We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Post
Inbox
Search

“My favorite Mexican”

Martha's Old Mexico
Ranked #11 of 125 Restaurants in Sebastopol
Cuisines: Mexican
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Reviewed February 13, 2017

Martha's is a full service Mexican restaurant that has excellent Mexican-American food. They have my favorite salsas; excellent fast service; and, most importantly, good food.
They have a back room/patio that makes dining there even more enjoyable.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Jerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 92 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile

The atmosphere and service were friendly and efficient.
Nice variety of plates on the menu. Good price in town where so many places are 50% higher.
Food was plentiful .. but wasn't very stove hot .. and lacked that special umph since it needed a bit more spices.
I will try it again to see if I was just there on an off day.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Dorothy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2016

According to the clipped out news articles on the wall and their own note saying thanks for 17 years of business (hopefully, not because they are closing), the restaurant is family owned and possibly in the second generation running the place. Though I was early for dinner and walked into a place where I was the second occupied table for dinner, by the time I left, five other tables were filled and it was only 615pm. Having had a huge Mexican burrito for lunch, I went light and only had a soft taco with mahi mahi fish and a side of Mexican rice with an entree of Mexican spinach soup. Flavorful, zesty, and full of crunch, the lighter fish taco was what I needed. The chips were of perfect thickness and crunch.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zHojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2016

When I'm nearby I like to stop in at Martha's for some scrumptous Mexican food and comfortable seating in their small covered patio at the back of the restaurant. Tables there give you a view of the lush greenery and Mexican decorations, and since the patio is covered and sits snugly in the back you don't have to worry about too much sun or wind.

Everything I've had there is good. I especially like their Enchilada Ranchera Platter and Tosdadas. The food is home cooked, fresh, and arrives with a nice presentation. Their lettuce is crisp and crunchy and their tomatoes and other vegetables are also fresh and tasty.

From the outside it doesn't look like anything special, but once inside you'll be happily surprised.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank annegray123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2016

Ordered the Menudo which was pretty good. It came with all the traditional fixings, oregano,onions,limes and chilies. The tripa was clean and had good flavor. Family ordered enchiladas suisa chicken, kids chicken burrito, chicken and shrimp and chicken tamale with shredded beef tacos. For desert we had the pumpkin flan. Yummy dinner.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank V7293SRoscarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha's Old Mexico also viewed

Sebastopol, Sonoma County
 
Sebastopol, Sonoma County
Sebastopol, Sonoma County
 
Sebastopol, Sonoma County
Sebastopol, Sonoma County
 

Been to Martha's Old Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing