJ helped us plan our winery tour, and suggested places for lunch and dinner: they had menus available, as well as ready made directions slips. Each time we picked a place for dinner, they'd call to make sure there was room available.

Avalon is very close (minutes) to many Sonoma wineries, and yet it's set in a different, more woodsy location so you don't have to stare at vineyards all day long. It's close to many beautiful small towns, such as Occidental (my personal favorite), Graton, and Sebastopol (a little bigger but still very nice). We found ourselves driving back to Occidental one day just because it was so pretty.

Our one regret is we didn't stay there longer to take advantage of the outdoor hot tub or nearby trails, which means we'll just have to go back. Overall, the magical King Arthur theme is very appropriate given the setting and the architecture, however we felt that the true magic of Avalon is the one that the owners of this property have given it. Thanks to Avalon for a memorable anniversary.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank GC_WorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews