We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whimsical Art in a Several Block Walking Tour”

Patrick Amiot Junk Art
Book In Advance
More Info
$114.00*
and up
Sonoma County Brewery Bike Tour
Ranked #1 of 52 things to do in Sebastopol
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Whimsical Art in a Several Block Walking Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Patrick Amiot has supplied his several-block neighborhood with enough of his whimsical “junk” sculpture to occupy an hour or more of strolling and looking. (Actually, the rest of Sebastopol exhibits additional examples of his art, but it’s a lot more spread out.) Plan to park, get out your camera and walk both sides of this street for several blocks to get a good look at everything.

The art is deceptively creative and detailed; my first impression was that I could probably do something like that. Wrong! The more I looked, the more appreciation I had of just how talented Mr. Amiot really is.

This little side trip won’t cost anything and should be enjoyed while walking. There is usually some literature in front of the artist’s own residence.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BelloSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    21
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Graton, CA
Level Contributor
247 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Wonderful Fun, but Please Go On Foot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Local hero, junk sculptor Patrick Amiot, has turned this quiet residential street into one of Sebastopol's premiere (if low key) attractions with his wild, funny, whimsical and inventive works displayed in front of practically every home; his own house is generally festooned with half a dozen new creations every week or two. They're absolutely worth seeing, but I would strongly urge visitors to park their vehicle at either end of the thoroughfare and take in the experience on foot. This is, first and foremost, a street where families live, and who wants to reside on a lane choked with tourist traffic? There are plenty of children who live in this neighborhood, and as a parent myself I can aver that the less cars that go by my own home, the better I feel. Do enjoy the sights, but safety first, folks.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MojoLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coachella Valley, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Artful fun for the whole family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

You probably could walk the few blocks of Florence Avenue in five minutes. But, you'll want to take a leisurely stroll to savor Patrick Amiot's whimsical sculptures, which pop up in the darnedest places! Your children will enjoy the oversized Batman (best seen after dark, when his red-lit eyes make the Dark Knight an eerie creature) and the nearby NY Yankee in his pinstripes.

Every sculpture tells a story, which suggests that the inhabitants of the homes along this street lead some interesting lives--hippie surfers, demonic motorcyclists, urban farmers, you name it. Be sure to pick up a brochure from the Amiots' front yard (he designs and builds the sculptures; she paints them).

The sculptures are loads of fun, but spare a glance for the charming older homes (including a 1903 Victorian) that line Florence Avenue. You won't see many for-sale signs, but I guarantee you'll wish that you could move right in to this delightful neighborhood.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DesertGal16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fun & creatrive must-see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Most of the homes on Florence Avenue display the wild and creative sculptures of Sebastopol's own local artist, Patrick Amiot. They are all made from local junk and recycled goods. Not only are the sculptures fun and whimsical, they seem deeply personal to me and tell a story about those who commissioned the art.
But, don't stop at Florence Avenue! You'll find Amiot's wonderful sculptures sprinkled throughout Sebastopol.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Local Artists metal works”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

A local artist specializing in large metal whimsical sculptures
has offered local neighbors works depicting their interests.
these works are unique and worth seeing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patrick Amiot Junk Art also viewed

Sebastopol, Sonoma County
Sebastopol, Sonoma County
 

Been to Patrick Amiot Junk Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing